We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Guia de Isora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were a bit wary of this hotel as it is much larger than anything we would usually choose however when you're there this isn't evident. The place is laid out in a series of smaller areas & vistas & it just doesn't feel that you're with so many people. Being able to spread out in the evening in different restaurants helps this & adds variety to the stay.
Our room was very spacious & the balcony was big, bathroom spotless & set up for two. Maid service was twice a day & kept the room spotless. Really good.
Having read the reviews just before we went about half board not including everything we were a little worried we'd be paying lots on top but it really wasn't a problem. There was always something on the 'included' options and in fact usually at least 2-3 for each course. We didn't find it a problem at all & did sometimes choose to play extra for things but you certainly didn't need to. The food was excellent wherever we went, well served & delicious & The Veranda restaurant , an open buffet, had an extensive choice & if you wished you could return as many times as you wanted
We found the service fine everywhere & didn't wait for anything. All the staff were attentive & courteous & nothing was too much of a problem for them. The service is a big plus for the hotel & we felt really well looked after.
Two restaurants are very expensive MB the Michelin starred & Kabuki. So we gave MB a miss & Kabuki would have been ok if the waiter hadn't suggested an extra that cost a lot on top of our carefully chosen suggestions. Felt like a bit of a fast one was pulled so just be firm & choose what you want only.
It's a family hotel & caters for kids but also understands that adult couples don't want kids running round especially when you're paying this much so there was an adult pool area where we went. It would be nice if they could think about this at restaurants too & put some space aside specifically for adults only but it wasn't really a problem although it may be in the summer when theres a lot more kid.
Drink prices were as you'd expect in this quality of hotel
We really enjoyed the Spa circuit which came as a complimentary & was lots of fun. Also ask about the free classes in the gym area. I found this too late & may have done more - things like Pilate, Yoga. The teachers were knowledgeable & good. Beautiful Spa area overall with helpful staff & the massage I had was really excellent.
Overall a really great hotel & we'll return but probably on some sort of golf/spa/activity package.

Room Tip: Ask for something facing the golf course or pools not the road.Facing Inward. Also choose your res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,212 of 2,491 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is the end of my forth week at the Abama Resort. We are filming the car chase for Fast & Furious 6 here on Tenerife and the work days are long and hot. Arriving back at the Abama sweaty, tired and hungry every evening quickly makes the events of the day pass. A shower in the amazing bathroom, a cocktail in any number of their restaurants and bars, and a dinner of fresh, quality cuts of meat and fish, cooked to perfection finishes the day nicely. The goose down pillows and bed are just as good as what I have at home and I am picky about that.

The setting, the architecture and most importantly the hospitality of their staff are as good as it gets anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed last week of September.
I have no complaints at all, the accomodation was first class, the pool was adults only so nice and quiet. Free drinks available whenever you want, savoury dishes served free 4 or 5 times a day also free.
Tried every retaurant again no complaints, i agree the service is slow but i was on holiday we just relaxed and had a drink or sat and talked to each other, the object of the night was to enjoy ourselves not be part of a speed eating contest.
We were given a golf buggy for the week so had great fun using this.
If you have a spa treatment you can use the facilities for nothing by arriving 90 minutes before your treatment
The MB restaurant is expensive but after 9 courses we had a very enjoyable 3 hours and didn't feel we had been short changed.
i would say this resort is best suited to adults,and we intend to return.

Room Tip: Garden view villas are the ground floor villas, larger balcony and to be honest have the same view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tc405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here last summer and decided to return again which we very rarely do...we would normally rather visit new places and hotels although we do tend to return to Tenerife ever summer. The Abama isn't perfect, but it is definitely one of the best 5* resort hotels on the island. The quality and customer service overall is high, it is somewhat remote so you need to hire a car or get taxis if you want to head out.

We arrived back at the hotel to a warm welcome. We had emailed ahead to say we were returning and they gave us the same top floor room we had last year with a great view over the golf course, adult pool and to the sea.

In my opinion, the Citadel rooms are more than adequate for couples and they have the best views compared to the villa rooms. Whilst the villa rooms have access to their own (shared) pool area, it felt at times like we had the whole adult pool to ourselves so wouldn't have been worth the extra. We did walk down to have a look around the villa rooms and we felt that the ground floor rooms in particular felt a little dark compared to our room in the main building. I also felt that the terraces in the citadel were more private than in the villas. I guess the villa rooms are a bit bigger for families.

We have stayed at the Bahia Del Duque and we prefer Abama for the following reasons:

1. The size of the resort means that there is something to do and somewhere to go for everyone meaning the resort never feels too crowded. As a couple, we loved to lounge on the daybeds at the adult pool - it was totally relaxing and meant we avoided screaming children in the main pools.

2. The size of the rooms and furnishings - granted, you dont spend much time in the room but the Abama is much more modern and much larger standard rooms than at the Del Duque. Also, we had a private balcony both years which meant we could also sunbathe on the balcony for most of the day if we preferred.

3. The guests are more low key here which contributed to a more laid back vibe, much better mix of nationalities than at the Del Duque with more English, German, Spanish, French and Dutch. There was no fighting for sunloungers here, which we witnessed most days at the Del Duque.

In my perfect world, if you could move the Abama to the location of Bahia Del Duque, it would be the perfect place!

Food - the MB restaurant was closed when we were here so sadly couldnt try that. We stayed just before the school holidays started so not all restaurants were open. Breakfast in the main restaurant was amazing. Abdallah looked after us for most of the 2 weeks and he was brilliant, a real credit to the hotel. We were never out of coffees, fruit juice, cava the entire time.

This year we ate dinner mainly in the El Mirador restaurant which we preferred to the Italian/Argentinian main restaurant. The service was definitely better and we felt it offered a better menu this year on half board. Dinner was occasionally slow - over 2 hours especially when busy - it did feel short staffed on occasion, but it was nice to sit in the sun and watch the sunset. As others have said, the HB options this year had changed in the main restaurant and lots of the meat and fish dishes such as lamb, steaks etc had an additional supplement when they were included last year. I guess this is a sign of the Spanish economy right now, but it did mean that the HB option wasnt as good value as before and felt a little 'mean' given that we'd already paid up front. I don't stay at 5* hotels to eat pasta or pizza dishes for my main meal because its included in the price, so inevitably we ended up paying more.

The resort is beautifully laid out, lovely gardens, pathways etc. The groundsmen work very hard in maintaining the gardens and they do a great job.

One other small thing we noticed had changed from last year was the pool boys were a little 'tight' with the bottles of water at the adult pool this year. A couple of times we were only 'allowed' one bottle at a time - its not like we were stockpiling them(!) but it was a bit of a pain to have to keep going back to get another bottle given that the bottles were small, it was very hot sun and we were getting through water quickly to keep hydrated. I can't believe that the Abama are trying to cut costs by limiting the water at the pool but it did feel a little petty.

Overall, we had a great time and I would definitely recommend it outside of school holidays for couples. It is very popular with families all year round so I can imagine how it must feel during the peak summer months and would probably go somewhere quieter if I was looking for some peace and quiet!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a sea view in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ScaryMaryUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Abama during the last week of August. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again.
As many people described previously, this is a beautiful resort, the facilities are 5 star quality at the same level as those in Asia or Caribbean. The resort is relatively big but you will soon get you head around after a day. There are 7-8 restaurants to choose from and activities including golf course and tennis academy etc. We did bother leaving the resort at all during our stay.
Food – the hotel was completely full the week when we were there. So all restaurants were open for business. We had breakfast in La Chozos which was less crowded and could site next to the pool which was really nice. La Veranda seems to have more choices but too crowded for our liking. We tried every restaurant except two children free ones. We found the quality of the food were very good. We were on half board and for every meal we tend to pay extra £30-£40 for 3 of us with soft drinks. They also had children’s buffet in the evening for those eating at Italian and Tapas restaurants. Even children’s food tasted rather good. Strangely the worst meal we had was at El Mirador, beautiful settings etc but fish was over cooked and cold. We asked it to be redone, they took it rather well and came back with a much better version.
Staff – very friendly and helpful. We waited for 2 hours at check in to get our room ready, they were very apologetic about it and sent a bottle of wine as a gesture. Every time you ask for something, they always try their best to help you. Can’t fault their attitude!
This is really a family resort. Children were everywhere especially we were there during the summer holidays. The main pool was completely occupied by kids mostly under 10. There is an adult only pool next to the main pool. But I am not sure that I would have wanted to stay at the main hotel block if we were a couple, staying at villa might be ok.
Walk down the road to the beach is not a problem even without the buggy. We walked up down all the time and really enjoy the walk in the evening especially after the meal. The weather has been really hot, consistently around 30 degree, quite easily get burned. So need to be very well protected. Many kids were wearing protective swimming suits.
All in all, we had really good time, both the teenage daughter and 5 year old enjoyed the stay. We will definitely come back. Every summer we tend to travel to Asia or Caribbean in order to stay at decent resorts. But now we find Abama. It is in the same time zone as UK, no jet lag, only 4 hours flight, you get similar quality resort. The only downside is that there are no miles of white sandy beach you can walk along. But I am happily to comprise this.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nikki50London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband, myself and my 6 month old visited The Abama for 2 weeks at the start of July, we booked a junior suite.. On arrival we were very impressed, we were shown to our room which was not a junior suite but a suite, we were extremely happy to of been upgraded especially as we were there for 2 weeks with the baby! Our suite was AMAZING, absolutely first class.. Unfortunately I can not say the same about the food, we ate in the Italian a good few times, service was very slow, food was very bland, and the quality of the meet was poor, we did complain on one occasion about a dish that was brought out which they had actually forgot to cook, raw veg and meet was not what I ordered, I actually thought it was some kind of a joke!! We also ate in the wine bar, again not impressed with the quality of the food, we ordered a bottle of wine that was not on the menu that we had previously had in the Italian, the waitress advised us it was no problem and when we asked the price she confirmed it was 28 euro, the wine was poured and we had a few glasses with our dinner, we were then approached by a very rude male waiter whom I quote "the wine you ordered is not 28 euro it's 58 euro OK" very intimidating to say the least!!..I wish I could say the other restaurants were better but sadly not.. Kabuki was the only restaurant where the food was good.. The service in the lobby bar is very odd, they are extremely busy with one waiter serving, you could easily sit and wait 20mins before you were served, the same for drinks to arrive and the same time to order the bill, on quite a few occasions we got up and left as it was getting silly.. The hotel grounds and accomadation are most defintley 5 star the staff in reception, concierge and room service are fantastic, such a shame the food lets this place down.. Even something as simple as a ham and cheese toastie by the pool was disappointing, made with processed cheese slices... The food at this hotel is most definitely not 5 star, again it is such a shame as we would of returned if the food had been better...

Room Tip: Junior suite is pure 5 star!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank barbiew30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Let's start with the positives....good rooms (size) and cleanliness. We chose a junior suite with a sea view. The size and layout was great with a walk-in dressing room, good sized bathroom and balcony. Well maintained and a decent sized plasma tv (42"). There are two pools close to the main hotel, one with a shallow entry, ideal for toddlers and an adult only swimming pool set behind the hotel. The staff were always friendly as you would expect. The Abama has a well equipped gym and ran three spin classes a week (included) - although I did struggle to keep pace with the only other guest on one occasion as he was a recently retired Olympic 400m runner (Tim Benjamin).

The private hotel beach uses imported Portugues white sand (as opposed to the local volcanic stuff) and has a man-made lagoon so it was great for kids and adults alike

So what's wrong with this place?
1) the speed of service over dinner is poor, particularly if you have young children - ours is nearly 4 and spending 2hrs over dinner meant that he never got to bed much before 9.30pm.
2) the half-board option is really not as described - approximately 50% of all dishes had a supplement attached ranging between €5 and €20 which really adds up over ten days.
3) two restaurants don't permit children aged below 6 0r 12 yrs so these are off limits unless you want to pay for a baby-sitter @ €18 per hour (and one of these was closed for September)
4) Club Abami is the children's club and has great facilities which are free - but if your child is under 4, you must stay in attendance or pay €18 an hr for a child minder. (Ten hrs over ten days will cost you €180 - our little boy is 3 weeks off his 4th birthday and they wouldn't make an exception even in his case
5) the hotel provides a free wi-fi for guests but it's a paltry 128kbps and only really works in the lobby - if you want faster & roaming access, its extra!
6) the pool side restaurant (Los Chozos) has really poor lighting, so if you eating outside after 8.30pm (and you will be as the service is so slow) you can't really see what you're eating or who you're talking to! During the week, Los Chozos is closed for dinner but serves a buffet style menu over the weekend which was great for choice - and as you served yourself, great for speed to!

So overall, this is a resort hotel that fails (in my opinion) to fully understand the needs / expectations of it's guests.With a little tweaking in the areas above, it could be 50% better all round. Speaking to other UK guests who were staying at the same time, we all had children of the same age and chose the Abama for the same reasons - some of us could compare our experiences with the Sani Village Resort is Greece and all agreed that the Abama very definitely came second in most areas. Checking out, our bill came to €1083 for 11 nights and we stayed half-board, had one spa treatment, didn't lunch every day and drank a couple of glasses of wine with dinner.
The weather was great for the time of year - averaging 28c every day with clear blue skies. We also took a trip to the Siam Water Park close to Los Cristianos and it easily compares with similar water parks in Dubai - so well worth the trip - but go mid-week so you avoid the local weekend rush.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Alderwasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guia de Isora
3.1 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
5.4 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#3 of 60 in Costa Adeje
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
3.2 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
6.5 mi away
Bahia del Duque
Bahia del Duque
#11 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Abama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Abama

Address: Carretera General TF-47, Km 9, 38687, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Abama)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Guia de Isora
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guia de Isora
Price Range: $280 - $863 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Abama 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the luxurious amenities from The Ritz-Carlton, Abama. Surrounded by picturesque backdrops like no other, guests will leave with memories to last a lifetime with experiences to follow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Abama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abama Hotel Tenerife
Abama Tenerife
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama Tenerife/Guia De Isora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing