We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not all I expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Robinie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Le Robinie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Solbiate Olona
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not all I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

I had stayed here before and had a generally good experience. This time, several things were a Pain in the A$$. I got Internet included in the room rate, but you needed to get a new password from the front desk every day, assuming they don't accidentally give you a 1-hour password, which they did the first day. The first day I initially connected to their wireless connection but it was very slow, so I used the wired connection in the room. Well, the same password can't be used for both wired and wireless, so I had to get a new password.
The TV was small and annoying to navigate to get to watch the two English-language channels, BBC and CNN.They offer a shuttle bus to Malpensa/Milan airport, but we found out that it doesn't operate on Saturday, so we'll have to take a taxi (at 30 euros). they explained that the taxis don't take credit cards before 8 am (???) so we'd need euros, but they don't exchange money at the hotel and there wasn't an ATM, either, so we had to walk to the nearby shopping plaza to use an ATM.
The rooms were clean, but had limited clothes storage space. Very few amenities were in the bathroom, so don't forget your toiletries.
On the plus side, the bar in the lobby was very convenient, with a nice bartender and a good selection of beverages (including Oban Scotch, a favorite).
We stayed at the hotel because of convenience to the airport and our distributor, but I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again. It's listed as 4 Star, but I'd give it a 3.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomJab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    89
    79
    24
    12
See reviews for
14
16
6
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Udine, Italy
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Spent 2 nights here for a wedding. It's the usual generic airport hotel. The rooms were clean, breakfast adequate and the staff were competent, though not eager to serve. The tv was annoying as most programs were pay for view and to get to normal channels you had to go through a maze of menus. They have a shuttle for the Malpensa which is about 10 minutes away. They have a golf course but it looked extremely cramped. Other than the airport I can't see a reason why anyone would want to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco-Friuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lerobinie, Direttore at Hotel Le Robinie, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear Guest,
thanking you for your kind comments which will help to improve our services.
Just to inform you that the golf course in front of the hotel entrance, is the 9 holes Pitch & Putt training course.
The real 18 holes Golf Course is located 2 minutes by walk just behind the Club House.
It is a masterpiece by Jack Nicklaus, of 70 acres, considered among the best in Europe.
We are very sorry that you haven't had the opportunity to admire it during your stay.
We are looking forward to accomodate you soon.
Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at the golf resort It is looking a bit tired and needing maintenance We were first put in a room overlooking a flat roof After requesting to move we were placed in a much nicer room with doors opening out onto a private garden area It was expensive for what you got Staff were helpful and friendly very basic breakfast

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foresthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

This hotel was fine for a short stay for business. The food was very good in the hotel, and the rooms were very clean. The golf course looked very nice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2007

Luckily only stayed here for one night! I travel for 70% of the time with work, so get to stay in many hotels, this one is the 3rd worse I've stayed in. Could not wait to check-out. Room was dark, character-less, and walls are paper thin so you can hear everything that is going on in your block of rooms. So getting a good night sleep was impossible.
Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sbullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Solbiate Olona hotels

United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2007

We booked one overnight stay directly with the hotel for a quad room - two adults plus my daughters (12 & 9 years old). Our room was a two bedroom apartment with living room and kitchen with ground level balcony doors to an outside garden. La Robinie is primarily a members only golf and swim club. It appears they rent out condo untis - maybe other rooms - that are not owned by purchasers. The facilities were great. We had trouble parking outside our unit (a gated area) - they called us twice late at night to move our car when we were asleep (jet lag) because another owner complained we were in his spot - I moved the car but there were parking spaces empty all around. We had a lovely dinner in the restaurant while a family wedding was being celebrated. You cannot swim in the indoor pool without a bathing cap - strange requirement of a bygone age. We enjoyed our stay but were greatly annoyed with the parking situation and being rudely disturbed to move our car late at night when there was no good reason to do so. Convenient to airport and quiet.

  • Liked — Country club like setting
  • Disliked — parking situation
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NedHickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2006

Stayed here 2nd week of Oct 2006. Its not really a hotel, as such, its really a golf complex which also has some rooms. For example, don't expect room service, laundry etc. That said, for a short stay it was OK. Rooms clean a fairly large. Great Jack Nicklaus course on site, which means I would be happy to go back and stay again. Good location for Malpensa.

  • Liked — Golf
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thetees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solbiate Olona
0.8 mi away
Hotel D120
Hotel D120
#1 of 2 in Olgiate Olona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.5 mi away
MO.OM Hotel
MO.OM Hotel
#2 of 2 in Olgiate Olona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Pineta
Hotel Pineta
#1 of 2 in Busto Arsizio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Ascot Lodging
Ascot Lodging
#5 of 6 in Cardano al Campo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cardano Hotel Malpensa
Cardano Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 6 in Cardano al Campo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cavalieri Della Corona
BEST WESTERN Cavalieri Della Cor...
#3 of 6 in Cardano al Campo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Robinie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Robinie

Property: Hotel Le Robinie
Address: Via Per Busto Arsizio 9, 21058 Solbiate Olona, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Solbiate Olona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Solbiate Olona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Robinie 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Le Robinie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Robinie Solbiate Olona
Hotel Le Robinie Italy/Solbiate Olona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing