We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“enforced relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Abama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ctra. General TF47 km 9, 38687, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Abama)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Room Night
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Guia de Isora
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“enforced relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The pink exterior seemed odd at first but we soon got used to it. The room was delightful. Spacious and airy with comfortable cane chairs on the patio above one of the pools. Great for a read or a snooze.This Hotel is a one off with interest around every corner on every floor. The palm trees, cactus and other exotic plants in the extensive gardens are quite magnificent. The staff are numerous, friendly and helpful. The hotel's beach with an area of Atlantic the size of a football pitch protected by a wall of boulders from the open of sea is superb. Go down in the early morning when it's empty and you have the whole place to yourself. All the restaurants are good, the service quick. It is expensive, but probably not more so than any other five star establishment. One day we caught the complimentary bus to the shops in Playa des Americas.Otherwise we spent four days in the hotel and saw little else of Tenerife. It may not suit some and it wasn't quite what we had planned but in the end the enforced relaxation was just what we both needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JunoLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    464
    211
    87
    60
See reviews for
651
762
20
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The start was rather difficult. Fully booked hotel, staff over solicitated, restaurants fully booked, technical problem in the room but after a chat with Mr Dobbels, everything was under control in the blink of an eye.. Thank you !

What a place, what a setting, most friendly staff i ever saw. The restaurants are on average very, very good with my absolute favorites ; the beach restaurant(my god), and Kabuki which is simply amazing value for money !

It doesn't get any better on Tenerife and far beyond !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mistertom-klf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

This is a good resort with excellent facilities. The rooms are great and the pool area and beach is excellent. Also great selection of alternative pools.
Where it lets itself down is that it is now resourced properly with enough staff. This let it down on service. The staff in place are excellent but they are simply under resourced which screams of cost savings during these economic times.
Also, the buffet area is too small and not enough choice for top 5 star resort status and prices. Also they did not have enough staff for you to eat in any restaurant unless you had booked 1 week in advance. Not what you expect at 5 star. The whole dining experience felt a bit like a holiday camp.
On the plus side the resort itself is lovely with great rooms and the staff they have are extremely good.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradleykl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed one week in a villa which was nice and clean (see comments about choice of good room below).

The hotel is a little bit worn after 7 years, but the service was good. The complementary facilities (beach, pool, fitness, childrens room) are good.

For dinner, we only tried the dinner buffet restaurant and the fish restaurant (the rest were either booked or not possible with kids) and they were good, but relatively pricey. We went to San Juan for dinner (a 5 EUR taxi ride away) and found that this village offered some good restaurants with slighty more atmosphere at around 25% of the price.

Small things like soft drinks, beer, ice cream is very poor value for money and close to a joke (around 10 EUR for a soft drink or a beer in the mini bar, 8 EUR for two scoops of ice cream on the beach etc.). I wonder why this is the case as this can hardly be where the resort makes most of it's money... At 130 EUR per person, golf is also very poor value.

Room Tip: If you stay in a villa, make sure not to stay in one next to the road to the beach. During the &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNygaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I just came back from a wonderful stay at this beautiful resort. The service was excellent, great restaurants ( I really adored the MB & Mirador restaurant) and a really nice room with stunning sea views. I would recomend this hotel for everyone who is looking for a nice place to relax and who wants to enjoy a personalised service.

Room Tip: the sea view suites are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here with friends in August 2012. Hotel was very luxurious and rooms were very well equiped. Would definitely return. Only 1 issue was that service in the restuarants was slow on occasions but overall the staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMCRHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Worst service we have received in any hotel for a very long time. Possibly ever.
It was laughable or would have been had we not paid 5 star prices. Do not go there if you appreciate any kind of service for even the basics. We have a list of over 20 serious failings in just 4 days over half term.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
22 Thank David c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guia de Isora
3.0 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
23.0 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
6.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort
3.2 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Abama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Abama

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
Address: Ctra. General TF47 km 9, 38687, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Abama)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Guia de Isora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Abama 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Abama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abama Hotel Tenerife
Abama Tenerife
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama Tenerife/Guia De Isora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing