We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutly fair deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agriturismo Al-Marnich
Ranked #1 of 1 Schignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I cant say anything about the hotel yet, becauce I had to cancel my booking. But I wanted you to know, that they made it possible to cancel even I was to late for a free cancelation by the conditions of hotel.de, where I booked it.

While I read extremely good experience reports about the hotel I really pitty that I couldnt vistit it this time - but the service is very convincing; so I´m sure I´ll stay there someday.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
Thank Hekate187312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 351 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2011

We very much wanted to write a positive review about this place as it really is fantastic. We know, however, that these things don't get done when one is back home. Hence, I'm writing this sitting at the dinner table, digesting yet another fabulous meal, looking forward to another 4 days and nights on Lake Como.
We can highly recommend Al Marnich for those seeking peace and quiet accompanied by a truely charming rustic backdrop. Our dog was welcome here and we've thoroughly enjoyed a consistently friendly service from the owner and his staff. You need a car here and negotiating the winding roads can be a bit tiring. We've definitely found relaxation here which was long overdue...

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Once we had negotiated the road to get to Al Marnich, it was certainly very worthwhile. This is a lovely rustic farm stay perched in the hills above Lake Como (there is no lake view though) with the sounds of church bells, roosters etc drifting through the valleys. The restaurant serves the most incredible home made, largely organic authentic Italian cuisine from the farm's own produce. Just as well as the nearest alternative is not close. The hosts go out their way to accommodate guests and could not be friendlier despite their limited English. A short walk up the road and you are onto the walking trails that traverse the ridge between Lake Lugano and Lake Como.

Downside, it is quite a drive to get there - our GPS lost the road but using co ordinates will get you there and it is well sign posted from the road running alongside Lake Como. There was a single duvet on the double bed which was a bit frustrating and we felt the family room was a bit on the small side as was the advertised balcony. However sitting back outside the restaurant at sunset overlooking the valley with a glass or three of the local wine and these little issues suddenly become insignificant.

Tip - on a hot day, head to the lido in the little village alongside Lake Como where the Al Marnich road turns off.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Good luck if you find this place. I had serious reservations having booked it and never driven in Italy before whether I would find it off the 'beaten track' on a very minor country road. Well not to worry, the road was on my car's satnav, there are plenty of road signs for it and it is worth the drive up the hillside.
We took the toughest route directly up from lake Lugano in Switzerland on one of the narrowest steepest roads in Northern Italy but still made it without getting lost. On other days it was much easier and more signs from lake Como shore road.

The farm is quite secure with large remote control gates and intercom system.
Staff made us very welcome and assistance was offered to take our luggage to our house since the road from the main farmhouse is really only suitable for high wheelbase vehicles. Also coming over was a lovely friendly white huge hairy dog - a hit with the kids.

On settling down, the farm has a variety of animals including more dogs, pigs, geese and hens. They also grow a range of soft fruit and veg.

The food is wholesome Italian food. Freshly cooked on site and rustic. The wine of course was local. We ate breakfast and dinner. Brakfast included a selection of local breads and local cheeses.

The family bedroom booked turned out to be huge. I large king-size bed with old stylish Italian solid wood furniture. Large bathroom (no bath). Up steep stairs led to a large converted loft area with three single beds. But up there there's no head room for adults though and I would not want to use it in the summer as there did not seem to be any ventilation (no loft window!) so could become very hot and stuffy.
Therefore, the kids only went up there to sleep. I also had to improvise to block out the light in the main bedroom as the blinds are thin. We also had a nice balcony with table and chairs. The views from the balcony and really anywhere else on the land are stunning overlooking the rolling hilly countryside.

Room Tip: Worth finding for the fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harvey0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Highly recommended. Had a lovely stay due to warm and smiling host Emanuele.
Excellent organic food and warm and cozy atmosphere. Lovely wine selection.
Rooms cozy, clean. We stayed in room #8 with a very comfortable bed for hotel standards.
Bathroom small, but clean and had room for a bidet. The shower had good power and no hot water issues.
Close to hiking trails.
NB restaurant is closed on Mondays, so you will need to find another location to eat on that day.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KikiKBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

This was our last stop on after a long road trip and it was the best way to recuperate and get away from the touristy scene before returning to our daily grind. The views were breathtaking! The crisp morning air and crowing roosters was a completely different and wonderful experience from anything else we had on our trip. The food was organic, fresh and delicious! Visit the animals and walk in the raspberry vineyard! It's not a huge place and there wee plenty other guest, we felt like it was all ours! The staff was incredibly friendly and we loved every minute of our stay here. The fireplace was an extra 20 euros and the restaurant is closed on Mondays. Eat there when it is open and you will be in for a real treat! Although it met our needs, I wouldn't recommend this for extended lengthy stays or for people who can't sit still very long in general. This is a place to unwind and get away from everything.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerkyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We liked the nice views, the quiet surrondings, and the good food, especially the dinners which are tasteful, and probably serving the best fresh pasta you'll ever taste.
Breakfast is tasty with home-made jams, pie or cheese, but also a bit limited for our four day stay, they should bring some more variety.

We think however that the rooms are a bit overpriced, they are not so clean, little comfort , difficult to store clothes or luggage, and beds are so-so. The garden is, well, er ... not much gardening been done. It is a bit wild, which is a pity because some nice flowers around the house could give some extra touch.

Staff is certainly friendly and hospitable.
I would recommend it for its nature and quietness, but not for a too long stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buck-antwerpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schignano
2.5 mi away
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
#2 of 2 in Castiglione d'Intelvi
120 reviews
7.8 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
612 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
823 reviews
4.9 mi away
B&B Villa Le Ortensie
B&B Villa Le Ortensie
#1 of 2 in Molina di Faggeto Lario
207 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Belvedere
Villa Belvedere
#1 of 4 in Argegno
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Al-Marnich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Al-Marnich

Address: Localita Marnico 8 | Schignano (Como), 22020 Schignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Schignano
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Schignano
Price Range: $58 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Agriturismo Al-Marnich 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Al-Marnich Guest House was born 18 years ago, in a very ancient original farm (1798 D.C.), That Mr Emanuele Bonfiglio (The Owner) has recovered and transformed in a nice and rural accommodation, in a strategical position, because really very near Como Lake (8 Km only). Al-Marnich is an accommodation (Farm Holidays Como Lake - Italy) near Como City (Schignano's Village - 21 Km from Como City). This is where you will taste authentic dishes and food specialty (Biorganic Food & Home Made Pasta - Vegan & Vegetarian Food Specialty). Availables B&B and Half Board accommodation includes double and family rooms, with some, boasting an original fireplace and/or a panoramic terrace or balcony. The property is surrounded by lush greenery, with a relaxing hiking trail and a small gym. To about 1 hour from Milan (Rho Fiera Expo), to 45 minutes from Lugano (Switzerland), to 25 minutes from Villa Balbianello (Lenno - Como Lake Beach) and to 15 minutes from the romantic lake Como (Argegno - Ferry's Station). More Info...: Free Parking, ADSL Service in the rooms on demand (Free), Free Wi-Fi in the shared area also, hair dryer on demand, laundry service on demand (15.00 Euro) and pets welcome (06.00 Euro x nigth). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Agriturismo Al-Marnich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Al-Marnich Schignano, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing