We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location shame about the staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Hotel Alicante

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
B&B Hotel Alicante
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Glasgow
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Location shame about the staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked this hotel mainly due to the location being close to the aiport but also for the brand of HIE which we have used elsewhere in the past.

The location could not have been better in regard to the airport but there is nothing else around and car/taxi is required if you wish to visit Alicante or even go to a shop. The hotel has vending machines with sandwiches and drinks which I would only recommend as an emergency bite to eat.

We had booked a sea view room which we were not given. I called the reception from the room when I seen our view was of another building (through filthy windows) to be told I was advised of this on arrival (this must have been in Spanish as I certainly was not told this in English).

There was no kettle in the room and when I called at Reception to request one, the receptionist removed a note selotaped to one in a box and handed it to me. As I was in the lift I had a closer look at the kettle and I noticed the wires inside were bare and there was no on/off switch. I returned to reception and was provided with another kettle (no apology!!) On inspection again I thought the wires looked insecure however on return to the room, I plugged the kettle in which promptly blew the electricity in the room and an electrician had to be called. eventually the kettle was replaced and the power restored to the room.

We attended the restaurant for a meal. The waitress was great although she was run off her feet trying to tend to all the guests in the restaurant as well as serving the guests at the bar while the receptionist was outside chatting to colleagues. The meal I have to say was excellent. We had the Bruchetta and mushrooms to start followed by pizza and burgers. It was very nice.

We also had breakfast. We had to ask at reception for the meat and cheese to be replaced as there was none on the dishes and no staff around to request this. Eventually we had what we needed. There was ample bread, pastries, cereals and drinks (hot and cold) available.

I suppose you only get what you pay for and this time that was the case. HIE now a disappointment for us and we will need to rethink any future use of this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMALC, Director General at B&B Hotel Alicante, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear HandCo,

First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention, I have taken good note of your comments and I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused and that you did not feel comfortable with us, nevertheless I ask you not to loose confidence in Holiday Inn Express hotels worldwide.

Please, consider that we really really appreciate your comments because they help us to improve our service, enables us to target problem areas, and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Please, we strongly request you to come back and give us the opportunity to demonstrate you that the situation you experienced with us was a combination of coincidences that will not happen again. Feel free to contact me in case you decide to visit us again.

Thank you so much.

Sincerely,

SG
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    148
    113
    31
    20
See reviews for
103
137
28
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denia, Spain
Level Contributor
342 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed once again last night and my opinion keeps increasing with each visit. Superbly located for the airport 5 minutes or the City Centre 8 minutes (by car) and last night a double including an adequate (not spectacular!) breakfast was €44.
The City of Alicante, mostly ignored by tourists as they head out of the airport to the popular tourist destinations of the Costa Blanca, is simply spectacular with many excellent bars and restaurants and a buzzing marina full of life.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms come complete with the most amazing sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grapow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMALC, Director General at B&B Hotel Alicante, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Grapow,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us again during your visit to Alicante. We also thank you for having taken the time to comment your experience in our hotel, it is nice to hear that you where very happy with our service and my team and I would welcome the opportunity to be your hosts once more in the future!

Thank you so much.

Kind regards,
SG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Once again used this hotel as a one night stop over and again the staff were just as helpful and pleasent even though we arrived after 1 o'clock in the morning. Its a short drive from the airport but you need a car or a taxi into the city of Alicante. The room we booked was a family room for thre adults. The aircon worked perfectly as it was need with three adukts in the room. The continetal breakfast was included in the cost of the room and was more than adequet to start the day. For a budget hotel it does the job nicely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMALC, Director General at B&B Hotel Alicante, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear AlanWR,

We really thank you for taking the time to to comment your experience in our hotel. It is with pleasure that I read the favourable comments about your recent stay, we are happy that you liked our breakfast and we will be more than glad to welcoming you again during your next visit to Alicante.

Thank you so much.
Kind regards,
SG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavík
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here on our way from a late flight which was very convenient since it is not far from the airport. The hotel is by a motorway and is really not suited to those not driving or willing to take a taxi. Walking into town is not an option really.
There´s really not much to be said about it. The staff was courteous and helpful. The rooms were small but adequate. Extra beds make this a bargain for a family with children. There´s a bar in the lobby. Breakfast is typical for what is to be expected, bread/toast, cereal, coffee/tea.
I´d reccomend it for a short stay or for those with a hire car who want to explore the area around Alicante. Not ideal for exploring the city or going to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sverrir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at B&B Hotel Alicante, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear SverrirDaniel,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am pleased you enjoyed your overall stay with us. However, I am sorry you did not find our location ideal. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is an average HI Express: a chain that I rate amongst the best of the chain hotels (and it's adjoining an Ibis if they're your thing). The location is perfect for the airport - but you need a car if nightlifing it in Alicante itself. There are buses, but v infrequent on a Sunday. Five minutes to airport car drop off (petrol station opposite entrance to airport for fill up).
Beds and room totally usual (though a bath not just a shower). Housekeeping poor: chopped bath, stained floors, evidence of previous occupants.
Breakfast usual HE Express ....
But major moan: it was 35 yet the staff said it wasn't hot enough for aircon to work properly so we had to sleep with window open and little breeze - made for a bad night, just what you don't want for a long travel day ahead. So overall Poor score when it really needn't have been.
Avoid in summer.

Room Tip: Go for high up for view of sea (but road in way so noisy if no air con)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdconair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at B&B Hotel Alicante, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear pdconair,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our location.

However, We’re sorry you received service from our housekeeping and for the air conditioning. We will look into this. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alicante hotels

Essex, England
Level Contributor
177 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in August 2012, my husband , 15yr old son and I. We had a double room with the sofa bed made up. The sofa bed made into another double for my 6ft son who found it very comfortable. The room was a little cramped, due to the extra bed but had clean and crisp bed linen. We had a hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities, although these were only for two people, ie two cups provided and we were a 3. An old fashioned large TV but it did work. In the whole of the room there was only one plug socket and one of the lights was broken leaving the room at night a little dark. First impressions on arrival were not great, the entrance to the hotel was untidy although some of this was leaves blowing from outside into the foyer. The car park was not lit at night, even though there were large lights, they just did not put them on. The female receptionist was forever having a cigarette outside the doors and the smoke then blew back into the building and the bin beside the door was also overflowing with cigarette butts. The ice machine and cool drinks machine broke down and was then out of order. Holiday inns provide an ice bucket in each of their rooms and guests have access to the ice machine, this was really appreciated when it was working as the temperature was in the top 30C's when we were there. Once checked in we asked about the free WiFi ,we were informed it was 10€ a day and not free. We then decided to query this again as I had booked all hotels on our trip with free WiFi in order to keep in contact with work and family. We were then told if we joined the hotel's priority club we would get this free. Having pointed out I was already a member, having made our booking via the website, they then asked for the membership number and we had unlimited WiFi! Breakfast was a bit like school dinners. A big hotel with a lot of hungry holidaymakers makes for a rush at buffet breakfast. The breakfast was good, nothing special but included in the price: croissants, drinks, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, pastries, etc. If you timed it earlier down to breakfast, as we did the second day it was much nicer. Would we stay again, yes, the hotel is near a main road and looks out to sea and we slept well. We needed the car to drive into Alicante in the evenings but we loved the evening restaurants we ate at. Handy location but you do need the car. Ample parking at the hotel.

Room Tip: Join the priority club before you book, like I did and take your membership number then you get free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Capdan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Everyone should consider this when flying in late to Alicante airport.
Clean rooms with coffe & tea, tv and clean towels.
All you can eat buffet breakfast with a great selection all for a very good price.
Will always use!
Plus, if your lucky, you'll get a sea view!
Also great for business travel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hotel Castilla Alicante
#13 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Hotel Albahia
#15 of 49 in Alicante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Cabo de las Huertas
Hotel Mio Cid
Hotel Mio Cid
#32 of 49 in Alicante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Alicante
#21 of 49 in Alicante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hotel Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hotel Alicante

Property: B&B Hotel Alicante
Address: Avenida Elche 112-113 | Calle Belgica, 03008 Alicante, Spain (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Alicante)
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Hotel Alicante 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel B&B Alicante Spain is a modern business hotel located within easy reach of Alicante Airport (ALC), the Office for Harmonization in the Internal Market (OHIM), the IFA Exhibition Centre and less than 1 km away from the new audiovisual complex Ciudad de la Luz. The Hotel B&B Alicante Spain offers 120 comfortably furnished rooms with High Speed Internet Access (WiFi available), air condition, satellite TV, bath tube, and other facilities ensuring our guests a comfortable and relaxing stay. Many of the rooms have a stunning view as they are overlooking the Mediterranean sea. There are several beaches very close (2.5km)to the hotel: Urbanova, Postiguet and Gran Alacant. Our guests could enjoy a continental breakfast buffet per 6€/person, while in the evening our Lobby Bar is worth a visit to relax. Our restaurant is also available Monday-Sunday from 19.30 to 23.00 (subject to change). Please reconfirm times with us. The Hotel B&B Alicante also offers 2 meeting rooms for up to 25 persons each with natural day light, audiovisual equipment and high speed internet. We also accept your pet at a charge of 9€ per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your B&B Hotel Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Alicante Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing