We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent winter break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Explanada Hotel Alicante
Ranked #7 of 27 Alicante B&B and Inns
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent winter break”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We spent 5 nights here the last week in February. Hotel excellent, room small but adequate in a very good position near marina but near city centre everything within walking distance. Our room had small balcony facing the road had no problem with noise from the road. Reception staff friendly and very helpful when we had problems with the power in our room (twice) Also recomended excellent restaurant about 6 doors down the road and gave us map showing us where other places were. Didn't book breakfast but went to cafe just round the corner (literally) on the esplande called Antiu Xixona. We loved Alicante but don't think we would like to come in the summer. Defintely planning another out of season trip. Price very reasonable. Mystified by the comments about pillow - we go to France a lot and many hotels have the long bolster pillow which we are now used to - thought it was common in Europe. The only thing we could criticise is we could hear people next door quite clearly - it could just have been they just had really loud voices! Would defintely recomend and all being well will go back again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackk660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    59
    30
    12
    3
See reviews for
11
64
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014

No restaurant (breakfast room only) No bar. Every thing neat clean and simple in an atmospheric old town building. Everything you need to be refreshed and rested before a day exploring Alicante. Surrounded by restaurants and bars. Great price too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2014

+ Really friendly staff.
+ Great location. Just off promenade. Easy to find.
+ Bed was hard but in a good way. A decent place for a single nights rest before moving on.
+ Wifi at good speed and free.
+ Maccers just over the street for early morning coffee.
+ CHEAP

- Room smelled of toilets. Not ours. Think it was coming through the vents.
- No toothpaste available at the front desk.
- Shower head broken. Shower briefly pumped out hot water and was then freezing cold.
- Balcony doors didn't shut (not very secure).
- Lift felt really dodgy. Chose to use the stairs.
- Wardrobe doors broken.
- Bed lights broken. Only had horrible, bright fluorescent downlighter

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazBaz1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Hotel staff were very helpful. Breakfast was good, all fresh and well presented. Very impressed with cleanliness of all areas of the hotel. The pillows were unusual but didn't find them uncomfortable. Some noise at night from the bar under our room but there was an England/Spain football match on! The location couldn't be better as very near marina, restaurants and walking distance of all the attractions. Thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night break and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

You couldn't get a better location in Alicante, you are just around the corner from the marina and a couple of minutes to the beach. Plenty of restaurants to suit all tastes and wallets are all nearby (try Lizarran for great value tapas and beer!).
The hotel itself is perfectly fine for the money we paid (£160 euros for 4 nights). Spotlessly clean. Quite a small room, but this wasn't a problem. Good, powerful shower. We also thought breakfast was fine, fresh bread and good selection of cold cuts/cheeses, pastries, yoghurts etc.
Nice comfortable bed as well. The reception staff were all very professional and welcoming.
Would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again if staying in Alicante...recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank electrocoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Helpfull staff. The best thing about this place is the location. 2 min walking distance to everyplace in the city.
Also this is a delight to a budjet traveller. Breakfast is good, but they have the same things every morning and the juice is always gone. Alltogether a great stay. One complaint is the weird pillows in the room. Balcony is nice also. Quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was small but we managed just fine. Bathroom was great. Plenty of closet space. Location was great.

Hotel did offer breakfast but we thought the price was high. We found a nice cafe a block away on the esplanade. Perfect for us.

Hotel staff had suggested a local restaurant for dinner. Terrific. I love it when Momma is in the kitchen cooking. Nice family place. We went back the next evening. When we left there were kisses all around.

This hotel contributed to a nice short stay...can't wait to go back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
NH Rambla de Alicante
NH Rambla de Alicante
#11 of 49 in Alicante
497 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#3 of 49 in Alicante
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explanada Hotel Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explanada Hotel Alicante

Property: Explanada Hotel Alicante
Address: Calle San Fernando 18, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Explanada Hotel Alicante 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Explanada Hotel Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing