We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and good value”
Review of Gaudi's Rest B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calonge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gaudi's Rest B&B
Ranked #5 of 5 Calonge B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Comfortable and good value”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had the upstairs apartment for two nights in May 2013. The entrance is actually at street level so we only had to carry our bags about three metres - very convenient. The apartment is not luxurious by any means but very spacious (for the two of us) and comfortable. Was good to be able to spread ourselves out, with two bedrooms, a lounge area (with open fire which was lit for us), dining table, kitchen and reasonable bathroom. For my taste it’s a bit cluttered with dusty knick knacks but others may find this homely. Would be ideal for a family staying for a few days who wanted to self cater at least some of the time.

If you stay in the apartment, breakfast is optional, but we chose to have it downstairs in the dining room. Ann Marie will provide pretty much anything you want. We had continental style, but could have had a cooked breakfast. We also had dinner one night. We made our selections the day before from quite an extensive menu. We had pate de campagne, baked salmon with various vegetables and a lemon cheesecake - all home made by Ann Marie and all excellent. Including wine, exceptional value too.

There is not much in Calonge, but this is a good base for visiting the Costa Brava and Girona. There is one restaurant, Samal, within walking distance and there are plenty of others within 10 or so minutes drive in the nearby town of Sant Antoni de Calonge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiekpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lier, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just stayed 4 days in this lovely B&B.
The owners are very nice and made my stay very pleasant.
It is à B&B as à B&B should be. No nonsens and an relaxing environment.
If I go back to Calonge I wil most certainly come back to Gaudi's Rest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Marie R, Owner at Gaudi's Rest B&B, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Koen,
It was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay with us! Like having one of my sons in the house again and you would be so welcome, should you decide to come back and visit us. Thanks for the lovely review.
Ann Marie and Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Such a great atmosphere in Gaudi's Rest, so relaxing and the accommodation was so comfortable, didn't want to leave. I will definitely be going back here again. Ann-Marie and David were so welcoming and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iannnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Ann Marie and David are wonderfull people its home from home they cant do enough for you. would highly recommend Gaudi,s Rest to all a great place to stay. anything and everything will be done for you as this couple go out of their way to make your a holiday a very special time for you. You will want to go back again and again cant wait to see them again

Room Tip: you will make friends for life and keep wanting to go back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Dave & Ann Marie are such wonderful hosts! They hosted our stay for my birthday and made it absolutely special. Ann Marie was up until the wee hours (unbeknownst to me) of the morning making me a delicious cake for me to wake up to before our departure, and Dave made me a yummy personalized breakfast. Even though I was so far from home, I felt like I was with family. They truly create a special experience with their attention to detail and personal touches. They were the most thoughtful, sweet hosts I've had at a B&B, and truly made us feel at home. Great food, wonderful company, and clean, comfortable accommodations. Thank you to you both. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoginimelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalkeith
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Gaudi's Rest truly is a home from home with all the little extras you wouldn't do for yourself. Many thanks to Ann Marie and Dave who were the most lovely hosts, so attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Such a relaxing place, great food, well cooked and great company. A great base to explore this part of Catalonia. Just a pity we didn't have more time to enjoy your wonderful place and hospitality, we'll be back! PS Love the bench.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emily b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Everything that Annmarie and Dave do for their guests in Gaudi's Rest is done out of love. The love of what they do and the love of people. You will make friends for life and be treated to hospitality like you have never known and no request is too big or small. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bogrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaudisRest, Manager at Gaudi's Rest B&B, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thanks for this lovely review ... you know that you are welcome back any time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calonge hotels
1.1 mi away
Mas Rosello
Mas Rosello
#1 of 5 in Calonge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Can Margarit
Can Margarit
#4 of 4 in Calonge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mas 1670
Hotel Mas 1670
#2 of 5 in Calonge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Camping Internacional de Calonge
0.8 mi away
Casa Nickel
Casa Nickel
#4 of 5 in Calonge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaudi's Rest B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaudi's Rest B&B

Property: Gaudi's Rest B&B
Address: 14 Carrer del Baix Llobregat | Mas Ambros, 17251 Calonge, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Calonge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Calonge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most recent B&B in Catalunya, managed by Dave and Ann Marie, with a combined experience of 40 years in customer service, offers a restful haven during travels, a base from which to venture out into the beautiful Costa Brava or a calming refuge after a busy day at the beach, flexibility is our ethos and providing you with a home away from home is our aim! Come to us as a guest but leave as a friend of the family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gaudi's Rest B&B Spain/Calonge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing