We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking, in more ways than one! :)”

San Juan de Gaztelugatxe
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.44*
and up
Explore the Basque Coast
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Bermeo
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breathtaking, in more ways than one! :)”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We traveled here in July 2014. We had seen a picture on the internet of the stairs and put together a trip to Spain with the main purpose to visit San Juan. It did not disappoint.

We rented a car in Bilbao and drove to San Juan (most definitely rent a car with a GPS and be prepared to get lost with with GPS!), it took us less than 1 hr to get there. We parked at the restaurant Enepari and explored the area. We were with two elderly people and the hike to the stairs was a bit much for mother-in-law (hiking poles would have helped!), which was not able to go up the stairs, but still enjoy the view. We climbed the 231 stairs to the top. It is absolutely BEAUTIFUL!!!!!! It was a bit hot and it is a bit physical, but worth every effort to get to the top.

We were not going for the religious aspect, but cannot help but be affected by it. It is a serene and gorgeous place. If you like to travel off the beaten path, please do yourself a favor and visit this gem.

We had drink and appetizers and the Eneperi restaurant afterwards. Very nice place.

Again, we traveled thousand of miles to visit San Juan and we are so glad we did!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank crusana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,279
    243
    23
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth the effort!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This sight is incredible and well worth the trip, which required a bit of effort that was all worth it. I took a bus from San Sebastian to Bilbao (1 hour, PESA runs more frequently but ALSA is half the price.) We walked to Plaza Mayua and caught the bus to Bakio and the driver dropped us off at the top of the parking lot nearest the sight, after joking he could only drive us so far before the hike down and back up the sight. Steep walk down, which took us twice as long to come back up. Very windy and raw, wild Basque beauty. Be sure to ring the bell at the top for good luck! There is a restaurant near the parking lot with good prices and it's a great place to relax when you come back up. The restrooms there are much more pleasant than the ones at the sight. Overall it was one of the highlights of my trip to Northern Spain and well worth the effort!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank lmn361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place to Walk/Trek”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Although I visited the place on a cloudy and fairly chilly day, the place was beautiful to walk around. Travelling by public transport to the place is more complicated so going by car is a good idea. The view of the coastline is stunning. Don't forget to ring the bell 13 times!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NeverOutGunned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Trail is open!! Great hike”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Just visited San Juan on July 4th 2014. The trail is open and there is no longer any construction that we could see. We took the bus from Bilbao to Bakio. (Ask your bus drivers as we could have taken a bus direct to the San Juan stop). If you do stop at Bakio you have the option to wait for another bus, take a taxi, or walk. I do not recommend the 20-25 minute walk as there is nothing special about it. Once you get to San Juan you will have to go down a dirt road for about 10 minutes then you have a 20 minute hike to the top. On the way back, take the bus back to Bakio bus stop and then switch to the bilbao "autopista" bus which takes the highway back to bilbao and it will save you about 30 minutes compared to staying on the original bus.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Arnagas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“workmen still blocking access”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Its a lovely place on the landward side, but you still can't climb up to the sanctuary because of workmen running an concrete bucket ropeway. Seems daft now summer's here. Walk down to Bakio pleasant, glad I found the 2 hourly minibus from Bermeo, as that end would be a slog.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank vicarage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Juan de Gaztelugatxe also viewed

Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 
Province of Vizcaya, Basque Country
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 

Been to San Juan de Gaztelugatxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing