We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a relaxing escape but the wifi...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Castilla Alicante
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for a relaxing escape but the wifi...”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We love San Juan, the beach the restaurants and this hotel is just perfectly located, it would probably become our first choice whenever we want to escape for a quiet weekend on a Spanish beach but not for more than a week-end, because unfortunately we can't live without internet for too long and the wifi connection in our room wasn't just good enough for us with the signal going on and off all the time.
Apart from that we were very pleased with the hotel, still think is good value for money and still thing we will definitely go back for another week-end

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavideInUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    257
    112
    25
    15
See reviews for
117
261
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
englanduk/
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Have been back from this hotel for a week and would return tomorrow if I was able to!

We chose this hotel due to the location and the facilities. It is situated in St Juan just outside Alicante and as said before in other reviews handy for the tram and the bus. The Tram Stop is just up the road and is named Londres and the 21 and 22 buses stop right outside and the adult fare into or out of Alicante is currently 1.45 Euros – to return to the hotel the 21/22 bus stop is by the port. It does not matter which one you get as the route only varies through the residential part.

We arrived and we were allocated room 620 which is at the sea end of the hotel and has the huge balcony with sun in the morning (sun rise over Benidorm) and shade late afternoon. Very clean and comfortable room, air-conditioning, colour tv which we did not bother with, safe for 2 Euros per day and we took our own coffee making stuff after reading the other reviews. So as far as we were concerned we hit the jackpot as far as the room was concerned. Very nice efficient chambermaids cleaned everyday without fail.

At reception when we booked in, we were warned that the internet connection was poor and we were given passwords for each device we had and these lasted 3 days and replaced upon request for no fee. The only problem we had was on the balcony occasionally with the connection but not always and temporary then anyway. It was good enough to use Skype.

One night gone and down to the breakfast which was more than adequate BUT others have written that there is no hot food but this resides and always has done between the two toasters and the two coffee machines in the brass server. Yes there are only two hot items - scrambled egg and bacon in copious amounts regularly replenished. The other choices are breads, rolls, cheese, cold meats, yoghurt s, fresh fruit, melon, pastries, cereals, ring doughnuts (sugared and chocolate coated) and plenty of other pastries too numerous to mention.

As there are plenty of restaurants around we did not eat in the hotel restaurant.

The pool is situated at the side of the hotel and was clean with available sun beds as no one reserved them. Why do other hotels allow this? The sun is on the pool right up until late afternoon.

The Playa de San Juan is a long and very clean beach just over the road from the hotel and would be about two minutes walk away with plenty of sun beds and parasols for hire or just plop down where you like. It is cleaned every morning and there are foot washing showers available when leaving the beach.

There are the usual beach vendors selling sarongs, sunglasses, jewellery, drinks, coconut and so on and a polite no if you are not interested will see them move on to the next “call”. Facing the sea Alicante is to the right and to the left El Campello.

As mentioned above we did not eat in the Hotel restaurant but we did eat in the cafeteria as did a lot of Spaniards and the quality was fine. However there are many in and around some next to the promenade including a Mc Donalds (!) but one to be recommended is Restaurant Reinas up the road from the hotel and 2nd or 3rd left on the right before the beach offering food for all tastes another nearby right up from the hotel on the same side of the road is Cafe RTE Maritimo Playa. Inland from the hotel 50 meters plus you have the Indian Restaurant and many others but unless you are interested in having your shoe resoled avoid Pizzaria Mama Rosa – probably the worst pizza after the ones we had in Naples a frozen one from Masymas supermarket would have been far better. For a burger that makes a Mc Donalds look like an amateur effort, in the nearby shopping centre is Burgeur Gigante and they do good salads too.

For food, fruit, drinks etc for the beach may be purchased from the 24 hour supermarket at the end of the road turning left from the hotel entrance.

If you need an excursion or car hire the hotel can arrange that – they do have a car park at the hotel but there is plenty of free off road parking all around.

If you want to be surrounded by Brits do not come here as there are very few so a few words of Spanish is appreciated by the staff and other guests especially in the lift as everyone greets each other getting in and out of the lift!

There are three chemists on the opposite side of the road (parallel to the beach) from the hotel should one be needed – we did not in case you are wondering.

Our two week stay ended all too soon. Yes we would go back. A Big thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank pricolist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Had a wonderful week at this hotel, very close to the beautiful clean sandy beach. Very quiet and clean room with very spacious balcony with sea and mountain views. Read previous reviews so avoided eating in restaurant apart from breakfast which was more than adequate despite not serving hot foods. Staff spoke English and by reading the guide in the room we were able to change the tv channels to English which a previous reviewer said was not possible. Would have liked wifi in the room but there were sofas in reception area where you could use the internet. Buses directly outside door and very cheap to Alicante. Although the Town was quiet when we arrived, towards the end of the week it started to pick up and more restaurants and shops opened. so would probably go a little later in the month next time.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor which was very quiet and had wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lyewatarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Just came back from a week in hotel Castilla lovely clean hotel the room had balcony with pool an sea view. Wifi only available in one corner of the hotel in front of reception a bit inconvenient but ok. Paublo bar waiter very helpful. Marianne at reception also very helpful. Transport second to none bus tram right outside the hotel. Great for 20 minute trip into Alicante city or Benidorm if you want to visit more lively places. As Playa San Juan is a quite place!! Has a beautiful beach on you're door step some nice shops restaurants particularly the Indian restaurant very friendly staff great food. Its a great place to stay mainly Spanish speaking but a few Spanish words learned are nice to have an appreciated. Will we come back? Absolutely!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kattopclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

beautiful - to the room, pool, staff, resturant.. everything was amazing, 'perfect' should i stay, stayed for only a week with my family, the kids enjoyed every minute of it.. will deff be staying here again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lil_laydee_molly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Just back from 4 nights at this hotel. For €160 its great value. The room was lovely with lots of storage space. It could have done with tea and coffee making facilities tho! Everything was spotlessly clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Every one we spoke to also spoke English. We did not eat at the hotel but did buy drinks. The room had air con but we never needed it as the room did nit get that hot. We were given free wifi whuch worked in the room. The pool area was basic and a little noisy from surrounding traffic but it was never difficult to get a sun bed and easy to relax in. The hotel is a 2 minute walk to the beach front which is lovely. The beach is long and sandy, lots of children's climbing frames and outside gym equipment and a great atmosphere. The area is not commercialized, there are no tacky shops or people trying to hassle you. There were only a few places to eat open but we had more than enough choice. I imagine that later in the summer more restaurants would open. There was a small shopping center about 10 minutes walk away and smaller general shops 2 minutes away. It cost €30 from the airport in a taxi, the bus into Alicante stops right outside and the tram that goes along the coast. All in all, with you his hotel, you get more than you pay for!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the same way and have a balcony. We were on the 2nd floor and the hotel is 8 or 9...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lymesyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I'm writing this review on behalf of my 64 year old mum and her twoolder sisters! They stayed here last week in a triple room and paid about 60 euros each for 3 days. They said it was really good for the money, very clean, not much of a view from their room though but had a small balcony. The beach was really close and was very clean. The breakfast was good, your basic continental breakfast, but everything you needed. About 30 mins on the bis to Alicante. The only real downside that they said was that none of the staff spoke English. They found it very hard to communicate as no one understood what they were asking and they didn't seem very friendly. But overall a great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Covsunqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Playa de San Juan
Almirante Hotel
Almirante Hotel
#13 of 49 in Alicante
341 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
1,122 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Hotel Alicante
#23 of 49 in Alicante
403 reviews
NH Alicante
#3 of 49 in Alicante
624 reviews
Hotel Albahia
#17 of 49 in Alicante
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castilla Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castilla Alicante

Property: Hotel Castilla Alicante
Address: Avenida Paises Escandinavos 7, 03540 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Castilla Alicante 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Castilla Alicante is a three star hotel that has been certified with the "Q" of Quality trade mark. The hotel has been recently renovated. It is located in the city`s north and placed in a charming environment. Only 50 metres from the beach "San Juan Playa".Wich has been awanded a blue flag. A few minutes drive from the citycentre , the much filmed "Ciudad de la Luz" , the Airport "EL ALTET" , the Exhibition Centre ( IFA) ,The theme park "Terra Mitica" the ,"Terra Natura" off the A7 / A31,and 300 metres away is the Golf course " Alicante Golf ".Hotel Castilla Alicante has 155 rooms, all recently redecorated and are equiped with full marble bathroom, large balconies , satellite TV, telephone, internet connection, safety deposit box ( optional) and the majority have sea views. The rooms majority has free wi-fi connection under availability .All rooms have air conditioning and central heating .There are also non smoking rooms alarms.Hotel Castilla Alicante is a suitable location to combine business, sport and leisure, where relaxation and rest are guaranteed.Moreover, we have conference rooms and banqueting with suites varying capacities (350-25 people ) , a restaurant with a capacity of 300 people , swimming pool, childrens play area, undercover parking, a terrace with a cafe-bar, a Cafe lounge with a TV area, a limited room service, a laundry service, a florist, excursions, a ticket service, car-rental available at reception, Green Fees reservations and information about the golf courses . Close to the hotel, there is an office for local shows, Commercial Centres, restaurants, pubs and high speed wi-fi connection on the main floor. Full equipped kitchen of our own specialised in Home made and mediterranean cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Castilla Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing