We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Al-Marnich, Agriturismo in como” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Al-Marnich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Agriturismo Al-Marnich
Ranked #1 of 1 Schignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lake Placid, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Al-Marnich, Agriturismo in como”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is first time we stay in a place which is far from the main attractions.
I think that for us it whould have been better to stay near to the lake, since most of our days we spent at the lake. Also, since it is far on the mountain, nothing really to do at the afternoon or eavning.
We had a nice walk on the mountain, but this is the only trail.
The view is really wonderful.
The food is good and most ingrediants are raised locally in the farm.
The rooms we got where very very small.
The owners where very kind and welcoming

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doronn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    84
    14
    11
    1
See reviews for
53
150
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband has been asking me to try agriturismo and I am very happy that I actually said yes, this time round. It was a unique and wonderful experience. We have been to Lake Como before so I agreed to try something really different. Al-Marnich is a hidden gem. We paid 65euros for the room (which is cheap for Europe). Then we had dinner and bought stuff from the farm (total of 81euros). The check-in was a fast one. To our surprise, the room is colorful, spacious and clean with a small balcony to enjoy a drink or few overlooking the mountain. 2 hours after we arrived, we went to the restaurant and had the most amazing dinner during this holiday. Everything was homemade and fresh from their own farm and garden. Authentic dishes and food specialties of the region are really unique yet delicious. We don't usually eat goat cheese that much, but the one that they have served (and made) actually don't have smell and unbelievably good. Unfortunately, I was too full, I couldn't take a dessert anymore. The breakfast was very good too. I can only write a positive thing about Al-Marnich. The owner is friendly but not to the extent that you will get annoyed. He gives you space and let you be. We bought 5 salamis and goat cheese to bring back home. I wouldn't think twice to come back to this place again. I will forever remember the feeling I had for this place. The only regret was we didn't stay long enough to enjoy the nature, the good food and the beautiful area. The pictures aren't enough to give justice on how beautiful the place is.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very comfortable and authentic rooms, fabulous view, friendly owners. the place is quite and beautiful. We were 3 families with kids get 3 different appartments in same building. It was a great stay and it is warmly recommeneded for the peaple that looking to taste a real Italy farm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaBr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We drove 8km up the mountain from Lake Como in the evening in the pouring rain which makes for an adventurous drive. With no reservations & dripping wet, the owners were so accommodating. They had 1 room available which they showed me...I loved the small, cozy, rustic cottage feel. While registering, they sat us down with some excellent red vino di casa and shortly thereafter, an incredible home cooked dinner was served with warm fresh bread...perfect timing! I enjoyed the ambiance and the authentic Italian feel. Breakfast was also wonderful. Fun to see all the animals and the mountain views were stunning. We extended our stay as it was so quiet and relaxing. A wonderful get away in a beautiful area high a top the mountains with amazing hiking. Great unique place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loughborough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent , unique place to stay, rooms are very cosy and well decorated nice and colourful. Very animal friendly defiantly recommend a walk around the farm friendly dogs, cats donkeys goats and chickens.
There is a different menu for each night all homemade, organic made and served with love, real Italian passion!
Breakfast is amazing, homemade still warm loafs of bread, homemade cheese, salami, jams, yoghurt it was divine.
We had a balcony over looking the hills and a beautiful view of the stars :)
Recommend a minimum of a two night stay to Take all there is to see in.
The staff are great we are even friends with the owner now keeping in touch over the internet.
Great experience and will defiantly will be returning soon

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nadia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just fabulous! Fabulous authentic Lombardic food, incredible hospitality, comfortable rooms (better that the photos suggest), great value, amazing atmosphere, killer location just 15 minutes drive from the lake. Fabulous...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ningu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I travelled extensively whilst living in Europe but there is one place that still leaves us pining for more – Al Marnich! We stayed there over Christmas one year and it wasn’t just the fireplace that warmed our hearts. This place is truly magical! Perched high above sea level you are guaranteed of white Christmas. On one side lies Italy and on the other is Switzerland. The Italians call this holiday farm resort an ‘agriturismo’ and it’s uniquely situated as an Alpine Paradise. The dining room was a representation of a bygone era expertly balanced with stone and antique handcrafted furniture. We thought we had been transported back to the Middle Ages.

We were served a dazzling specialty at dinner time as an appetizer. It was a platter of different cheeses, freshly sliced pear with walnuts and a crucible of local honey. How rustic is that? White wine helped us set the tone for the rest of the evening and dinner was a baked delight superbly offered with home grown vegetables and fresh salad. The rooms must be seen to be believed and it was all worth writing home about! Can't wait to visit again. Salvino

Room Tip: The rooms with an open fire are a must for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salvin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schignano
18.7 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#1 of 7 in Gravedona
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
3.0 mi away
Agriturismo Il Talento Nella Quiete
Agriturismo Il Talento Nella Qui...
#1 of 2 in Castiglione d'Intelvi
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Orso Bruno
Hotel Orso Bruno
#1 of 1 in Carate Urio
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
2.5 mi away
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
#2 of 2 in Castiglione d'Intelvi
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
4.8 mi away
B&B Villa Le Ortensie
B&B Villa Le Ortensie
#1 of 2 in Molina di Faggeto Lario
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Al-Marnich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Al-Marnich

Property: Agriturismo Al-Marnich
Address: Localita Marnico, 8 | Schignano (Como), 22020 Schignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Schignano
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Schignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Agriturismo Al-Marnich 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Al-Marnich Guest House was born 18 years ago, in a very ancient original farm (1798 D.C.), That Mr Emanuele Bonfiglio (The Owner) has recovered and transformed in a nice and rural accommodation, in a strategical position, because really very near Como Lake (8 Km only). Al-Marnich is an accommodation (Farm Holidays Como Lake - Italy) near Como City (Schignano's Village - 21 Km from Como City). This is where you will taste authentic dishes and food specialty (Biorganic Food & Home Made Pasta - Vegan & Vegetarian Food Specialty). Availables B&B and Half Board accommodation includes double and family rooms, with some, boasting an original fireplace and/or a panoramic terrace or balcony. The property is surrounded by lush greenery, with a relaxing hiking trail and a small gym. To about 1 hour from Milan (Rho Fiera Expo), to 45 minutes from Lugano (Switzerland), to 25 minutes from Villa Balbianello (Lenno - Como Lake Beach) and to 15 minutes from the romantic lake Como (Argegno - Ferry's Station). More Info...: Free Parking, ADSL Service in the rooms on demand (Free), Free Wi-Fi in the shared area also, hair dryer on demand, laundry service on demand (15.00 Euro) and pets welcome (06.00 Euro x nigth). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Agriturismo Al-Marnich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Al-Marnich Schignano, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing