We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa La Loba
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Medina Sidonia(Medina-Sidonia)(Great Value!)
$67
$56
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Utopia(Benalup-Casas Viejas)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fairplay Golf & Spa Resort(Benalup-Casas Viejas)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alboran Chiclana(Chiclana de la Frontera)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sindhura(Vejer de la Frontera)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Escuela Fuentemar(Chiclana de la Frontera)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveler rating
30
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
2
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 32 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2007

We stayed at Casa La Loba for one night during our bike tour through Andalucia on 20 June, 2007. We were very impressed with the inn, the services and the owner. The rooms are beautifully arranged with all of the comforts a traveler could need: spacious, private, clean and luxurious. James Barr, the owner and designer of the inn, has an impeccable eye to design, detail and comfort. The inn is a wonderful oasis, the roof top deck has fantastic views of the surrounding area. The breakfast was excellent and expertly prepared, with fresh and sumptuous fruits – we had figs, eggs to order, toast, yogurt and muesli. The coffee and tea were delicious – French pressed.

After staying only one night, we wished we had more time to stay at the inn. It is a great location to base an exploration of southern Spain. We will be back to this inn or any other that James decides to open.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jamesknaack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

We stayed at Casa La Loba for 5 nights, it is a lovely property beautifully refurbished, with good sized rooms, spotlessly clean and good value. James Barr was an ideal host providing advice and assistance on where to go and what to see. Breakfasts were excellent and varied. The recently upgraded road network is very good, making Medina Sidonia an ideal location from which to explore Tarifa and the coast, Cadiz, Jerez and the Parque natural del los Alcornales. In addition, Medina feels like a 'real' town as opposed to some of the pueblo blancos which appear to be more touristy (e.g Vejer) with many properties owned by foreigners. We have no hesitation in recommending Casa La Loba and time permitting will return ourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JandJWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

We stayed at James Barr´s hotel for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. Breakfast is lovely, rooms are very clean ans spacious. His hospitality is great. We will return. Regards form Ulrike and Oliver.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Olli+Uli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Nimes, France
113
Reviewed June 29, 2005

If anyone is looking for a quality Bed & Breakfast in southern Spain, I can thoroughly recommend La Casa Laloba. The owner, a genial Scot, has recently renovated this typical Spanish town house to offer accommodation with three enormous double bedrooms - all en suite. The decor is tasteful and the furnishings high quality. We stayed for a long weekend with friends and had an absolutely fanatastic time. We were thoroughly spoilt by the owner and he also arranged some excellent excursions for our party.
As one of our party said, it was as comfortable and relaxed as being in your own home, but better!
Don't miss it.
Sincerely
Clive Francis

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
115
Reviewed February 24, 2005

Visted March & July 2004 & have just booked to go back in July 2005

If you want to combine all the comforts and style of modern holidaying but also get a real glimpse into this special part Andalusian Spain then Casa la Loba is the place you just have to stay. Medina Sidonia is a medieval walled town on a hill set into the rolling agricutural countryside in the heart land of Andalucia. Arriving there is a treat in itself especially if you have a love for architecture and history and a sense for a' place in time'.

Run by an utterly charming & attractive Scot who has made his home here (speaks fluent Spanish and can therefore guide you gently to the essence of what the locality has to offer) this old Spanish property has fantastic facilities in a very relaxed atmosphere.

Trained at the Pru Leith School of Cookery in London Jimmy Barr provides freshly cooked food bought that morning from the markets & maybe to order if you let him know what you would like; home made bread for breakfast; welcome drinks with an honesty bar so you can make yourself at home & help yourself; a roof terrace with breath taking views as well as a balcony, a courtyard and enough private spaces if you want to escape other guests.

The bedrooms all have king size beds wth superbly comfortable mattresses and unusually well appointed and attractive bathrooms. The furnishings & decor are brillaintly worked through ... all contributing to a sense of understated comfort and tranquillity. Each set of rooms has its own style and chosing which one you want is a worry!

There is a variety of places to sit, read, chat or eat & drink... the key is a genuine relaxing environment especially as there is generally a no children policy which for some of us is a welcome opportunity!

The fantastic deep long clean Costa de la Luz beaches are only a twenty minute drive away; great beach restaurants and shops; beautiful Seville easily a day trip out; ancient & fabulous Cadiz only a half hour drive! never mind all the smaller tradtional places to explore. Jerez airport only twenty minutes away but also serviced by two other airports and a two hour drive from the Costa del Sol if that's of any relevance in your travels. Apparently they are about to develop a series of golf courses with all the facilities that accompany that sort of thing. Not my bag but appeals to many of you.

I could go on endlessly... suffice to say if you want a real break in a place where everything feels right and you come away feeling good then you have to check out Casa la Loba. Jimmy Barr is a breath of fresh air .. we have been there twice already and still get a pleasure when we think about going back this July. It is a place we shall return to again & again.

15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews