We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spanish tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Canto

El Canto
Ranked #20 of 1,302 Restaurants in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Ensanche Diputación
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Spanish tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This seems to be a very popular restaurant with the locals. It was full whenever we passed. There was an English translation of the menu but it was still quite difficult to know what/how to order and what the quantities would be like. I did not find the seating very comfortable. The food was good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MAN1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    138
    32
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“MUCH BETTER AROUND”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

disappointed.
reading what people wrote i was expecting much more.
a bit expensive if compared to other places and nothing really special.
quality of food is not bad.
i hate a good tuna fish and some squid. they were 2 starters and a glas of cheap (in all sense) wine for over 20 euros.
food not bad but you can find better food and lower price

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carloc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I discovered El Canto about 3 weeks ago and fell in love with the place. (If you arrive after 1:30pm you will be very hard pressed to find a seat) We take all our friends here to experience the atmosphere and the food........the tapas & porciones are so good that your at a loss for words because you can't stop moaning from the flavours of each swallow.
We have eaten at many places in Alicante but El Canto has become one of our favourite places for Tapas & drink in the afternoon.
El Canto is one of those places that is tucked away but very worth taking a few moments to find. If you are ever in Alicante you must find El Canto and enjoy everything about it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brentwood-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
200 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Memorable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great food, great service and a wonderful atmosphere. I ate with friends in a private dining room and it was a wonderful experience. Wond3rful and inspired main course salads were a plus!

Helpful?
1 Thank spookykenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“good value tapas bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Should you have any reason to visit Alicante on a weekday at any time from about noon, you could do worse than swing by El Canto for a glass of beer, a few fried and salted almonds and a portion of ensalada russa. Alternatively you could order a bottle of vino tinto and make more of a meal of it; the revueltos (scrambled eggs) with asparagus and mushrooms are just the thing if you have skipped breakfast (even if red wine isn’t). On our most recent visit, a serving of gambas al ajillo arrived swimming in bubbling-hot garlicky olive oil; the prawns were fat, sweet and juicy and the garlic just sticky enough to be easily mopped up on a chunk of bread. We chose also from a range of good value montaditos (little sandwiches); the only mild disappointment was that the usually freshly cooked beef had had time to cool down before being pushed into the bread and was therefore a bit chewy. However the cold queso fresco contrasted nicely with the warm toasted bread. If you are new to the restaurant, keep your eyes open as you eat; pointing at something you like the look of that’s on its way to another table should result in a helpful finger being waved at the item on the menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Canto also viewed

Alicante, Costa Blanca
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 

Been to El Canto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing