We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Colon Tuy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colon Tuy
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tui
Province of Pontevedra, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Spent one night in this hotel it is a nice hotel in a nice location very short walk to many tapas bars and restaurants , the rooms are fine but the bathroom was a little basic . Breakfast was good and plentiful .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travelGalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    65
    38
    11
    6
See reviews for
26
57
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

For walking the Camino, this hotel was just fine. Our room on the back had a great view and updated bathroom (watch out for that slippery bathtub, though) and was very quiet. At first it seemed the room would be too hot, but it cooled off at night. The breakfast was better than most we had on this trip, including eggs and yogurt, just what the walker needs. The breakfast room has a good view, but it isn't what you would call charming, and the 1940s music doesn't help. But the staff was helpful and everything was very clean.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back have great views.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanfrombos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while walking the Camino so was pleased to find a great bathroom, looked recently renovated, good sized bath, separate shower. The room was quite large & we had a good view but it was quite tired, could do with a re carpeting & a spruce up. However the staff were very helpful, organising taxis, looking up train timetables etc & the breakfast was very good

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Not a great hotel, but a good one. Perfect for pilgrims who want a comfortable bed and a satisfying breakfast before setting off on the Camino. Sure, the place is a bit run down but rooms are spotless and the staff are welcoming and speak good English. Our group were expecting a cold buffet on arrival at 23.00, but this did not materialise - possibly not the hotel's fault. Definitely not for a long stay, but overnight it was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrishandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We arrived from Porto to begin our pilgrimage in Tuy, and this was the first hotel arranged by our tour company. This hotel is showing age and deserves a gutting and upgrade. The rooms are very basic and the bathroom was clean BUT this does not deserve the rating it currently enjoys. The carpets had cigarette burns in them and were quite worn in need of a shampoo, thank the heavens for slippers! The walls could use a fresh coat of paint. While we enjoyed nightly weather in the 50's thus no A/C was needed, if it would have rained we would have had to have dealt with a mustiness that defied explanation thus we dealt with the barking dog all night. On the bright side breakfast was decent and the staff very helpful and kind.

Room Tip: Until they upgrade this hotel, you may want to research other choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copiercorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed one night at Hotel Colon Tuy in May 2013. This is very good hotel with the big room equipped with all necessary equipment. The bath room is big enough and equipped with the bathtub. Restaurant is good. The breakfast was delicious, the food was divers and plentiful. It was the very good relaxation point on my way to Santiago de Compostela. It takes only ten minutes by walk to get the Cathedral square and other parts of historical center of the city. The Hotel Staff was very polite and helpful. I believe this is the very good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oleg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Air conditioner was gutted out and non-existant in the room.
Carpets were worn down, constant smell of flea powder!
Wifi barely working; when it does, only 1 person can log in at a time.
Very disappointing...usually ratings on trip advisor are fairly accurate but this is WAY off the mark!
Definitely not value for money - try somewhere else!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tui hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tui
2.6 mi away
Hotel Alfonso I
Hotel Alfonso I
#2 of 5 in Tui
189 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cruceiro do Monte
Cruceiro do Monte
#3 of 5 in Tui
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel A Torre do Xudeu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Parador de Tui
Parador de Tui
#3 of 26 in Pontevedra
204 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Minho
Hotel Minho
#1 of 3 in Vila Nova de Cerveira
787 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pousada de Valenca do Minho, Sao Teotonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colon Tuy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colon Tuy

Property: Hotel Colon Tuy
Address: Rua Colon 11, 36700 Tui, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Tui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colon Tuy 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colon Tuy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing