We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely superb!”

Restaurante Sotamuralla
Ranked #16 of 21 Restaurants in Peralada
Price range: $34 - $135
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews I was a bit dubious as to what or experience would be like.....

The food was great, the owner was eccentric but nice and he’s wife and the team also
Lovely.

I am a fussy vegetarian and he created a lovely blue cheese salad for me and vegetable angel hair spaghetti... divine.

I eat out at top London restaurants regularly and this is amongst some of the best restaurants that I’ve been to.

Any chef that seems a little “off” is usually passionate about their food and this guy certainly was! Once we started chatting he was a really nice guy.

Highly recommended

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank mesmyth80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 72 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2018 via mobile

Outstanding food and warm staff! A really wide range of dished to choose. I would have chosen all if I had been able to!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Sílvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017 via mobile

We went to have dinner on a Thursday before the Béjart Ballet Lausanne at Peralada Festival.
Nice and cozy place, good food, especially the Sobrasada Rice was very tasty. The Llangostino Carpaccio was very good but too cold.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2015

Perhaps he was having a bad day but the owner/head waiter was one of the most hostile I've encountered in any restaurant in Spain. Three menu requests were greeted with a surly "no"/no explanation (why are they on the menu then?). No hospitality from the very start - just near-silent unfriendliness. The food itself was quite pleasant and well-presented, if a little mundane; the kind of stolid food cooked in Catalan homes every day. The main dish prices (between 20€ and 30€ for a single piece of meat or fish) were absurdly high for this area, and the type of food - and unwarranted. The icy service, the average-but-nice food, the pleasant/snooty dining room, and the greedy prices would have led to a two-star review. But the bill included an extortionate charge for €5.25 for three rolls of bread we had not even ordered, but had eaten, assuming they were the "table bread" you get for free in every restaurant in Spain. That's the kind of cheap trick you expect in a tourist joint off the Ramblas in Barcelona, not rural Alt Emporda. In many good/excellent Catalan restaurants you can get a three course lunch with wine (and free bread) for not much more than 10€ - and some basic human courtesy free of charge.

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank DBTT51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2015

Whilst the atmosphere and decor were very nice the food we felt was overpriced and less than inspiring. We also felt the head waiter appeared bored and unfriendly.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Sotamuralla also viewed

Peralada, Province of Girona
Vilanova de la Muga, Peralada
 
Peralada, Province of Girona
Peralada, Province of Girona
 
Peralada, Province of Girona
Peralada, Province of Girona
 

Been to Restaurante Sotamuralla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing