We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We went back twice in one week”

Tasca Tierras del Sur
Reserve with
Tasca Tierras del Sur is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: CLOSED FOR HOLIDAYS FROM 14TH TO 26TH OF JANUARY 2017
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We went back twice in one week”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Having visited at the end of a 5 day break in Tenerife last year, we went early on in this week off. We were not disappointed and made a point of returning in the same week!
Victor is awesome. He'd even gone out and bought some cider for my picky son for our second visit. He loves to practice his English whilst my daughter and I practice our pisspoor Spanish so we conversed quite merrily in Spanglish.
Astrid, in the kitchen, prepares fresh simple tasty food. It's amazing how quickly one fills up having tapas after each serving. the recommendations for wine from Victor were great and we were made to very more than welcome.
The locals seem to like this restaurant too, always a good sign, and the place was ticking over nicely to give a friendly atmosphere on each occasion.

See you next year!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTrellisN0rthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,050
    98
    27
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing - well worth the drive up the mountain!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

It was 30 minutes from Amarilla Golf. And well worth the drive. This is a must visit restaurant if you are in the south of Tenerife with a car. Hunt this place down and make sure you book a reservation.

We were welcomed on arrival by the owner - Victor. A perfect host. He made us feel immediately welcome and spent a great deal of time talking us all through the menu and his recommendations. He could not have done enough, and it certainly was not at all over the top.

The food is primarily tapas, but it's copious tapas. A hungry family of five were well fed. The food was first class and arrived at the table in good time, each dish nicely spread out. The quality was superb. Children who might otherwise be picky with a normal menu, tried everything and loved it. It was primarily home made and very tasty.

We have been coming to Tenerife for 25 years and never been to a restaurant like this. Highly recommended in every way.

If you want a treat without paying over the odds, and enjoy superb home cooked food, you'll love this. It's more than well worth the trip!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Rustic and delightful”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

The most charming of restaurants with the most charming of waiters.... Victor was delightful! We ignored the menu and asked Victor to bring us Tapas dishes that he recommended. Well his choices were outstanding! Amazing croquettes, cod with mango mayonnaise, garlic prawns (we must smell wonderful today) and oxtail. Honestly I couldn't fault the restaurant or Victor's recommendation for wine too. Dessert didn't let us down either, Dave had a delicious Toblerone mousse and Ellen had a Gin & Tonic jelly.

We will be back for sure, truly delicious and only found because it was number 1 on Tripadvisor, I can see why! Well worth the drive out. Perfect!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Reading the other tripadvisor reviews, we decided to venture to this little restaurant in Granadilla (La Tasca!) to see if we could experience a more traditional canarian experience and we weren't disappointed. The owner is very welcoming and took the time to explain the menu to us. We ordered a variety of food including the croquettes, lamb meatballs with bread, house salad (Tierras del Sur), and pork with an armagnac sauce and almonds (I think?). My husband tried the local beer and I tried a glass of Spanish wine, all recommended by Victor the owner, which were very nice. Afterwards, we were stuffed and didn't have room for dessert unfortunately. We settled for coffee and tea. The restaurant itself is very homey with traditional wooden tables and floors. It was one of our best dinner experiences in Tenerife and we recommend it to other travellers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherM978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful canarian food”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We found this restaurant in the last week of our stay in Granadilla. I wish we found it earlier. The food is very tasteful. Everything is homemade. There is enough to choose from. Either tapas or raciones. Both are very affordable. There is also a great choice of wines to go with the food. Don't go if you expect fish and chips or steaks, but DO go if you love the local experience and want to eat something other than at home.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Therese W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasca Tierras del Sur also viewed

San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife
 
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
Costa Adeje, Adeje
 

Been to Tasca Tierras del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing