We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice river front hotel on promenade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Puente Colgante
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portugalete
Wexford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice river front hotel on promenade”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We finished a leg of the camino here. A long ugly boring leg through council flats / projects and factories belching smoke and steam skyward. Portugalete was a surprise however. Authentically basque in that there were few if any foreigners let alone pilgrims around the Sunday we were there. We had some great pintxos in a small basque bar before going to this hotel on the riverfront at the mouth of ria Bilbao. Our room overlooked the world heritage bridge which is undoubtedly a curiosity (it has pendulum style platform for cars that slides across to the other side of the river - it is the only passing point). The hotel is clean, has wifi and a lovely terraza that is popular with locals. The rooms are fine and the breakfast is good. We also had dinner here and it was reasonably good also. The service is broadly friendly and helpful.

While one might expect it, I mislaid an expensive SLR camera getting up from dinner only realising so the following morning. It was waiting downstairs for me rather than on e-bay so I am particularly greatful for that.

Please note there is no swimming pool or gym so they are not terrible - I couldn't umselect them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robespierre1798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    133
    62
    28
    9
See reviews for
68
123
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed here with a group of students and teachers as we toured Spain for 12 days. Spent two nights here, and it was HOT! If you go during the summer, be prepared for a hot room. They have AC, but it really doesn't work. Very uncomfortable, especially on upper floors. Try to get a room facing the river--beautiful views. Lots of places to walk outside, whether you cross the river or not. I suggest crossing just for the experience. Costs 35 cents if you ride in the gondola, 5 Euros if you walk across the top of the brigde. I did both, and found both to be entertaining and interesting. Can't comment on the restaurant, as our food was part of a tour package and we ate what they gave us. The service was good in the dining room, however. Very picturesque hotel, but rooms are rather dated. Old curtains and bedspreads.

Room Tip: Upper floors are hot-- try to stay on a lower floor since AC doesn't work at all. But lower flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank she23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberwell, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

What a shame that my room for 75 euro looks nothing like the pictures on the hotel website. The room was clean but the linen and furnishings were on their last legs. A bit like the staff. My husband and I had dinner in the restaurant, and an English gentlemen on the next table asked the waitress (who spoke English) for a menu translation. This resulted in much huffing and puffing. It was only nine items to be translated. Well, seven actually when you take into account that two weren't available. And it was the fastest three course meal I have ever had! From arrival to departure, under 30 minutes. Perhaps a new Olympic event, speed dining ...
It was still early so we had a nightcap in the bar. The waiter was most surly when I pointed out that he had overcharged us.
Fantantic location, magnificent building, just needs new sheets and staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0line_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had a very nice room with a view of the bridge. There was a wedding reception going on when we arrived so they were offering a restricted dinner menu. We had an excellent meal at a very reasonable price. Breakfast was really good. Altogether excellent value and a great hotel for a stopover for the ferry? We were glad we had a satnav as it would have been difficult to find otherwise

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2012

You have to love a hotel that is located at the mouth of the Estuary of Bilbao, on the left bank with impressive views on the Vizcaya Bridge, a transporter bridge, which is less than 300 metres away.

The car ferry is suspended from a frame by wires attached to wheels on tracks above the cabin and moves from one side of the River Nervión to the other (Getxo) via a traction system.
This bridge was declared a World Heritage Site on July 13, 2006.

For a mere 13 Euros you can get a room with such a view.

The hotel is a 3 Star but could get an extra half... :-) Rooms are quite spacious and clean.

As most of my hotels experiences, this was a business trip, I stayed there during 7 nights and would come back for another 3 a week later. This business context is the angle with which I evaluate this hotel.

Breakfast:

Reasonably good cold breakfast cereals, fruit, ham, cheese, coffee. If you want eggs and bacon with toast, you must ask for it.

Service during Breakfast:

Some mornings there was nobody to greet you... I had to go to the bar next door to get my eggs order. One of the waitresses seemed very unhappy with her job...huffing and puffing every time someone asked for something, she even made some comments when a tourist did not understand what she was asking him. Not the best mood to be confronted with in the morning...

Rooms:

Rooms are quite spacious and clean, don't expect the latest in linen and decor, it's basic but quite sufficient. 13 Euros extra will get you a room with a view.
Aircon a little noisy and limited effect!

Bar:

The Gastrobar is Lively with locals and tasty Tapas, though to be honest a more authentic experience could be got from one of the smaller bars nearby.

There is live Jazz on Thursday nights (8:30 pm)

Service here was not exceptional, I guess the fact that I'm there for business and spend A LOT of time at the bar when work is over (I hate staying in my room alone...) makes it easier to spot things than someone on vacation would. I was usually hard to get a waiters attention and when you did, I felt like I was...bothering them. At one point one of them came up to me and asked if I would mind changing tables because apparently the one I was on was for 4 persons. Usually I would not mind doing so, but in this case... with me being the only customer sitting in the table area...I thought he was exaggerating, notwithstanding the fact that I had been eating there for 3 days strait and that you should treat a repeat customer with a bit more regard... He did not seem to appreciate my refusal and his attitude with me changed drastically after that.

For some reason you cant have lunch on the huge terrace they have... when I asked why the answer was...not very clear... It seemed to be some kind of internal rule... So with a beautiful sun outside we where forced to eat inside. Again, it seem's to me that when a client has been sleeping and eating in the same place for over 5 nights, you should be a bit more flexible.

Restaurant:
I didn't try it.

Business:

WIFI is free...but works on and off. I still don't get Hotels that cant guarantee quality Wifi, I mean it is the 21st century here Folks... When you are on a business trip, this is the worst that can happen. I also love it when you go to the reception desk and ask them about the problem and they look at you and say: '' It happens when there are many clients logged on''... as if this was normal.... How about investing in modernizing the Wifi set up? What really made me laugh is when they gave me a cable to hook up my computer to the internet... it did not work. Oh... and if you want to use their computer in the reception: 15 minutes will cost you a whopping 3.50 Euros, 30 minutes 5 Euros and 45 minutes 7.50 Euros. I think that's what I used to pay back in 1997 at the internet café for dial up access...

All in all it was a nice experience, I would come back but probably avoid the Gastrobar as much as I could... every one else was helpful, especially at the front desk.

Room Tip: Get the rooms with a view: 13 Euros extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Beautiful location, and beautiful hotel. Ideal for people coming across from UK on the ferry into Bilbao with their car. Do need a sat nav mind you. 10 mins from the port. Outside the hotel there's a big transporter bridge taking people and cars across the river, quite impressive. Moving walkways outside the hotel to take you up the hill into the town, 2 mins max. Plenty of bars and restauraunts.

Room Tip: Rooms looking onto the river, some have small balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickgosney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here one night before catching the ferry. Very nice hotel with great view across the river from our room. The room was spacious & clean and staff very helpful. A lovely meal in the bar, fantastic value. You must go on a trip across the river on the gondola, some nice bars over there. Breakfast is expensive; but nearby cafes do all you need.
Ferry terminal is a leisurely 15 minute drive.

Room Tip: Shop around & ask for one overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IfieldDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portugalete
0.4 mi away
URH Palacio de Oriol Hotel
1.5 mi away
Petit Palace Tamarises
6.1 mi away
Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ibis Bilbao Barakaldo
Ibis Bilbao Barakaldo
#1 of 3 in Barakaldo
557 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Gran Bilbao
0.8 mi away
Hotel Embarcadero
Hotel Embarcadero
#3 of 5 in Getxo
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Puente Colgante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Puente Colgante

Property: Gran Hotel Puente Colgante
Address: Maria Diaz de Haro 2 | Portugalette, 48920 Portugalete, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Portugalete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portugalete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Puente Colgante 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Puente Colgante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Portugalete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing