We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Plantio Golf Resort
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Not long back from our one week stay at the El Plantio golf resort in Alicante and I must say I was very very impressed for the cost. The apartment was clean, airy, light and a good size. All the appliances were all new and high-tech and all the windows/patio doors have the electric blind gates. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need and there is a fridge and freezer. IMPORTANT- DO NOT eat or drink ANY food/drink that they provide in the fridge and shelves as everyone knows mini-bars are extortionate.
The showers and en-suite were really nice. The en-suite was a wet-room style bathroom and had a nice sliding frosted door. There is also a laundry room with a washing machine and a tumble dryer- extremely handy!!

The airport is close by and the town is not too far by transport but I highly recommend hiring a car before arriving at this resort. The bus stop is on the left next to the roundabout at the end of the motorway( Takes about a 10 minute walk or 20 minute if with kids, lol). It's not sign-posted so just look out for the bus stop timetable which faces the cars coming onto it.

Taxis cost about €12 to the centre. The bus ( line number 90) costs about €1.50 and stops at the bus terminal which is a short walk away from the centre. Walk along from the bus stop and you will arrive at the lovely marina and kids carnival play area.

There are two swimming pools- one by blocks 1 and 2 and the other is at the blocks next. The pool at the other blocks is longer but much narrower and in my opinion not as nice but there is a small kids play area (swings, climbing frame etc there).The block 1&2 pool has a kids swimming pool within the bigger pool. The pool itself is nice enough (deepest point is 142cm). Very relaxing and quiet around the pool aside from the odd noisy kid but that was kinda cute and funny. There are enough sun loungers for all since not all guests come out at once but even so the grass is nice enough to lie on. The seats and sofas by the bar are nice too- all in the shade and the food is quite tasty. I recommended the Toscado chicken baguette- very yummy! The food menu is the same throughout the day.

Summary- very nice hotel but in the middle of nowhere with no shops so definitely hire a car.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BriStonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 460 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

The apartrment very nice, spacious and modern, However on check-out, we had a nasty surprise; what had appeared to be on arrival a nice little welcome gift - a couple of beers and bottles of water in the door of the kitchen fridge, and some peanuts etc - turned out to be an extortionately priced minbar. There were no obvious indications of this in the flat, and this little and apparently intentional trick left a sour taste. Furthermore, the equipment in the kitchen was very minimal. Other than this, a nice apartment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at El Plantio in early June this year. The accommodation was of a very high standard. Apartments were large, clean and comfortable and serviced each day. We found the location ideal - peaceful and quiet but only a short journey into Alicante (approx 15 euros each way in a taxi). We found previous criticisms of the pool area unfounded. There were plenty of sunbeds, which looked new and the gardens around the pool areas were pretty and well maintained. Staff were friendly. We came away with the feeling we had got more than we paid for and would definitely recommend. Only downside is that there are no basic essentials in the apartments (condiments, dishwasher tablets, cloths etc) so if you are planning to self cater it could be expensive and wasteful for a short stay.

Stayed: June 2013
4  Thank JaneyB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just one night at this resort as wanted to get to airport for an early morning flight and wish we had stayed longer. Apartment was very high spec and huge for the 2 of us. Cleaning wise, if I was being really picky was average and not quite as shiny as it could have been but the quality of fittings and fixture are faultless. the apartments would be great for a family and golf mad parents on self catering holidays for a week plus

Room Tip: All apartments have amazing balconies which run the length of main bedroom through to living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Nice stay in this hotel was spoiled by some items of clothes going missing from my wardrobe.....housekeeper and manager totally uninterested in my complaint. So if you go to this resort do not take nice clothes....apart from that its clean comfy and I would have gone back but not now.......

Room Tip: Not 206 as that's where my clothes went missing
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank ilovemyholidays24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The resort is very close to Alicante Airport and about 6 miles from the centre of Alicante. The apartments are quite isolated and it is worthwhile hiring a car if you wish to sight-see and move around; we hired a car from Goldcar at a rate of only £10 per day and visited nearby resorts, including Benidorm, which is about 30 miles away. Plenty of car parking is available on-site.
The apartments are spacious and well equipped, ours had a lovely walk in en-suite shower in the main bedroom in addition to the main bathroom, fully equipped kitchen, including dishwasher.
The swimming pools don't look immediately inviting as their colour is a sort of worn terracotta rather than the traditional blue, but they're well maintained and the water is fresh.
There are enough sunbeds around the pools, but no parasols to shelter you from the sun, (which was needed when we stayed (9-19 June 2013) as the weather was excellent).
We stayed half-board and were satisfied rather than impressed, the breakfasts are ok, but the menu for lunch and tea is the same and looks more like a snack bar menu, with pizzas, sandwiches and burgers the main fayre, but a drink is included with your evening meal which compensates a little.
Basically the food does not match the accommodation.
Drinks and incidentals as always in Spain were reasonable, e.g. a bottle of white rioja comes in at about £9-00 and a small beer about £2-20.
Staff were helpful and spoke English very well, check-in very smooth, service of rooms efficient as well as maintenance of grounds.
I play golf and managed a couple of rounds, for which I was charged 35 Euros for the round and 20 euros for the hire of the clubs; buggies are an extra 20 euros. Course is well looked after, especially the greens and represents a decent challenge.
Overall, I would recommend this resort for a short relaxing/do nothing stay or a golf break, but if you want to be where the action is and want to walk to get around this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: To get a better view, it is better to be on the second floor apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed for one week 31st may 7th June, Block 2 room 217. Check in quick and staff polite, Great place for a Pool Holiday which was what we wanted, Alicante city 10 mins away 11-15 euros in a taxi, Reading other reviews plenty of staff there for the amount of guest there, Loads of sunbeds, Would definitely recommend this hotel for its peaceful quiet location as I said the nite life is a taxi journey away, Food in restaurant good, Towels and beds done every day, No complaints at all would return in a heart beat :) Thank you to all in Plantio golf :))

Room Tip: Room 217 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grffnshn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
NH Alicante
#2 of 50 in Alicante
683 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#8 of 50 in Alicante
1,308 reviews
B&B Hotel Alicante
#26 of 50 in Alicante
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Playa de San Juan
Almirante Hotel
Almirante Hotel
#11 of 50 in Alicante
383 reviews
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 50 in Alicante
1,544 reviews
Hotel Castilla Alicante
#15 of 50 in Alicante
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Plantio Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Plantio Golf Resort

Address: Antigua Ctra Alicante - Elche (A-79) Km3, 03114 Alicante, Spain (Formerly Apartamentos Be Live Plantio Golf)
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Alicante
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#10 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
Price Range: $40 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Plantio Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by gardens, this luxury resort is home to two golf courses, is a 5 minute drive from the beach and just 3 km from Alicante. In its facilities you can find restaurants, private free parking, playground, gym and a golf school. It has two outdoor swimming pools with sun terrace to soak up the sun in Alicante. The senior stylish apartments are equipped with air conditioning, heating, satellite TV, dining room and a modern fully equipped kitchen. The Plantio Golf Resort offers 24 hour reception, daily cleaning and the possibility of a shuttle service to airport and city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Plantio Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Be Live Plantio Golf Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing