We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect!!”
Review of Camping Cala Gogo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calonge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Cala Gogo
west ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Almost perfect!!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights Sep 2013. The hills were not a problem for us, (they really are not that steep, and i am very unfit!!) so don't let that put you off. Staff very helpful, supermarket is excellent and reasonably priced with a great variety. Pools are large and heated, not to mention spotless. The whole campsite is well run and very clean. I admire they're decision not to allow food or drinks in the pools, it's exactly the way it should be. One big problem we had was ants. Most of the pitches have no grass, only a sand and pebble mixture, and we were infested by ants for the 2 days, as well as swarms of flies.

Room Tip: If using a tent, try to get a grassy pitch
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    88
    14
    10
    9
See reviews for
127
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Attended cala gogo with family in siesta 6 home. Site is well run with good clean facilities good pool and well stocked shop with competitive prices. Own beach which again good.
Site not for limited mobility as on a hill and will strengthen your legs over course of holiday re walking up and down it.
Accommodation with siesta was excellent.
Would recommend the site but it is a continental site with the majority from holland, France and Spain. A good family site with good towns close by too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just got back yesterday. The campsite is the cleanest that we have ever been to, it is kept immaculate and it is evident that all staff take a pride in their surroundings. Security is fantastic with guards placed throughout the site especially in the evenings. The pools are kept clean and Lifeguards are on the ball with the rules and safety. The eating facilities were basic but served good food at a good price. The shop offers a good range of food and was very competitive price wise, if you are driving over there really is no need to take items from the UK with you and in most cases the shop was cheaper, my only negative was that having a vegetarian in the family I found that all shops in Spain not just this one, offered a very limited and in most cases non existent choice of vege foods, no Quorn at all. The beach is beautiful, one of the best, clear, clean water and fine shingle, the beach bar is great. The beach gets packed so its best to get there early to secure a spot. There is a Lifeguard at the beach. The sea gets deep very quickly so little ones would need to be with an adult even for a paddle. My daughter became poorly whilst at the beach and the camp owner was fanstastic in caring and arranging transport back to our accommodation. As the brochure says this site is on a very steep hill and it really is, you need to be fit to be able to handle the walking but a transport service is provided to and from the beach free of charge, we were at the top of the site and it was a 15 minute walk to the beach. All staff on this camp were friendly, helpful and had the holidaymakers interest at heart. We booked with Siesta and our accommodation was excellent value, clean, modern and well maintained. Our rep Lynette was the best that we have ever had, caring, bubbly and always on hand. She even ferried those without transport to the bigger supermarkets. Nothing was to much trouble. To sum up, Cala Gogo and Siesta offers good value for money, for a beach holiday in the sun, in a clean safe environment. If I were to offer any comments for improvements I would say that making the pitches on the outer area of the pool into a grassed sunbathing and picnicking area would be a good idea as the pool offers no shade and it can be hard at times to find sunbathing space and an area just for teenagers would be good, maybe a cyber café offering music and teenager type facilities of their own as opposed to the bar area. For Siesta I would say sun loungers at the accomodation would be good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ord2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have just got back from cala gogo (booked with euro camp) and can honestly say we had a great time. We booked last minute with an excellent army discount.

The caravan we stayed in was modern, clean and bright with good aircon and good shower. There were 7 of us in total in a 2 bed sunlight, it was cosey but fine for only a week away. (There is no iron supplied with the caravan.)

The pool areas were clean and well kept, great for the kids. There was a lack of sunbeds but as we spent most of the days chasing the kids around we didn't noticed, and we always managed to get 2 or 3 to share within our party. The pool life guards are very strict I think we got told of 8 times on our first day! no eating by the pools, no floats in the pool ect. The onsite supermarket and bakery were excellent value for money.

The beach was also really lovely, very busy, but well kept and always enough space to play. The sea was fab, lots of waves. There is a path way over a hillside on the beach which leads to other beaches some with beach bars, and truly amazing views. Beware the path does not lead to plaja de aro, which after an hour of trekking to get 10 mins away we realised!

Plaja de Aro is a cosmopolitan town with bars, clubs, restaurants, funfair (right at the end of town), minigolf, and is also good for shopping. It is a fair walk from camp though about 20 mins with cabs costing 10 euros.

The steep hillside was a daily battle for us having two children and an infant to push around. But we are a fit family and coped ok, this is the only reason why I would choose not to return. I also have to add there is nowhere to leave bags whilst your waiting to check in/out, so we spent our first day sat around the pool with three suitcases, 6 hand luggage and a pram! The onsite bars were expensive for food and the food quality was rubbish, with only burgers, chips and other fried processed meats. They don't have a dedicated children's menu meaning you have to pay adult meal price of 9 euros for chicken nuggets and chips! The night time entertainment isn't great either, being poor quality and starting far to late for families to enjoy.

We spent a few of our evenings in the town, and the rest barbecuing food and sitting on the decking enjoying some good quality family time together!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickyG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Cala Gogo site was fantastic. We stayed in a 3 bed cabin which was excellent in terms of layout and amenities. Elouise our courier was great and did a good job welcoming us and sorting out minor queries.
The site itself is very hilly, but has 3 pools, a lovely terrace/bar, and an excellent private beach attached. The only downside was a very poor WiFi set up, even when you paid for it, it was slow and intermittent. I would recommend a stay here.
Would also recommend the on site bakery!

Room Tip: Take a Cardigan for evenings when it can be a little breezy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babschap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We visited the park the first two weeks of July - we flew into Barcelona and drove up the coast which took about 1hr 20mins. We stayed with Eurocamp and as there was only two Reps we barely saw them nor needed to - however they leave a number for you to text (we used when checking in) - the Caravan was a 2 bedroom with a deck and Air conditioning - with a double bed and 3 single beds - the caravan was spotless and perfect for 2 adults and 2 children. Only issue is you cant park the car right by the caravan off the road so you need to take your chances with parking it on the road nearby.

The Site is one of the cleanest we have stayed in - it is on a steep slop but nothing is too far away for a fit and able person however it would be a real struggle otherwise - doing the beach bar to your caravan walk whilst pushing a pram is no joke.

The reception staff are very helpful they ordered 8 seater taxis for us advised us on public transport to Barcelona and when our friends wanted to visit sorted them out with passes (they had to pay the entertainment tax which is 1Euro per day)

The entertainment team are great! There was something for everyone - bouncy castle everyday, kids club, footie tournaments for my son and mini discos for my daughter.

On Wednesdays (I think it is) the big inflatables come out in the middle pool and the kids go wild -every other day however the life guards run a very strict ship - no food at the pool - no balls or floats in the big pools and children had to have armbands on if not in the splash pool. It was good to know they were on top of their game.

The splash pool was heaven - I actually got to sit for a while whilst my kids splashed about - not often that happens however they spent hours in there (we bought huge rubber rings at the shop) and on one day the mini disco happened in the pool which was a good laugh.

My mine moan about the pool would be that there aren't enough beds, the capacity in the splash pool is 20 though on one day there was only 7 beds! And this is the same for the bigger pools - the amount of people with towels on the floor was fairly unacceptable.

There are two bars one at the beach and one by the pools - they are expensive though I expect thats normal.

The supermarket and bakery are very reasonably priced - fairy is 99cents and the wine starts at 1.65Euros - on a par with the local supermarket (we shopped at the Carrefour).

Playa d'aro is a fair walk away and its 10Euros in a taxi - we went there to meet friends - its a busy place, very commercial and worth a visit.

We also did the coastal trip to the next town, Saint Antonia, which is nice and quiet and had a beach with finer sand instead of the pebbles our beach had. I wont recommend it with small children as I had to carry my 3 yr old some of the way which was a struggle.

Last point on Cala Gogo - its almost perfect for families however, for some reason, large groups of French and Dutch teenagers are allowed to camp here without adult supervision. They make the 'family discos' more like raves and the language is disgusting and all in English as they try to impress one another - they try to pick up each other at the pool which doesn't really bother me but I didn't like the fact my kids could hear the 'f word' on a regular basis and much worse.

So its not the park as such as its the people who visit. If your trying to decide between this park and international, next door(we visited it for a nosy), choose this one - the pools are better and the walking is less.

I do recommend you go to this park and Costa Brava is gorgeous - hope you enjoy !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank victhewick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were here last week, (came home 3rd June 2013). Our party was 6 and we stayed with Eurocamp in a 3 bed mobile home.

The site is beautiful, very green and lush with lots of trees offering shade when it is hot. The mobile home was spotless with a big wooden deck and lovely views of the sea through the trees. Our reps were very polite and swift to help when we needed anything, which was only a couple of times during the week. The pools are nice, centrally positioned in the site, one heated, one not. We stayed in the heated pool as it was the beginning of the season, and it could have done with a bit of a clean as there was a tide mark around the rim. The shop was very fairly priced and well stocked and the bakery had a very good selection considering how small it was. The tennis court and football court were in very good condition. Evening entertainment was Kareoke every night, so if you don't want a sing-song, find somewhere else to go.

The town is close-ish, about a 20 min walk away, but there is not much to do there, or anywhere else within walking distance, so you really need a car. The best thing about this place is the beach, which you can get a land train down to, under the main road so very safe for kiddies. The beach itself is lovely, little coves with rock pools and trees on the beach. You can walk to Platja D'Aro via a winding, raised walkway which follows the beach and goes through small caves, great for children and adults alike.

Two things to beware of is that this site is on a very steep hill so be prepared for toned thighs by the time you come home. Also, (and this was a huge bug-bear throughout our stay) the local taxis put the price up once they know you are a tourist. They take the longest routes and hike the fares; a less than 10 minute ride cost over 10 euros. They try to make you take two cabs instead of one, pretending they don't do large taxis (which they do). There seems to be a conspiracy not to inform tourists about bus or train routes, even in tourist information booths, and they push the idea of taking cabs everywhere. With two days to go we discovered we could get a bus straight to Barcelona for 15 euros after paying 125 euros for a cab! This is after being told by tourist information that there is no public transport higher than Tossa De Mar. Please research the transport before you go or you will get stung like we did!

Another thing that caused us unnecessary stress was the Cala Gogo management's handling of a situation they caused. We brought some cocktails at the bar and when it came time to pay their machine wasn't working. They said not to worry, come back later and pay, which we attempted, but the machine still wasn't working. As we left the site in the evening, someone was waiting for us and asked us to pay our bill. We explained that we had tried but the machine wasnt working, so were going into town to get cash out (the bill was 43 euros). As we came back into the site around midnight, the security guard stopped us passing and said if we didn't pay the bill there and then he would call the police. He didn't give us a chance to even stop walking before he said this and was extremely rude and heavy handed. We tried to explain that we'd had to get cash out as their machine was not working but he just kept saying 'its not my problem'. Terrible treatment of honest, paying customers. Whether it is because we are English I don't know, but be aware, they are all smiles until something goes awry, even if it is their fault.

Don't let this put you off though, as it is a nice place to go if you want peace and quiet and a nice time on the beach. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calonge
13.1 mi away
Camping Playa Brava
11.3 mi away
Camping Cala Llevado
Camping Cala Llevado
#2 of 16 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
2.4 mi away
Camping Valldaro
Camping Valldaro
#3 of 14 in Platja d'Aro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Camping Castell Montgri
Camping Castell Montgri
#2 of 42 in L'Estartit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
19.7 mi away
Camping Bella Terra
Camping Bella Terra
#2 of 22 in Blanes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
12.1 mi away
Camping & Bungalows  Interpals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Cala Gogo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Cala Gogo

Property: Camping Cala Gogo
Address: Av. Andorra 13 | Playa de Aro, 17252 Calonge, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Calonge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Calonge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Camping Cala Gogo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 824
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First class camping located on a beautiful beach. At the center of the Costa Brava, between Playa de Aro and Palamos. Many free services such as Mini Club, Tennis, Bouncy Castle, Wifi Areas, Internal Transport to the beach, Volley, Beach Volley, Table Tennis, etc.2 Bars / Restaurants, 2 laundries, safe boxes, supermarket, take-away, chill out, video games room, shows, entertainment, etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cala Gogo Hotel Calonge
Camping Cala Gogo Spain/Calonge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing