We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrong time , wrong place”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Taberna del Puerto

Taberna del Puerto
Ranked #160 of 1,302 Restaurants in Alicante
Price range: $27 - $49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Wrong time , wrong place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Having just arrived in Alicante we searched out a late meal and stumbled upon this restaurant.Perhaps more time spent surveying the clientele would have proved advantageous.A smokers paradise in the outside area coupled with five very drunk lads did not help the so so food shine.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBINONorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    70
    44
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food near Calpe rock and the port”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Exellent choice and quality of food, very comfortable restaurant and catered for large or small groups.
Excellent staff very friendly and efficient.
Very good value for money.
Well worth a visit if you are in the port area of Calpe or climbing the rock.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank G_LYNES186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
272 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Went here because of the good reviews at TA. Not many customers at friday eve. It has a little exclusive atmosphere though the menus are rather cheap. We had the menu of the day for 15 euro that was nice value for the money. Good service.Go if you want a peaceful dinner with harbour view.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in the Port”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the melia just by the port and admittedly spent most of our time in Alicante old town. Having said that it was my sister in law's 40th Birthday and she fancied a meal in the port. I had a quick look on tripadvisor and thought I'd give Taverna del Puerto a go. I was pleased we did. Although it was pretty quiet the food was fresh. I had the 25 euro menu. With 4 different starters (you get them all!!!!) they were delicious. A prawn mousse. A fruit and cheese salad. Iberico ham and small green peppers. All gourmet all tasty. Then a main of shoulder of lamb. Perfectly cooked. All washed down with a lovely bottle of Ribera del duero. I would visit again. The main thing is that all of the other restaurants are typical touristy, with the food on photos outside. Not my cup of tea.

This restaurant was right up my street. Great food. A really pleasant waiter and a lovely spot, best in port .......

Helpful?
3 Thank superjas9981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Professional Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Unfortunately the restaurants around the Marina have a ‘tourist’ reputation not helped by the photographs of all the different dishes on offer, but it is not a true perception.
Taberna del Puerto has a good position with outside seating and a very pleasant interior.
I have been visiting this restaurant since March 2009 and I like the reliability of the quality of food and the constancy of professional service.
Being particularly fond of fish I can recommend the Lenguardo (grilled sole) and on my last visit in October we tried the lobster paella. It was good!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonissim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna del Puerto also viewed

Alicante, Costa Blanca
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Taberna del Puerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing