We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Garelos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Garelos
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Betanzos
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Garelos as part of a large party who were there for a wedding. The hotel was very well kept, the breakfast included was great and the owners went out of their way to help us with anything we needed.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    43
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
63
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were delighted with our stay at Hotel Garelos. The roms were clean, well appointed and comfortable. The hotel is well situated on a side street just off the main square. There is parking available under the hotel but requires 4 sets of eyes and is not for the spatially challenged. I gladly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGarelos B, Gerente at Hotel Garelos, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are really thankful to you for the review and recommendation. Hope to see you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed for 9 days from Aug. 26th through Sept. 3 and my experience was a very enjoyable one. Facility was immaculate, very comfortable and the management could not have been more accommodating. Look forward to my next visit to Betanzos. Would recommend to anyone seeking accommodations in and around Betanzos.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isidro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGarelos B, Gerente at Hotel Garelos, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review Mr. Barreiro. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, Essex
Level Contributor
82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Located on a side street just off the main square and short walk from the old town, this modern hotel provides ideal accommodation for an overnight stopover, or if using Betanzos as a small-town base for exploring the region. Service at reception was friendly and efficient. The pleasant surprise was the size of the well-furnished bedroom and lounge, including chairs, settee, table, original paintings and adjoining bathroom - far grander than would be expected for a hotel with a 2-star rating. Buffet breakfast was plentiful and featured a range of interesting breads. Only issue was the antiquated TV that received just 3 channels.
Betanzos old town is well-worth strolling around and the square a good place to people watch. Monday night options for eating, when several restaurants are closed, were relatively limited.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prujim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

A very beautiful historic centre, Betanzos is very much worth a visit.

This hotel was a disappointment. We were walking on the Camino de Santiago, and along with a friend walking with us, had booked to stay here for an intended good night sleep, following 3 nights of staying in Albuerges. Our hoped for good nights sleep turned into a very disturbed night, with a lot of noise disturbance from the adjoining room. The confirmed reservation for our friend had been cancelled and she had had to transfer to another hotel, with the associated inconvenience. And a further irritant was that our intention to wash out and dry socks was prevented by the bathroom towel rail not working. The hotel would benefit from new hotels opening in Betanzos offering competition, as it seems that they do not currently value their guests sufficiently, either through facilities and standard of their offer or their tariff.

If you are on the Camino de Santiago, I would encourage Pelegrinos to stay at the new Albuerge that recently opened in Betanzos.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGarelos B, Gerente at Hotel Garelos, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello Andrew3003, we are really sorry because your stay wasn´t as pleasent as you expected. Along these years we have tried to make this place a comfy, relaxed and peaceful hotel, being helped by the extremely good soundproofing of the rooms and floors. But we see that this time we failed: as long as we didn´t received any call during the night our staff thought that everything was quite and ok. We should had checked any noise in the higher floors and we are going to do it from now on.
We are surprised that you add to your complaints the transfer of your friend; because it was solved at the hotel and: 1. We didn´t know that you were together (two different reservations were made). 2 We booked for her a three star hotel in our city with no extra cost . 3. We sent her in a taxi with no cost.

It was a pity that you didn´t let us know that your towel rail was not working ok, we could have helped with a more powerful hair-drier or with our laundry service.

Thank for your review, any comment is well received to improve our service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Tirso, Portugal
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

A small hotel, with nice people. It is a two star Hotel, but it deserves three. It's placed close to the centre of the town, two minutes walking to the lovely historic old town. The breakfast has everithing you need, and staff is very helpfull. They know lots of things about Betanzos.
Betanzons is a must in Galicia, with is old churches and streets. We loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianoBarretoRamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGarelos B, Gerente at Hotel Garelos, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate the third star that you are giving us!! We will work hard to deserve it and find new tips for your next visit. Best wishes from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overloon, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. Some of them will be able to help you out in English as well. Parking garage underneath hotel. Rooms are spacious and clean. Hotel is only two minutes away from downtown Betanzos but nevertheless quietly situated. Breakfast buffet is satisfactory (however without much variation during our 5-day stay). Betanzos is convenient for seeing Gallicia. For instance, you will find the beach in Sada, which is 10 minutes by car, A Coruna can be reached within 20 minutes (and also by train from Betanzos) and Santiago de Compostela is an hour driving (or 3 day walk, should you cosider to do the El Camino trail).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betanzos
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palacete de Betanzos
3.5 mi away
Os Olivos
Os Olivos
#1 of 4 in Bergondo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Eumesa
Hotel Eumesa
#1 of 1 in Pontedeume
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Sercotel Blue Coruna
Sercotel Blue Coruna
#1 of 32 in La Coruna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
11.7 mi away
Melia Maria Pita
Melia Maria Pita
#4 of 32 in La Coruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hesperia Finisterre
Hesperia Finisterre
#3 of 32 in La Coruna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garelos

Property: Hotel Garelos
Address: Praza Alfonso IX 8, 15300 Betanzos, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Betanzos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Betanzos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Garelos 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Garelos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing