We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Explanada Hotel Alicante
Ranked #6 of 28 Alicante B&B and Inns
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Location fantastic”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic location so near the beach and main restaurant and bar area. Our room was cleaned to a high standard. We would definitely stay there again. The only downside was the air conditioning wasn't working in our room so we found it quite warm during the day and at night hot to sleep in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lubylulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    63
    32
    12
    3
See reviews for
11
66
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, Hotel was very clean, we arrived on an early flight but when we checked in, expecting to have to leave our luggage till 2pm as advertised, we found our room was ready for us, breakfast was basic but ample, all staff very friendly, very close to all amenities, 5mins walk to the airport bus which is only 2.75 euro, definitely recommend using it, the trams are handy also, lovely run along the coastline, you can go all the way to El Campello for 1.45 euro, single, well worth it. You can hear traffic noise at night, but not excessive, would def go back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Good positioning near the waterfront and La Rambla. Close to restauyants , beach and harbour area. Probible we will stay there next year when Volvo Ocean Race start. No beer on hotel, but the bar next door was nice with nice staff. Bad breakfast, we ate breakfast out.

Room Tip: All romm had noise from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MortenNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for a week and highly recommend it, I will be back there again soon, so very clean bathroom and bedding changed everyday. Continental breakfast was fresh every morning (cereals,croissants, toasts etc.,) and staff pleasant and helpful. Just a 5 minute walk and you're in the Old Town with numerous Tapas bars all very interesting and different. Then there is the Explanada Promenade with numerous cafe's and bars before you get to the Marina. The beach is a lovely walk, the new Tram system is easy to Hop on and off you can go to Benidorm for 6.40 Euro return, with lots of beaches in between where you can get of the Tram and spend a day on any of the beaches, they are beautiful. This hotel is central, very clean and is just GREAT what more can I say.

Room Tip: Higher floor there will be less noise from revellers on a Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annsafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Just spent last night at Hotel Explanada in Alicante. I stayed there as it said in reviews it was handy for the C6 airport bus to Alicante and the reviews were correct. It was a maximum 5 minute walk from hotel. The hotel is one street back from the main seafront road, so lots of cafe and restaurants nearby and lovely to walk across the road to the marina. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff very polite and friendly. The bed was very comfortable with a very unusual 4 foot long pillow!!! I've travelled to very many hotels and that pillow was a first, still it didn't stop me having a good nights sleep, although it would have been tricky if there were two of us in the double bed. Great there was free wifi. Very high quality sheets and towels. However although the bathroom was a good size the shower cubicle was probably the smallest size shower cubicle available on the market. The breakfast was a good quality and plentiful continental which was completely acceptable. There was a safe in the room which was completely useless as it was behind the wardrobe door which couldn't open as it was jammed. I wouldn't have paid to use it anyway as I couldn't get my IPad in it. For one night that didn't matter as I just kept my IPad with me when I went out. As I was a solo traveller I didn't hang about in the street of the hotel as it was a really dark street with a sex shop in the same block - handy if you like that sort of thing!!! So I just kept indoors after dark. I would, however, stay in the hotel again as its proximity to the airport bus was great and because the place was spotlessly clean, but only for one night as the room was compact (small) but as I say fine for one night.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank BubblyBobbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UHants UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We only had one night in Alicante and needed to be near the marina. This hotel is five minutes from the C6 bus stop from the airport and the same distance from the marina. Sitiated in the Old Town it is minutes away from almost eveything you want, places to visit, tapas bars and resturants. The staff are friendly and very helpful. We were in room 204, which overlooks the side street, higher numbers are on the busier street, and I would suspect suffer from more traffic noise, so if possible go for the lower numbered rooms. Some posts have said the beds are very hard, they are certainly firm, but we both slept very well indeed. Our room was a good size, storage for a ship's company and a more than ample shower room etc and clean. Slightly odd was the 'fridge on the floor at the bottom of the bed filled with soft drinks, but it happily took the bottle of beer purchased from the Chinese run supermarket five minutes away on the other side of the Medez Nunez which sells EVERYTHING! No bar at the hotel but there is one immediately below. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, but there is a cafe 3 minutes away in the Calle Mayor, often filled with students on the way to university - a good sign of value - where a good Spanish traditional breakfast can be had for about 5 euros a head. It was our first visit to Alicante but this hotel is part of the reason why we have decided to return for a longer visit, at 45 euros a night this place is a steal!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badger50A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I got a very good price for bed and breakfast at this hotel so didn't expect much and wasn't disappointed. The location is very good, being in the old town one street back from the seafront. It is a short walk from the airport bus stop and easy to find (like everything in Alicante,thanks to the grid system street layout). My room was spartan but very clean and the bed comfortable. Sound proofing, despite the hotel's claims was non-existent; you could hear your neighbours a bit too well and the soil pipes from higher floors made a bit of a racket. The street coud be noisy but that just became a background noise and not really disturbing. I wouldn't recommend paying extra for the breakfast as it was pretty awful unless you really like cheap, sugary processed foods. The staff were all pleasant and helpful. For the money, it's OK but if you can afford a bit more, I'd search around a bit more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summerhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Mendez Nunez
Mendez Nunez
#18 of 49 in Alicante
200 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explanada Hotel Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explanada Hotel Alicante

Property: Explanada Hotel Alicante
Address: Calle San Fernando 18, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Explanada Hotel Alicante 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Explanada Hotel Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing