We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low-end four star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Park Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Ursula
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My wife and I were at this hotel as part of a group walking holiday in northern Tenerife. Walking great but not so the hotel. Our immediate impression of the hotel was not good; we did arrive at 05.15 so perhaps not at our best. However there was an all pervading aroma of stale fish lingering from the night before. We fortunately booked a room upgrade, facing the pool and sea - this was spacious with sitting room bedroom and kitchen, althhough rather poorly furnished. Our impression was that the accommodation could be ranked in order:
1. pool-facing rooms,
2 apartment rooms not part of the main hotel but across the pool area (these are on 3 levels but lowest level would have a poor outlook),
3 rooms facing away from pool - not attractive outloook.
Good points: pool, general cleanliness, room sizes, shuttle bus to Peurto, there is a small supermarket next to the hotel for basics and a small bar/restaurant
Bad points: staff generally unhelpful (especially Reception which was understaffed); restauratnt - tables crammed together and certainly not the place for a relaxed meal; quality of food just about acceptable; bar (internal and external) not 4-star and would have expected better; area around the hotel is not attractive; bathroom towels grey, thin and threadbare; pool loungers are basic but plentiful, .
Nearest bus stop is in Santa Ursula (not an attractive place) about 15mins walk - frequent local buses ( Nos 101, 102 and 103) at 30 min intervals, There is a good coastal walk for the fit from Peurto back to the hotel but with a VERY steep climb of about 30 mins near the end - so only for fit walkers - definitely not suitable for the many unfit older people in the hotel (we are penioners but fit and experienced walkers)..
Overall, the acid test is would we retirn to this hotel; I don't think so.

Room Tip: Get an upgrade for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank portsoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 936 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2011

We were very disappointed with the hotel, the bar staff were unfriendly and seemed to be overworked and the food was just awful, really, I have never experienced such terrible all inclusive services, even the drinks were disgusting.

I am sorry to have to place a negative review of the hotel but I feel that others should be warned. The cleaning service was not worth having as no cleaning took place at all, the bed was made and the towels were changed but that was it.

Sorry to be so negative but I honestly think this level of service and food provision is unacceptable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Bubbles1976_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

after reading reviews on this hotel before we went i was worried, but on arrival we were made very welcome. the rooms were massive with a seperate bedroom and kitchen. there was loads of food and a big choice. people were complaining that it was isolated and quiet at nights-WHY DON'T THEY READ THE HOLIDAY INFORMATION. We chose it because of it's location,and thorougly enjoyed it. the hotel was chilly at nights but we put jackets on. we were all inclusive and therefore ate and drank far too much. we would certainly return here

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolynne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I stayed at this hotel as a solo traveller on a group walking holiday. The location was perfect for this, but probably less so if you want a beach on the doorstep and extensive nightlife.
My room was fine, and included a small kitchenette, though equipment was limited. It was a little bit chilly to sit in, and as others have commented there's not much English TV (BBC World and Bloomberg) but I didn't do much sitting around. The hotel location is very quiet and I wasn't troubled by noise from neighbouring rooms.
We were on half board and both the breakfast and dinner buffets were more than adequate. At breakfast there were freshly cooked omelettes and pancakes, and the fish at dinner was also freshly cooked in front of you.
I thought the bar was very reasonably priced and friendly, although there was only ever one member of staff on who was sometimes rushed off his or her feet waiting at tables as well as serving at the bar.
There seems to be a lot of anti-German sentiment on here - in fact my impression was that a lot of the other guests were British pensioners on all-inclusive, although there were Germans and French too. Many of the younger guests were Spanish and could be encountered by eating dinner closer to Spanish time than British.
The free hotel bus to Puerto de la Cruz is handy, though only runs hourly and finishes early. There is a public bus service about 15 minutes walk away that runs regularly and late, and also takes you to the lovely towns of La Orotava and La Laguna, and to Santa Cruz, the capital of the island.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vagab0nd53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We went to La quinta park from 17th December 2010 to Decenber 31st 2010. Was looking forward to a xmas holl away with my son and his girlfriend my husband and i,when we arrived at the hotel only had to wait for 2hrs 30mins for a two bed room,we booked two bed room but was only given 1 bed . The place they put us in was down three flights of stairs away from every one. Room was basic but had a sea view. The air con on hot didnt work as it was cold at night. The pull out bed setee was very very old and uncomfotable. We only got one english channel wich was sky sports news,we were told had sky tv and in English, they lied. We found the hotel staff only look after all inclusive guests, and if you are self catering like we were not interested in you at all. The Hotel only had Spanish,French and German information scattered about the reception,restaurant,and spa area, so if you are English you have to ask for info.No buses after 7 at night and having to get taxi back every night costing 14 euros. Entertainment was rubbish. Food in Restaurant was catered for the Germans and french,looked like a comprehensive school meal service. Weather up north is very cold,windy and rainy,you need to go to south if you want sunshine as we have learnt from this stay. There is only one reasturant next door again only for Spanish,French and Germans we had to ask for English menu, not alot on it at all. Alot of O.A.P.S stay here ideal for a quiet holl but not for young couples or families. Bar was small chatty and you get ripped off by bar staff so watch them when doing your drinks. Rooms had very little sound proof you could here conversations moving around and even shower running. Staff were good at speaking english, but we got the impression they prefer the Germans and French. The spa was all it says in report but we wernt told you had to pay for heated pool costing 8 euros per visit as was all the other facilities at a cost,we were told all included free. Pool outside was cold but lovley size plenty of sun beds, and pool attendant very helpfull. Overall if you want sunshine every day dont go up North.We will never go to this hotel again as we had no rep visit and made complaints but nothing was sorted and felt unwanted.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richosmahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed at La Quinta Parks over Christmas 2010 and were overall disappointed by the junior self catering apartment, especially considering the hotel's 4 star rating. Having read plenty of reviews and looked at photos, LQP seemed to have pleasant rooms, lovely views and be reasonabley priced. These must have mainly been written by people who actually stayed in the main hotel part of the complex (the Park is divided into 3 sections, 2 of which are accessed via a lift or 3 flights of stairs). Here were the positives:
- The apartments and balconies were spacious and had a reasonable view of the sea (we could see the sea over the roof tops of the other apartment blocks).
- The hotel surroundings were well kept and tidy, esp around the swimming pools.
- The apartment had seemingly endless hot water and excellent water pressure.
- It was reasonably cleaned.
Here are the negatives:
- The apartments completely lacked soft furnishings and decoration, making them feel empty, echoey and unfriendly - the lack of curtains was odd. This, the poor quality sliding doors entrance doors, and the hard floor made the apartment incredibly noisey - annoying if your were unlucky enough to have boisterous neightbours....
- Lack of sound proofing. We were able to hear entire conversations and snoring coming from the rooms in the adjacent apartments - some of which was so loud we thought people had come in to our apartment by mistake. Could also hear every detail when the neighbours used their bathrooms.......
- The kitchen lacked essentials such as chopping boards, oven gloves and draining rack. The fridge leaked. The kitchen units were flimsy, some smelt damp and were in need of maintenance.
- No hotel car parking area. We parked out on the narrow street outside with numerous other hire cars & local cars and passing traffic (some quite large buses). Was not surprised to discover 3 large scrapes on our bumper one morning.
- General lack of information, eg on spa costs, opening times, local attractions etc. The staff were also vague when asked, although their English was extremely good.

Overall, nice complex with good views and well kept, but definitely pay more to ensure a better and possibly quieter rooms as the 4 star rating does not seem to apply to the basic SC apartments.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VivaElTeide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We booked La Quinta Hotel & Suites via a LastMinute.com Top Secret hotel offer - that gave us excellent value for money for a comfortable base away from the crowds and perfect for exploring the northern part of Tenerife. I think I would only recommend staying here if you are driving as there is not a lot nearby - the hotel has a free bus shuttle but these finish early. The problem with driving is there is no car park - but you can park on the street outside and to the left of the hotel for free. Only 15 minute drive into Puerto de la Cruz and about 35 minutes to Santa Cruz. If you don't mind hanging around the hotel pool, uninspiring bar and restaurant and the (paid for) spa facilities then that is fine.

Room:
Our room was very large and comfortable and appeared to be recently refurbished (although not the kitchen or bathroom which was functional but very dated). The suite had air conditioning which we did not need (in December). A nice balcony area although we had no direct view as we were at the "front" of the hotel. The bed was huge and very comfortable.

Facilities:
3 outdoor pools surrounded by sun loungers. All other facilities (indoor pool, sauna, gym etc) are chargeable in the spa. The indoor heated pool is chargeable (€8 per day) from the spa. We had a good 30 minute massage in the spa for €25.
Restaurant runs themed nights - we didn't try it but I would not expect too much.
Bar offers food and drink all day. Drink prices seemed good. Food quality and selection was poor and very much aimed at English & German OAPs!
The views from the restaurant and pool area are good looking down to Puerto Cruz and out to sea.
They also have a program of "entertainment" including bingo, live music & disco.

Clientèle:
Generally older British and German visitors. Most of which are happy to strip off by the pool.

Location:
Poor if you don't have a car or plan to go out and about. Good for a relaxing stay away from it all. There is only one small shop and one restaurant in the immediate vicinity (which is basically a big housing estate). About 10 minute walk away there are a few more restaurants over the motorway in Santa Ursula (use the now closed to traffic bridge - up the steep hill to the left at the top of the road where you would turn right to drive the the motorway if on foot)

Staff:
Depending on who you get - can be a little miserable (especially on the front desk) or helpful and friendly. Restaurant and bar staff were OK. Spa staff were very friendly and helpful.

All in all, for me a good value place to stay if you find a good offer - but go out for food and drink and use it as a base to explore the scenic areas of the North. If you want a holiday sitting by the pool in the sun and want a good nights sleep - go for it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StanInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ursula
3.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#21 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
396 reviews
25.1 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,088 reviews
15.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,460 reviews
27.3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,599 reviews
28.7 mi away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#9 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Park Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Park Suites

Address: Calle Bicacarera 21 | Urb. La Quinta, 38390 Santa Ursula, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Santa Ursula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Ursula
Price Range: $53 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Quinta Park Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel-Spa & Conventions La Quinta Park Suites, is located in the north of Tenerife on a cliff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean with spectacular panoramic views of not only the Teide, the volcano with the highest peak in all of Spain, but also of Puerto de la Cruz as well as the rest of the valley of La Orotava. The hotel is surrounded by a naturally captivating setting of subtropical gardens where you can relish in an unsurpassable climate of eternal spring. It is situated in a privileged community and is guaranteed to be the ideal place for anyone seeking tranquillity and contact with nature.The semi-circular building consists of Junior Suites, which are complete with all of the luxuries of home. Moreover, as an alternative leisure activity we have on our premises the first Spa in northern Tenerife: a true oasis for complete relaxation and peace of mind. Here we offer a complete array of the latest health and beauty programs, and we are always seeking to satisfy even the most demanding of clients by always offering personalised treatment and paying attention to the smallest of details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Quinta Park Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Park Hotel Santa Ursula
La Quinta Santa Ursula
La Quinta Puerto De La Cruz
Santa Ursula La Quinta
La Quinta Park Suites Tenerife/Santa Ursula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing