We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best in all categories”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Guia de Isora
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Best of the best in all categories”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Having previously stayed in all of the 5 star rated hotel/resorts in Costa Adeje, at some point over the last few years, we were looking forward to a new experience at Abama, and weren't disappointed!

We were well received at reception with a glass of chilled champagne, and quickly whisked up to our room in the main 'Citadel'. The room was exceptionally spacious with a large balcony with spectacular views over the golf course, the sea and over to Gomera. It was magical! Everything you anticipate from a five star hotel room was there including a complimentary bottle of red wine - a nice touch. Superb bathroom too, with separate shower and plentiful supply of toiletries.

The grounds have been described by others, so I won't dwell on them, except to say that they are magnificent, extensive and lush!

There is a large families pool and a smaller adults only one which is where we located ourselves - it was an oasis of peace and quiet. Late moring we were served with a miniature smoothie and a piece of chilled melon, and the same late afternoon. Free bottled water was on ice at all the pools and the lifeguards were always about and very helpful and friendly.

Service and friendliness seemed to be the watchword of all the staff we came into contact with at Abama - nothing was too much trouble and they never once said that a request couldn't be met. They even did us prawns (not on the menu!) for a starter in the main restaurant. We had a half- board deal which we were grateful for as the prices were very high right across the board. Having said that, so was the quality. All the food we had was of a high standard and in large quantities - rack of lamb = 8 (yes eight) ribs/chops, the beef tenderloin must have weighed in at @ 300 gms, and was succulent, the spring chicken was exactly that - a whole spring chicken spatchcocked and served on a sizzling hot plate. Desserts were also excellent with our favouites, shared between us - Trio of chocolate (Chocolate creme brulee and 2 other chocolate delights) and Mango and Raspberry sorbets. Each night the chef offered a dessert special and on our last night it was creme brulee with honey and Rosemary infusion - I thought I had died and gone to heaven it was sublime!! It was delicate! it was Yummy! Vanessa and Veronica deserve special mention for such hard work and unstinting attention. I would say though that the hotel need to separate out the adult couples from the incessant childrens activities which was noisy and distracting, especially when playing around tables, while you were trying to eat and converse.

Breakfasts were another tour de force, with freshly made lattes and expressos to order. And real champagne as desired. There was a good selection of fruit, pastries, breads, cold meats and fish as well as a very comprehensive egg station. Irta kept all staff on their toes and was very much the 'Rock Chick' in charge!

We visited the Persian Garden for a 'photo opportunity', it is beautiful and quiet up there and I visited the gym a couple of times which is very well equipped with state of the art machines including a spinning gallery overlooking the grounds - around 8 spinning bikes out on the balcony.

Overall, a fabulous holiday. We were thoroughly spoiled, relaxed and ate our fill and were looked after so well. We'll be back next year for sure.

Room Tip: Go for a high room in the Citadel, and beware, some of the villas have views obscured by lush vegeta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,346
    561
    272
    109
    71
See reviews for
850
953
28
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed at Abam Resort from June 18 to June 26 in the villa sextions (2 double room Villas) and we enjoyed our stay very much . The breakfast was outstanding with the highest quality and friendly service . We tried all resturants and all were good and some like the Kabuki resturant was exceptional . The SPA is very exceptional . As for thebeach , it is tehbest beack in Tenerife and exclusive . The resort is very clean and all the pools are very pleasent and the temperature of teh water is perfect .

During our stay in Tenerife , we visited several other 5 star hotels but we noticed that ABAMA is by far much better than all other 5 star hotels .

In my opinion, it is one of the best resorts in Europe .

We can not wait for our next visit to ABAMA .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georg1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

The name says it all. If you are into beautiful landscaping and architecture, great amenities and a gracious staff in the middle of nowhere you are in the right place. The taxi fare from the Tenerife South airport to the resort will cost you around 40+ Euros which is an indication of what's ahead. The venue is golf, tennis, sun and sea and not much else. The bar and restaurant facilities are what you would expect for an upscale resort.

Did not have a chance to play the golf course, but, did have lunch at the club house which overlooks the hotel and course. The course appeared to be well maintained although a bit hilly. There are an ample number of bunkers both fairway and greenside. The greens are generously sized. Although the course is not USGA rated it would appear to play to a 70.1/129. Requested handicap indexes to play the course are 32 for the ladies and 28 for the gentlemen.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HawaiiSportsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed two weeks so got a good sense of the place overall. Hotel was only 40% occupied. Rooms are great, well designed, appointed. Customer service generally very good, efficient check in, concierge etc. Some really excellent staff but a few weak spots management should see to- not uncommon for a large hotel.

Food was slightly disappointing overall. Breakfast offering is very good but there was just no wow factor for us in any of the restaurants and a surprising lack of fresh fish given location. Avoid Japanese restaurant - thinks it's better than it is - sterile, bright. Felt like I was eating in an airport. restaurant. The Beach club misses a trick, great setting but felt it was a lazy offering and staff were weakest we encountered.

Would still recommend though, with or without kids.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JandBster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We've stayed in Abama for two weeks with my daughter (9 y.o.). We found this place beautiful and enjoyed our stay a lot.
The hotel itself is a bit remote from the main touristic locations but for us it’s a plus as we prefer a quiet relaxation. Almost all the time we spent in the hotel since there were a lot of facilities for relaxing vacation. To visit beautiful Loro park we rented a car for one day in the hotel, to other parks (Jungle and Monkey) we got a taxi.
We like almost everything there but I would try to mention some more points that made our stay pleasant:
Location. Abama is surrounded by vast and well-attended gardens. The number of plants is amazing and it’s a pleasure to walk there discovering new nooks of beauty. Near the main building there is a large pond with big fishes Koi and a lot of waterfalls. Once you should visit Persian garden for panoramic view.
Ocean and pools. The beach is not big but very nice covered with white sand. There are a lot of pools, one of them (rather big) for children, one for adults only. Reception staff helped us to find a local coach (Carlos) for my daughter and she took 6 swimming lessons which were very efficient.
Rooms. We stayed in standard room at main building. It was spacious (50 sq m), nice furnished and clean.
Food. There are 8 restaurants and several bars so you always have a choice. Service could be sometimes a bit slow but when I'm at vacation it doesn't bother me that much. Mostly food is rather tasty. Good choice for breakfast; nice restaurants near the main pool and beach; spectacular sunset view for dinner at El Mirador. Japanese restaurant Kabuki and gastronomic MB (one Michelin star) require formal dress code for dinner. At Lobby bar you may enjoy live piano music in the evening. In all the restaurants there is a special menu for children offered along with pencils and paints.
Spa. I visited it once using gift сertificate for Water Thermal circuit and found it very pleasant.
Staff. Staff is helpful and attentive especially at Reception (special thanks to Jenya).
Kid's club. My daughter visited it several times and she liked it.
We usually never go to the same place twice but for Abama we could make an exception one day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnelA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Amazing property, 15 minutes drive from Las Americas beaches, great architecture, spacious rooms and wonderful and efficient staff. Enormous pool, the Golf really looks nice with great views of the mountains and the ocean.
Manager Carsten sure does a great job. breakfast choice is just outstanding.
Rolf, MB, Paris

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RudyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We made this booking one week in advance for a quick anniversary long weekend from London. Transportation to the hotel can be arranged via taxi or through the hotel. I would suggest renting a car with Auto Reisen, the cheapest provider at Tenerife South. It cost me 40 Euros for 3 days. The trip takes about 30 minutes from the airport.

We arrived late in the evening and checked in at the main hotel reception. They offered us drinks upon arrival and immediately took care of the car and bags. I had booked a special rate that included Tagor Villa accommodation (a must), buffet breakfast for two, dinner for two one night, unlimited golf, and unlimited tennis. However, upon check in there was a problem with the rate as they only provided vouchers for one person. It appears to have been a problem with the Ritz Carlton website and their booking system. Apparently, Abama and the Ritz do not have their booking system integrated perfectly?

We were shown to our room which was upgraded to a suite! Villa guests get use of golf carts for use on the property. This is nice as the property is very hilly and spread out (especially the golf course and tennis courts). It was on the ground floor overlooking the pool area (no ocean view). The room was very nice and perfectly cleaned. There was a bottle of wine complimentary with two nice wine glasses waiting for us. We took breakfast at the Mirador restaurant overlooking the ocean. This is the location where villa guests can eat without children. Service was excellent there and the food was good, not great however.

The beach:
I would not go to this hotel just for the beach. It appears that they hotel must allow locals access to the beach. They are not allowed to use the resort facilities but can use the beach. This caused lots of umbrellas and chairs being brought in by the locals. They were not too annoying but it did not provide for a secluded and private experience. We ate at the beach restaurant late one afternoon. The hamburger and local fish selection was good. Price was about £30 for the food (no drinks).

The rate problem solution:
It took two days to get the rate problem sorted. They originally wanted me to pay an additional £140 per night but I refused as my rate rules clearly stated the rate was for two persons accommodation, meals, and leisure activities. Finally, after asking to speak with the resort manager it was resolved. I never spoke with him or her but I was told that everything had been taken care of. While I understand there were issues in the system, I believe this should have been handled very early on the first day of my arrival, not the second day! The bill was correct when I left and I appreciate everything Purifacion Medina, the Tagor Villa manager, did to help.

Tagor Villa Pool:
Purifacion Medina is the manager and did a wonderful job! The villas ladies she had working around the pool were also excellent. I have forgotten there names but all of them deserve praise.

This is where you must stay if you want seclusion and privacy away from children. Children are not allowed here and neither are guests from other areas of the hotel. We saw the same people everyday and felt as thought we could even leave valuables on the chairs without anyone taking them. These villas include soft drinks, water, and beer unlimited throughout the day at the pool. There are villas girls that come around and ask you if you need anything. You must order cocktails from room service and it takes 30 minutes or more. I think they should streamline this process somehow.

There were plenty of lounge chairs, towels, and umbrellas to accommodate the guests. These facilities were much nicer than the ones at the other pools. It was worth the extra money to stay here.

Kabuki:
I chose this as our anniversary dinner. I made a mistake! Upon arriving, we almost turned around and left given the atmosphere of the restaurant. Very bright and stark lighting and colors. No music and children! The service was unimpressive. We did not have a dedicated waiter but rather a team of 5 different waiters who would occasionally walk by our table.

We chose not to order the set tasting menu at £100 each and opted to choose our own rolls. The waiter taking our order seemed a bit shocked that we did not want to eat nor spend that much. The food was good and the portions were ok. The wine list was extensive but if you chose anything other than a local wine, the prices started around £60 per bottle. We expected an expensive dinner but wished the service and atmosphere had been better. Conclusion = eat somewhere else on the property!

Tasting menu at Mirador:
This is the best meal we had at Abama. I would suggest eating out on the patio here overlooking the water. The service was excellent and the atmosphere much better than Kabuki.

Golf:
Great golf course. Not crowded at all if you play in the afternoon. We are not great golfers and were permitted to play alone. This was ideal for us as we just wanted to have fun.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Tagor Villas if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank architourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guia de Isora
3.1 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
6.8 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,609 reviews
3.2 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
6.4 mi away
Bahia del Duque
Bahia del Duque
#10 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Abama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Abama

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
Address: Ctra. General TF47 km 9, 38687, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Abama)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Guia de Isora
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guia de Isora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Abama 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the luxurious amenities from the Ritz-Carlton, Abama. Surrounded by picturesque backdrops like no other, guests will leave with memories to last a lifetime with experiences to follow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Abama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abama Hotel Tenerife
Abama Tenerife
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama Tenerife/Guia De Isora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing