We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and drink overpriced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Abama

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Guia de Isora
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food and drink overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here Nov 2013 for 7 nights. Checked in very quickly and had complimentary drinks whilst doing so. Front desk staff very helpful. Hotel room on 7th floor spacious with large terrace overlooking course was what you would expect from 5 star hotel.
My only complaint was the price of the food and drinks. Whilst I may have the money to afford it I object to being ripped off. On our first night 2 beers,2 glasses of wine and 2 sandwiches came to 70 euro! For the rest of the week we took a taxi into San Juan which was 10 euro return and had some lovely food food at very good prices. Check out Jamon Jamon and Arelequin.
In terms of the golf i thought the course was a little disappointing. On the three of the holes if you hit the middle of the fairway with your drive you ball rolls back 70 yards meaning you have to aim for the rough to get your ball to hold ie on the first.There are some good holes and,of course, stunning views and the course was in good condition. Sadly for the speed of the round the course seems popular with retired German couples that cannot play golf! It is not a course for the novice and apart from the obvious reason(money) I do not know why they are allowed on.

Room Tip: Take a kettle as there wasnt one in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoverManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,251
    526
    237
    95
    68
See reviews for
767
891
26
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We are staying at this resort/hotel for 11 days, and are 5 days into our stay. i am struck by the helpfulness and kindness of most of the staff. They cannot do enough for us, and their manner is genuinely kind and caring. we had our 25th anniversary yesterday and were treated like kings by the pool staff and at dinner. When we got back to our room at night the room was strewn in rose petals and champagne was on ice!!
The resoart itself is super. We are staying in the Tago Villas and have a buggy to get around for ourselves.
We would definitely come again for a super luxurious relaxing holiday. We love it!!

Room Tip: pay extra and go for the ground floor in the Tago Villas block, but not if you are with kids. it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickigirl1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

There are a lot of things that can go right or wrong in a resort like this. The balance for us was strongly positive, but with some annoying lapses that shouldn't really happen. In order of occurrence, here's our pluses and minuses.
1. Arrival. Great to be greeted with a cold towel and drink, but then to wait 2 hours for our rooms from 2pm to 4pm was not. During this time, it was "only five minutes" from being ready...not the best start.2. Restaurants bookings. This was not what I had expected. We planned to book somewhere different each night and enjoy ourselves. First news was that the hotel was full and that if I didn't book each night right there and then I would probably not be able to do this. This was on Friday 25th booking up to 1st November!! After half an hour with the booking desk doing their best to make it work we finally managed to get a booking at a semi-sensible time in all bar one, which was allegedly booked solid for the whole week. How anyone arriving the next day would have booked anything I have no idea...
3. Rooms. Excellent all round, really enjoyed relaxing in them.
4. Food. Low point was first night in buffet, when chef served up a piece of raw pork (and I mean bleeding inside) to our 12 year old. To be fair we got the attention of the restaurant manager and head chef with that one, and they didn't charge us, but was obviously not the start you want on the first night away with children. Thereafter everything improved dramatically, the 14+ breakfast in Los Chozos was fantastic each day and we enjoyed snacks and drinks on the beach by day and the restaurants at night. I have eaten at a lot of good restaurants and MB is worth 2 M* in my opinion. Kabuki serves great sushi, sashimi etc but I was struggling to see where the M* came from. Mirador was excellent, the Tapas bar good and Pampas a bit so-so.
5. Lobby bar. All the staff were great, but their bosses need to employ twice as many of them to make sure you can get a drink and your check to sign when you need to.
6. Guest and Room Services. Related to 5 above, at no point in the week was the guest services number answered...always engaged, and I tried a lot! Room service was good, but there's no point in saying "call us to collect your tray" if there is only a half chance of getting through!
7. Golf. Faultless and a beautiful setting for some excellent golf lessons for my son and I. Sebastian was outstanding.
8. Tennis. Nice courts but poor coaching. My wife and daughter cancelled their remaining lessons after knocking the coach off the court in the first one.
9. Beach and pools. Main hotel pool waste of time if you want to sit down, the early birds bag the loungers at first light. Fortunately we discovered the beach early on which is perfect, and the attendants work overtime to get you seated and shaded. Yes, you pay through the nose for a cocktail on your lounger but it is a luxury like no other in terms of relaxation.
10. Spa. Great, loved it. Gym also good but needs a couple of rowing machines.
Overall, a poor first six hours followed by an excellent six days. Reality is to enjoy this place fully, you need to shut your eyes, book the best restaurants and just enjoy the facilities regardless of cost. That makes it an expensive holiday, which does increase the annoyance factor of the issues above. We enjoyed it too much to take a star off our score, however.

Room Tip: We were in main hotel, all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

As the title says, this is a good resort but not a great one.

The holiday got off to a bad start when we had to wait 30 minutes to check-in as there was only 2 staff on reception. This was not what we wanted or needed with 2 young children.

The rooms are generally large and comfortable even those in the main hotel. The villa suites are quieter and more spacious but unless you have a buggy I would not recommend staying in them.

Our children had a great time at the kids club and playing in the swimming pool which made the holiday relaxing and enjoyable. Although, despite being told that you cannot reserve beds by the pool we found that by the time we got to the pool all of the poolside beds had been taken.

However, my main complaint was the restaurants. We had more bad (and overpriced) meals than good meals. Other than the michelin starred restaurant or the Mirador the others were not worth visiting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelbyville_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glabbeek
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Staying at the Sheraton we were looking forward to a culinary evening at mb resto, located @ abama resort.
Though being set back à decade we had à fine dining experience with a proper service...

The 95 minutes waiting time for a cab back to the Sheraton spoiled the evening massivly

Hope the resort offers beter service to people staying there

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RVDS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Excellent family hotel, it is unusual for a five star hotel to get the balance right between families with children and families without children, however this hotel offers child free areas which inevitably has a positive influence on child friendly areas, no tuts or black looks when your children speak or laugh. Other positives include the friendly staff who will do their utmost to carry out any request nothing is too much trouble. On the downside there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms which is a real miss and the tea and coffee served at the hotel is often luke warm due to the machines used, as they are dispenser machines. I would recommend a small travel kettle and some British tea bags, I am certain they would provide a kettle and mugs if you asked I haven't asked but you could make a request before booking. As the hotel is isolated it is very expensive to eat in the restaurants therefore it may be best to go full board.

Room Tip: if you like sunny balconies make sure you request on as most of the balconies are shaded due to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

First of all its worth noting this is fundamentally a good hotel. It could however be much much better. The good starts with the welcome the environment and the rooms. The bad is all about the good offering and the distinct lack of choices. When you stay in a hotel resort such as thus and are to a degree isolated you expect great dining facilities. What you get here is a limited offer and one you have to book well in advance at specific times in order to get any variety. At lunch there is only one dining restaurant servicing the whole main pool and unless you are prepared to trot off to the adult pool and pay crazy prices for food children won't eat then you have to wait up to 45 minutes for a table and average food at very expensive prices. A calamari starter will set you back £15 euros at a minimum! So dining is poor as is the pool side service and with no obvious pool side bar its a question of not having a drink rather than spending money with the hotel. Inside our suite we were blown away by the quality of the rooms but with no tea or coffee facilities you have to question the managements thinking when all decent hotels offer nespresso or similar these days. Wifi is simply a joke with it being unusable for anything other than basic work, if you want faster its pay per hour or day again at silly prices. The staff here are lovely and service is generally very good. Kids are well catered for, the beach is excellent and there is a nice feel to the place. It's such a shame some basic elements are poor especially the food offer when in reality a few other lunch options would not go amiss.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dannyb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guia de Isora
3.0 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
6.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
3.2 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
6.4 mi away
Bahia del Duque
Bahia del Duque
#11 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Abama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Abama

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
Address: Ctra. General TF47 km 9, 38687, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Abama)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Guia de Isora
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guia de Isora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Abama 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the luxurious amenities from the Ritz-Carlton, Abama. Surrounded by picturesque backdrops like no other, guests will leave with memories to last a lifetime with experiences to follow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Abama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abama Hotel Tenerife
Abama Tenerife
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama Tenerife/Guia De Isora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing