We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice price/comfort and away from mass tourism”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rural Senderos de Abona
Reviewed March 26, 2012

we stayed 2 weeks from end of august to first week of september 2011. We loved our big bedroom with old wooden furniture and a high ceiling. Only reachable if you rent a car. From here we drove to every place on the island, so it was a good choice to go anywere, especially away from the nasty mass tourism in playa americanas and others. The food in the B&B was OK, but I regret that my first choice on the menu was not always available.
Very good breakfast, lot of choice in cereals, fresh fruit and excellent espresso machine! Our last day they made a big breakfast-in-a-bag because we needed to leave early to the airport.
The B&B is extremely charming, with al tiny pool andlovely garden, we prefer this above spik&span rooms.
You need to speak al little spanish because no one at the hotel understands English very well

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank de_wereld_van_sofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 78 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed here for two nights to be both near the airport and the Pirámides de Güímar. Our room was accessed from the garden through tropical plant filled patios furnished with sun loungers and a small pool. The room itself was large (although a bit dark), the bathroom modern and well equipped.

Breakfast was a buffet taken either in the restaurant or on the terrace overlooking the church and a small square.

We ate dinner both nights in the restaurant and were not disappointed, the very friendly, helpful waitress guided through the large selection of fish and other local dishes on offer. The cuttlefish was the best meal of the whole holiday! The wine list (much of it local) was comprehensive and reasonably priced.

Parking was available in the square overlooked by the terrace.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamAndSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We booked the hotel as a place near to the southern airport. We got there from the car-hire within 30min.

It is a traditional little hotel run by a local family. Rooms are small but perfectly adequate we had a nice one overlooking the Calle de la Iglesia. Clock chimes every 15min but happily finishes at midnight until 7am.

Pleasant restaurant with a stove if it gets cold! Food is simple but good Canarian fayre. The rabbit was excellent.

In the morning, you can have breakfast outside if you wish in the garden. With a small pool.

Cost was a bit more than the site suggested but reasonable.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geordie_Skier_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

A friendly family run hotel off the normal tourist route. Alongside a stunning church whose clock strikes only between 0800 and 2300. Outside terrace where you can have your breakfast in the sun and watch the world pass you by. Large well maintained tropical garden where you can pick your own oranges and lounge in the sun. To get about you will need a car. Can catch a bus but not as frequent as you would like. Easy access to all parts of the Island. Good sized rooms and restaurant. We had no problems with getting information from hotel as the towns information centre was closed. There are other good restaurants within walking distance if needed. WI-FI available in Salon. Take a kettle for early morning tea making.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2009

Hotel Seneros de Abona is visually stunning, very full of character, with a lovely little garden and plunge pool. It is set in a normal working small town - off the tourist trail, but facing the main through road. Our room was huge with original furnishings and traditional bedheads and comfortable mattresses. We visited in December and there were few visitors. Although the hotel environ felt very family orientated with family pictures etc we could barely engage with the family as we spoke no Spanish and they spoke barely a word of English. In the morning a large group of staff/family, babies and even the cleaner ate breakfast in the restaurant; also we had to walk through the family living area to reach the restaurant/reception/bar/sitting room/front terrace - so although the waitresses were very friendly and spoke enough English, we felt that something was missing; that we were intruding perhaps? I think that it would have been fine if we spoke a bit of Spanish. The church bells mark time quite loudly but I found this charming and not intrusive. Noise from traffic on the road was not bad. Breakfast was adequate except for pretty ghastly coffee out of a machine. Supper consisted of a limited plain menu, with okay fresh salad-stuff but soggy sad cooked vegetables; after a couple of days we got a strong urge to eat elsewhere. The only other eatery we found in the village is a well established, German owned restaurant. We surmised why there are few Spanish and German restaurants in UK. Initially we found it difficult to find pace to park, but it soon became straight-forward. So although we felt Wow! on arrival, after a couple of days we felt that it would have been good to divide our holiday between two locations.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Just come back from a fortnight in Tenerife, and spent the first week at this hotel. We wanted a hotel that was typically Canarian and away from the masses on the coast, and couldn't have asked for better.
Unlike a previous poster, we were greeted warmly and helped with our luggage up the stairs. The family were all friendly and very helpful. The rooms are very traditional, but quite comfortable. The continental breakfast was geared to suit British and German tastes with cereals, breads, various meats and cheeses, yoghurts and various fruit. We ate in the restaurant a few nights, and here I want to acknowledge Natasha (sorry; probably spelled that incorrectly!) the Dutch waitress, fluent in 5 languages (that I counted, anyhow). She was lovely and very helpful. The restaurant serves Canarian food which was of good quality, although not a huge range of choice, and not to my children's liking - but that's my children's problem! Plain spaghetti ruled the day for them.
There isn't a launderette in town, but the grandmother offered to wash my clothes so I gave her 2 bags of laundry. Only after I mentioned how nice this was to my husband did he look at me with alarm, saying, "You realise they'll charge you for it?!" envisaging huge hotel prices. Oops!! As it happens, my 2 bags of laundry was returned, ironed, neatly folded and shirts on hangers - and I was charged 25 euros which I think was quite reasonable in the end.
I have a few caveats for this hotel. They're not bad things, but just things that may influence whether you'd want to stay here:
I would not recommend this hotel if you have mobility problems. There is no lift (well, it IS old!) and there are stairs everywhere - after all, it is perched on a hill. But nothing seems to be on one level. Stairs to the dining room; stairs up to the lounge (where you can use their computer for free); stairs up to the terrace; steps down to the pool; stairs up to bedrooms etc etc.
The pool is small, but very welcome in the heat. I would just caution that it's not enclosed, and does not have a shallow end. Caution advised with small children.
We hired a car, which was needed really, but it took us 20 - 30 minutes each day to get where 'the action is' in PDLA.
Did we mention the church bells? Fortunately we knew about them from reading past reviews, and having had the same situation in Italy, knew what to expect - it took us about 3 days to get used to them at night and not wake up, but if you're only there for 1 or 2 nights, be prepared for disturbed sleep (or take ear-plugs).
If you like sleek, modern furniture and all mod cons, then maybe look elsewhere, but if you don't mind sloping wooden floorboards, old furniture, and the occasional cockroach in the bathroom (OK, we only had one...) then give this place a chance for some old-world charm.

The restaurant was quite good value, but we also ate at Casa Tagoro (up yet another steep hill!!), owned by an Austrian couple which was so good, I ate there twice! They had a children's menu which was appreciated by my two.

Car parking was normally OK, in the public carpark below the church, but if we arrived back too late, it was sometimes full, and we'd have to park on one of the streets.

This was the first hotel of three we stayed at; each of them very different, but we had a great time here, and I really enjoyed the sense of being in the middle of a 'proper' Canarian town and community.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gilliganuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

We recently spent two nights at this Spanish rural hotel. Overall we enjoyed our stay but there were some shortcomings.
On arrival we checked in and were shown our room: there was no help with luggage and access to the room was via a narrow and fairly steep staircase. The room was delightful - large, comfortable and full of antique furniture with a very big en suite bathroom. However, we immediately discovered that lights and sockets were not working - with one socket sparking/shorting dangerously. Just prior to our arrival there had been some torrential rain and this was the cause of the electrical problems - not uncommon in old buildings in the Canary Islands. We were allocated another room, which we accepted but it was of a lower standard and much smaller. Again we had to transfer own luggage. The room was cold but a heater was available and the room warmed after about three hours. There was no TV reception - also due to the rain. The hotel is next to a church, the bells of which ring regularly throughout day and night.
What we found most strange was that the owners did not seem the least concerned: they did nothing other than ask a member of staff to talk to us. In our case this was not because of any language problem - we live in another of the Canary Islands and both speak fluent Spanish.
Despite the above we would return. The hotel and its owners may have"quirks" but it does not rain that often and for most of the year the weather is warm/hot. There were many positive points: our room was comfortable and well furnished - Spanish antique in our room; our en suite shower room was perfectly adequate; public areas were comfortable and well furnished - Spanish antique in most cases; there was a lovely terrace on which to have breakfast; the continental breakfast was excellent; the staff were helpful and friendly; and, above all, at €80 per night it represented extremely good value. We had lunch in the restaurant on the day of our arrival and supper on both evenings. We enjoyed all three meals. This is not an award winning restaurant: it is a local Spanish restaurant serving basic, honest food well cooked, presented and served - excellent value for money with no main course costing more than €10 when we were there.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inmigrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granadilla de Abona
3.1 mi away
Hotel Emblematico 4 Esquinas
Hotel Emblematico 4 Esquinas
#10 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
114 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Spa Villalba
Hotel Spa Villalba
#1 of 5 in Vilaflor
524 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa El Traspatio
Casa El Traspatio
#1 of 5 in Granadilla de Abona
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Finca Vista Bonita
Finca Vista Bonita
#1 of 6 in San Miguel de Abona
75 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hotel Rural El Navio - Only Adults
19.5 mi away
Dragos del Norte
Dragos del Norte
#1 of 16 in Puerto de la Cruz
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural Senderos de Abona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural Senderos de Abona

Address: Calle de la Iglesia 5, 38600 Granadilla de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Granadilla de Abona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Granadilla de Abona
Price Range: $58 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rural Senderos de Abona 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming rural hotel located in the urban area of Granadilla de Abona, next to the San Antonio church and surrounded by a unique spot on the island of Tenerife. Centrally located but peaceful. 12 kilometers away from el Medano Beach and 15 kilometers away from the Tenerife South Airport. It is a building of 1,850 restored in 1999 maintaining its charm and traditional Canarian structure with exquisite traditional furniture and wooden floors. The hotel has 16 double rooms and 1 Junior Suite fully equipped. Comfortable beds, wardrobes, complete bathroom with amenities, TV, hairdryer, heating and Safe. It has a cozy garden with orange, lemon, pear and autochthonous plants, outdoor pool and solarium. In addition, it has an interesting museum of Canarian traditions, library, TV room and a chapel. Reception and luggage storage. Information and sale of external activities. Coffee-Bar with terrace, breakfast restaurant buffet "El Terrero". Free WIFI Laundry, dry cleaning and ironing service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rural Senderos de Abona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rural Senderos De Abona Tenerife/Granadilla De Abona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing