We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced!”
Review of Hotel Colon Tuy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colon Tuy
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tui
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Air conditioner was gutted out and non-existant in the room.
Carpets were worn down, constant smell of flea powder!
Wifi barely working; when it does, only 1 person can log in at a time.
Very disappointing...usually ratings on trip advisor are fairly accurate but this is WAY off the mark!
Definitely not value for money - try somewhere else!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    65
    38
    11
    6
See reviews for
26
57
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night recently while walking the camino. I agree with an earlier review, the reception was a bit hit and miss but we got there.
The room was on the ground floor, , it was ok, nothing special, there was a massive crack down the bedroom wall, not a good look. The wifi doesnt work anywhere in the hotel. There is a pool downstairs, it is ok, could be cleaner.
There was an awful lot of noise that night, music coming from somewhere so that wasnt good.
The hotel is centrally located so good for going out for dinner.
The breakfast buffet is pretty good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matilda2Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Reception was a bit hit and miss - mislaid our key and gave us wrong code for internet -but were very friendly.

Room was pretty average. We had to ask for the AC unit to be switched on - suspect they save money by hoping you dont ask.

Dinner was disappointing - certainly not michelin one star standards. Very limited choice with nearly half of the items off the menu despite us being the second table into dinner. We were on a half board basis with drinks on our camino holiday but no water or coffee offered and only a quarter glass of wine. Suspect they are cutting back to save money.

Swimming pool was very clean and refreshing and breakfast was outstanding.

My advice would be to have B & B and have dinner elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopeful-Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Hotel in Tui was much better than I had expected it to be. Free wifi was a great plus and the rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfast was really good. Staff was helpful and you are very close to the "downtown" restaurants and the Cathedral.

My only complaint would be this - they have a lounge-type place at the back of the hotel by the pool. The music playing there was a bit annoying and it went on quite late. Ask for a room at the front of the hotel if you are sensitive to noise at night!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel if you want to avoid noise from the lounge at the back of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muddy902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

I've just stayed here for he 2nd time.
Once again I got excellent service from the friendly staff.
The rooms are comfortable, but lack a couple of basics such as tea/coffee making and any english tv channels. However the free Wifi is a nice touch. The breakfast has super fresh ingredients and caters for most tastes, barring a cooked breakfast.
Good value and relaxing.
The secure parking is 7 euos per night, but there is a free car park just 2 minutes walk away and on street parking is possible if you find a space.
The hotel bar / snack bar is cheap and open throughout the day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beentheredunthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

I stayed in this hotel with a friend for the first night of our Camino de Santiago walking holiday. The hotel is just a five minute walk from the center of the town, our room was spotless, spacious and the staff very helpful. The breakfast was excellent - good selection, quantity etc. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank serena047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

This hotel provided exactly what I needed on a trip where I arrived at 11pm, tired & hungry. I had to leave early on Sunday morning to go to work- 30 minutes before they serve breakfast.
It was no problem, I had excellent coffee and fruit juice before I left. The cafe was excellent value and once again fed me cheaply at 11.30 pm and at 4pm on Sunday afternoon.
The room was very comfortable and all the staff I met were polite, friendly and helpful. It does not get better than this at this price range or even when you pay more!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beentheredunthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tui
2.6 mi away
Hotel Alfonso I
Hotel Alfonso I
#2 of 5 in Tui
189 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cruceiro do Monte
Cruceiro do Monte
#3 of 5 in Tui
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel A Torre do Xudeu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Parador de Tui
Parador de Tui
#3 of 26 in Pontevedra
204 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Minho
Hotel Minho
#1 of 3 in Vila Nova de Cerveira
787 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pousada de Valenca do Minho, Sao Teotonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colon Tuy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colon Tuy

Property: Hotel Colon Tuy
Address: Rua Colon 11, 36700 Tui, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Tui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colon Tuy 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colon Tuy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing