We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be in London”

El Portal Taberna & Wines
Reserve with
El Portal Taberna & Wines is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 1,317 Restaurants in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Healthy, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Centro
Description: El Portal Taberna & Wines is a new generation Tavern, where combines tapas, gourmet dishes, wines and drinks in a casual, fun and elegant atmosphere.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Could be in London”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

A sophisticated bar restaurant serving excellent spanish food. Busy place with computers filling in food and wine orders. Ipad available for wine selection. Avoid Saturday nights as very busy. Swopping traditional spanish for slick international style service. Good place for a drink and people watch before you order.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ileana318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,559
    723
    217
    103
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazing deco, service and food”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Great place, ate twice here on our 3 night visit to Alicante, great ambience, smooth, service, knowledge and friendly staff and the food mmmmm.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous Experience”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This restaurant was excellent. Extremely friendly atmosphere. Very well laid out with ample room between diners. The food was excellent, as was the service. I would certainly recommend a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minnytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish they would open one in North East England”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Wave after wave of delicious food served by charming well trained staff.

This must be the best restaurant in Alicante to sit and enjoy friends company with great atmosphere and attentive service.

We dined on a Thursday night and the place was buzzing with people still pouring through the door to dine at 11pm.

A delight from start to finish, the highlights for me were the melt in the mouth tuna with the tastiest tomatoes and the croquettes with mushrooms and gooey cheese. Muy rico!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicpamperqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paradiso
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible food and service!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We waited 2 hours for the food to arrive only to be told it was off the menu the alternative recommeded by the waiter was not fit for human consumption.
The Head waiter David decided to deal with our complaint by calling us fools in front of the whole restaurant.

An experience not to be repeated!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Ramscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gastroportal, Gerente at El Portal Taberna & Wines, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado cliente
antes de nada, agradecer su critica. Me gustaría pedirle disculpas por el trato que, al parecer, ha recibido de uno de nuestros empleados (David). Es posible que en ocasiones las cosas no salgan bien, pero al parecer les ha tocado todo a ustedes, pues ni siquiera la comida les gustó, cosa que me resulta difícil de entender, ya que en pocas ocasiones nos ha pasado.
Lamento mucho la desilusión que le hemos ocasionado y me pongo a su disposición para, si cabe la oportunidad, volverle a ver en El Portal y tratar de cambiar esa opinión que ustedes tienen en este momento.
Cordialmente

Carlos Bosch (Gerente)

Dear Customer
first of all, thank you for your criticism. I would like to apologize for the treatment that appears to have received from one of our employees (David). You may sometimes things do not go well, but apparently they have had all of you, for even liked the food, which I find hard to understand, since we rarely happened.
I very much regret the disappointment that we have caused and I am available for, if there is the opportunity to see him again in El Portal and try to change that opinion that you have at this time.
cordially

Carlos Bosch (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Portal Taberna & Wines also viewed

Alicante, Costa Blanca
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 
Alicante, Costa Blanca
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 

Been to El Portal Taberna & Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing