We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5-day stay at Abama Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Guia de Isora
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“5-day stay at Abama Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This resort is beautiful. The staff are all great. Food is great as well. The only thing I didn't like in this hotel is they don't have a flat iron and an ironing board in each room. You will end up using their laundry services for a fee. For a resort of this caliber you would expect that this is standard in their room.

Room Tip: Bring your own flat iron. They have very limited available. If they are fully booked you probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,270
    535
    247
    99
    69
See reviews for
789
909
26
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
208 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This charge is ridiculous when you are paying these prices for a room. The constant, loud, golf cart traffic is annoying. The property is large and spread out so they are necessary, but I've been in many resorts that use golf carts and never been bothered by them before. These are uniquely loud.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank travelin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for Easter holiday with two young kids. A perfect family holiday! The weather here is good all year round. The pools were lovely especially the rock pool. The beach was a short buggy ride away or by an outdoor lift called a funicular which the children loved. The beach itself was gorgeous, small but perfectly formed! The evening entertainment for children was very unusual, included a parrot show and an eagle show when we were there. The kids club looked good too but my kids refused to go. Hotel staff took us on a botanical tour - the staff were just excellent, we got so muh personal attention - nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Would highly recommend this hotel. the spa was second to none! Only downside is there doesn't seem to be anything nearby the hotel to do, this is in quite an isolated part of Tenerife.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali3888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to Abama the two weeks before Easter and stayed in a luxury seaview double. We arrived after a very early morning flight with Easyjet, with a one year old. The perfect storm confounded by the car the rental company tried to give us, clearly had recently been stolen and judging by the state of it, joy ridden till it crashed. So we turned up not full of the joys of spring, but tired, stressed and ready for anything to annoy us..

Luckily we booked Abama hotel, easy to find, and an oasis of clam and luxury. From the minute we turned up the exceptional staff worked around the clock to make sure everything was done perfectly, They parked the car, took the bags to the room, gave us a welcome drink and in 5 minutes we has checked in and were in holiday mode.

This was the story of or stay, the staff were amazing, everyone knew our daughters name within a couple of days, the breakfast staff (especially Elizabeth) really rolled out the red carpet for us and my daughter, she made he a place mat and cut out her favourite animals for her, she decorated our table every day and made the holiday hugely enjoyable. In guest services Rose was fantastic, and wrote us a lovely letter on our departure.

On to the hotel, massive, plenty to do, golf, tennis, gym, pools, beach, 2 Michelin stared restaurants (don’t bother with MB - unless your dinning to be more formal than fun and food that is more clever and fantastic) more pools, private beach and beech buggies to cart you all over the place.

Childcare company was also very good.

Pay for breakfast, but hire a car (not from the hotel) as it is expensive to eat here every day (65-80 Euros for a lunch for two people) Evening meal and one bottle of wine will set you back €100.

If you can afford this place go, avoid very busy times as you will be frustrated, but time it right and you will have a wonderful holiday that is a million miles from Playa Las America
.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Al Khaimah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Good accommodation and facilities. Large rooms, spacious bathrooms and quiet air-conditioning. Good range of restaurants and a superb golf course HOWEVER......service fundamentals are abysmal. Booked to hire the tennis courts, arrived, 15 mins early, informed the tennis coach of our arrival and we waited...and waited...and after 45 mins decided to walk back down the mountain to complain. We complained to receptionist and asked to see the General Manager, but to no avail. We, on the first evening chose to eat at El Mirador restaurant. When we arrived, without a booking to eat, we were informed that the restaurant was full. We chose to have a drink and enjoyed the sunset but realised that the restaurant was only 33% full. There were many empty tables. We were not offered one of these or indeed to have a snack at the seating area. for a 5 star hotel, this is simply not acceptable. We waited to see if other guests turned up but within the hour there were even more empty tables! And finally, we chose to try El Mirador at lunchtime, by the pool. We waited 20 mins before we were asked if we would like a drink and some lunch( whilst seated at the table, with a menu that I Had fetched in hand)... We ordered and after 50 mins, enquired where our lunch was? They had forgotten! We will not be returning to this hotel again and to date the Hotel Manager has not be bothered to ascertain the problems within the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeenieWeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed here as a guest in April for a long weekend. It is a luxurious retreat in a beautiful location. It is about a 45 minute drive from Tenerife South airport and if you were going to stay here for more then a long weekend , I would recommend hiring a car so that you can get out and about. We had a corner room in the citadel – which is the main part of the hotel and it was a beautifully laid out room. The view was of the Atlantic, the bed was enormous and incredibly comfortable. We were there as part of a conference weekend so we were obliged to follow a set menu and didn’t have the opportunity to try the restaurants, the buffet breakfast was a little hit and miss, anything that had to be prepared fresh was good but I did hear some of the people at the conference mention that some of the breakfast hot food may have been out to long as the food was dry, hard and not very appetizing.

The pool areas were well set out and comfortable and the beach cove was a lovely place to spend the day. The landscaping of the hotel and resort is lovely and what you would expect from a Ritz Carlton. I did manage to see a villa and it was beautifully laid out and spacious. The staff are efficient and international and did to the most extent try to be as helpful as possible. One of the nicest ways of spending time there is feeding the Koh fish in the pond and then going to the terrace in the citadel to catch the sun, enjoy a cool drink and catch the sun whilst catching up on reading or people watching.

Room Tip: Corner rooms catch the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConamaraGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I spent a week here with my partner and 16 month old. We had the most wonderful stay. The resort is absolutely spotless and wonderfully maintained. The staff and service is fantastic, second to none. Some reviews mention the service is a bit slow in some of the restaurants, this may be true, particularly at the beach restaurant and the one by the large pool, but it didnt really matter, you're on holiday afterall, so time to chill out! The breakfast was fantastic, lots to choose from. The resort, although large, doesnt feel big at all, becuase it is so well designed. We stayed in one of the villas, and the pool for our "row" of villas and never felt busy or crowded. It definitely is expensive, there is no escaping that.... 25 Euro's for 2 G&T's (although they were HUGE, so you really only needed one!) Our room was massive, and the baby's cot went in the bathroom which meant he slept soundly while we enjoyed the use of our room - we were on the ground floor and had access to our own little garden, so in the evening we didnt feel trapped in our hotel room at all.

Definitely recommend stocking up at the local supermarket (5 mins in a taxi) and filling your fridge! Also, we ate at the local town (San Juan) several evenings and were glad we did, we tried several restaurants and had some fabulous food.

the only negative thing I can say is that the michellin starred MB restaurant was a major disappointment. I am all for fine dining, but my tuna starter was completely inedible, and the complementary appetisers they brought out was like a scientific experiment gone wrong. The food was simply not good, and the service, although very good, was sterile and dull. The whole experience cost just under 300 Euros (for 2 people!) and this was with no bottle of wine! Not worth it.

However, on the whole I cannot recommend this place enough, It was really quite wonderful, and a real treat to be a guest here. Enjoy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lornstar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guia de Isora
3.1 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
6.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
3.2 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
6.4 mi away
Bahia del Duque
Bahia del Duque
#10 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Abama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Abama

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
Address: Ctra. General TF47 km 9, 38687, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Abama)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guia de Isora
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Guia de Isora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Abama 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the luxurious amenities from the Ritz-Carlton, Abama. Surrounded by picturesque backdrops like no other, guests will leave with memories to last a lifetime with experiences to follow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Marriott, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Abama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abama Hotel Tenerife
Abama Tenerife
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama Tenerife/Guia De Isora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing