We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At other great holiday at the Abama”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Guia de Isora
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“At other great holiday at the Abama”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just returned from the abama after family holiday. We have been before - last time during school holidays, when it was obviously much busier (if you want a romantic holiday for two, then don't choose a hotel which caters for families during August, when the world's population of children are out of school for the summer). It was quieter this time and yes, it is their low season so refurbishments were going on but this did not detract from our enjoyment of the resort. We were one of the lucky ones who had an upgrade due to refurbishments, and i can see why that would upset people who have paid full price. Two of the 7 pools were closed and one was adults only (which we enjoyed while the kids were in the fantastic kids club)' so there were still 4 pools on offer to us as a family. The food was great and the staff were helpful, friendly and attentive and all spoke English (and many other languages besides). There is a lift down to the beach which operates into the evening, so not sure why some reviewers are complaining about having to traverse 'many, many steps'. The staff in the kids club genuinely loved the children and really helped to make their holiday special. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,315
    549
    257
    102
    70
See reviews for
818
935
27
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knokke, Belgium
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Large refurbishments have been done and are still on the way ( at the main building, at the pools of the Citadel ).They managed it at its best by placing all the guests in the villas, a nice upgrade for most. The beautiful gardens have been reviewed and allow new astonishing views on the ocean. 2 restaurants each with 1 Michelin star : M.B. ( closed mid-june to mid-july ) and Kabuki ( closed in september ). A new formula for 2 other restaurants, who are now separated each from another, Pampa ( argentine style : has to be reviewed in terms of choice and quality ) and Verona ( italian style : same remark as for Pampa ). The ocean front view restaurant Mirador has an outstanding view, but the service was poor ( we did not see someone responsibel of the restaurant ). Abama is on the way to stay for a long time the top hotel of Tenerife at a top location, managed by Ritz-Carlton. Opened in 2005, is is vital to improve constantly and they succeed well in this. Try to avoid the crowdy periods ....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a disappointment. My husband and I booked a week-long stay at the Abama for our honeymoon. For starters, we were the only Americans on the property and among the few who spoke English. We stayed in a Villa, which was quite expensive, and billed as being 'private.' However, it was anything but. We never used the private pool due to so many children in it (yelling) at all times. We could not leave our balcony open due to the noise of families. We had a hard time finding any moments of privacy or romance anywhere. In addition, this resort is very far removed from civilization and leaves you feeling TRAPPED. It takes an hour plus to drive into town to sample any local fare. We did not have a golf cart, either, and that made navigating the resort itself very difficult. It was a workout just to go to dinner, and getting to the beach required scaling many, many stairs! In addition, due to a lack of lighting, we rarely felt safe entering and exiting at night. Also, nearly everything was priced ridiculously high (e.g. a burger and fries on the lunch menu is nearly $50 euros.) Even service at the overpriced spa was very poor. We would have loved to find a honeymoon spot to which we could return; this was not it. Again, a big disappointment.

Room Tip: Do not pay more for supposedly 'private' rooms as they are not private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeymooners_811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 504 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We are currently staying in a Tagor villa at the Abama - our third stay here! Don't bother coming in June as it is a complete rip off. Half the hotel is shut for alleged refurbishment (but we haven't seen a builder yet!) and they have moved all the hotel guests into the villas to vacate the main building! Lucky for some and unlucky for others! The place is noisy with high level maintenance going on, restaurant possibilities reduced, main restaurant closed as well as main pool and cafe! Mirador restaurant breakfasts (which is meant to be for tagor villa guests) open to all so manic in the morning. Try to get hold of a manager to complain - forget it, they don't want to know! The general manager didn't turn up for our meeting! And worst of all, they don't let you know about all that's going on before you arrive! Never again. It this really a Ritz hotel? Makes us wonder!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have just returned from an idyllic week at Abama. We came outside school holidays so the resort was relatively quiet. The facilities were fabulous and the staff attentive and courteous without being intrusive. We stayed in a villa which was spacious and well equipped. The food was fabulous and service prompt and excellent. Club abami was fabulous, clean, well equipped and lovely staff. I would highly recommend this resort, however it is a large resort and we stayed when it was a quiet time, I do wonder what it would be like during summer holidays?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a great time in early July here. Weather was great and room was very clean.

Staff were very good in first week (but seemed a bit overwhelmed in second week) and took the time to make my daughters birthday special with little presents and a special breakfast. The top pool was perfect for young children and we enjoyed the lower pool as well in the later afternoon.

Beach was good, and kids loved the lift down to the beach, but sand got very hot and it's not so private at weekends with locals allowed on to the beach.

Kids club was very good and staff really seemed to enjoy beng iwth the children. You could come and go as you pleased which was nice as our children only like to go for a short time.

Only real let down was the limited food. The kids section is good with a reasonable vareity of the usual favourites. However, the main restaurant runs a fairly limited menu which gets pretty boring after a week let alone longer, and the other restaurants are not cheap if you can get in.

Whole place looks lovely and was very clean, but be aware its on a hill andyou may wnat to use the gold buggy service to get up the hill with young kids / baggage.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonNeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Property is extensive and on lush grounds, however it is very isolated . It has a beautiful private beach.
The majority of guests where families with lots of kids. There is an adult section but if
you're staying in the main complex, it's far.
They have many employees, some nice, others inexperienced, and many concerned about
talking with each other rather than greeting customers.
Food and restaurants are average. Their top restaurant MB was not open while I was there.
One day I tried to book a dinner reservation at a very nice open location. I was told that they were booked completely for the next week. I called a senior manager and he got me a reservation. At dinner time, I couldn't help notice that there where more than ten tables not occupied during the night.
The rooms need updating! The plasma tv in my "upgraded" suite was sitting on a make shift
IKEA type stand.
I booked a Town Car with a driver to pick me up at the airport. I was met by a man in a white old
stretch limo who did not say a word to me during the entire trip to the hotel. Inside the limo,
there where ads for sex bars.
The night before I left I called and confirmed for a wake up call at 7:00am. They did not call.
When checking out, the clerk argued with me that she had not had the info to call.
If you're expecting a real Ritz Carlton property, you will not be happy. It has more of a regular
Marriott ( all inclusive) type of hotel vibe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guia de Isora
3.1 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
6.3 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
6.4 mi away
Bahia del Duque
Bahia del Duque
#10 of 57 in Costa Adeje
2,069 reviews
3.2 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Abama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Abama

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
Address: Ctra. General TF47 km 9, 38687, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Abama)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guia de Isora
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Guia de Isora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Abama 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the luxurious amenities from the Ritz-Carlton, Abama. Surrounded by picturesque backdrops like no other, guests will leave with memories to last a lifetime with experiences to follow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Abama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abama Hotel Tenerife
Abama Tenerife
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama Tenerife/Guia De Isora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing