We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for families”
Review of Camping Cala Gogo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calonge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Cala Gogo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good for families”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

we stayed in aug-sep last year. 3 families with children from 1 to 16. caravan park not too far from Barcelona. car essential. everything on the camp site. swimming pools, entertainment, shops and a beach. caravans spacious with air con. something for everyone.could do with a gym on site!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kirstymedlock1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    88
    14
    10
    9
See reviews for
125
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in June 2012 with Siesta in an 8 berth lodge. The lodge had seen better days having been moved from another site during the winter but the Siesta reps were brilliant and sorted all of our problems. They even gave holidaymakers lifts to the nearby Lidl and Carrefour supermarkets.
Playa d'aro is a lovely resort with a mini luna park for the kids although when we stayed it only opened in the evening.
Palamos is also well worth a visit and despite being "touristy" its kept a lot of its charm.
The site itself is spotless. very well maintained and with the niceset cleanest loo's ive ever seen on a campsite.
The site is on a fairly steep hill but the upside of this is brilliant views of the sea from almost anywhere on the site.
The Pools are only basic but very clean. Our kids loved the splash pool.
The food in both the restaurant and beach bar was excellent although does seem to be more geared towards Dutch / German tastes. My wife is vegetarian and did struggle a bit for choice.
Tapas in the beach bar was also very good.
There is a free "gua gua" ( land train ) to the beach and its a shame that this doesnt run around the whole site rather than just from the pool area.
The mini club for the kids was brilliant ( my kids were getting up early and demanding to go every day )
plenty of different activities and the staff were very good with the kids.
They also had a giant bouncy castle up most evenings as well as kids discos and water discos.
The evening entertainment was ok but only a couple of nights a week in early June, and then only a disco and karaoke but i beleive they do more in peak season.
The onsite shop was very good and much cheaper than expected as was the bakery.
We enjoyed it so much that we have re-booked for next year and will be staying longer than a week this time

Room Tip: Avoid staying near the upper perimiter ( a street runs behind the site and the houses have noisy gua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was our first time in Cala Gogo, we normally go to Castell Montgri in Estartit (which is a fantastic campsite, can't fault it) We (6 of us...my Husband, Myself, my Mother and our 3 kids age 4,10 & 16) booked with Siesta and it was a nightmare from beginning to end...we arrived late into camp and our Van (which was supposed to be deluxe) was not ready, there was no bedding there (which we had pre-ordered and paid for) so eventually we get to the Caravan and it was filthy having only been cleaned (and not very well) by the previous occupiers, although to be honest I don't think it had even been cleaned properly before that. The dust was thick behind the TV, behind the beds, in the wardrobes, under the table.....in fact, everywhere. Next day we had to ask them to clean it out, because they certainly weren't offering.......after that the Reps ignored us for the week (partly because I had emailed their head office to complain, I guess) So I would not recommend Siesta and will never book with them again......I am still waiting for a decent response from their Head Office to my Complaint from over a week ago.

The site itself is built into the side of, what feels like, a mountain....the hills are horrendous and you have to go up or down at least 5 of them to get to the pool or the shop or the reception or anywhere.

The pools are all together and there are only about 20 sun loungers for the whole camp, no shade from the sun and the lifeguards are a bit whistle happy........no food, no toys in the pool, no fun really....

The restaurant....the food is good, but the service is absolutely terrible, we ate there 5 times and they never got our order right yet...it was quite funny to start with but grated a bit by the end of the week.

The entertainment was terrible, we went twice....the first night was a queen tribute band which was not great (worst Freddie Mercury impersonator I have ever seen) the next night we went for the kids Flouro (glo-stick) disco which was supposed to start at 2130, at 2315 my kids were still sitting with their glo-sticks waiting for it to start.

The next door campsite ( I think it was called the Internacionale) sounded fab we could hear their entertainment every night although always finished by about 2230-0000)

The site was predominantly dutch, I think we were the only british there, which was fine however the kids found it very difficult to make friends and spent most of the time bored.

I would not recommend this campsite to anyone looking for a fun family holiday and we will def not be back........it has actually put me off Campsite holidays (despite having been on them every year to Estartit for the last 5 years and many times as a child) next year, I think we'll try all-inclusive :) as we had to spend the last day of our holiday cleaning the caravan ( which is normal for a self-catering holiday) but the filth we cleaned out of the caravan wasn't just ours..or even the previous tenants. You would be lucky if that caravan had been cleaned properly since last season........disgusting!!!

I would say avoid, but if you must go avoid Siesta!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank BBoysMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Lovely camp. we came back yesterday from Cala Gogo, enjoyed it very much. Pools very nice, beach was fantastic. Love the pool bar, has entertainment there too. The only bad point is the mini train,( tractor) you tend to have older kids push in when everyone else is queing which makes it a bit stressful!! They could do with another bit of seating to accommodate everyone one each trip.
Very much more visitors from Netherlands seem to go there, not many english.

Room Tip: Not for those who dont like a good walk!! Lovely views the further up you are
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is our second time at this park and I have to admit it was more enjoyable than the first time we stayed. We stayed in a 2 Bed Horizon with Air Con & Decking, we were lucky to have what the travel rep called a prototype, it was larger than the normal ones. It had 2 sinks in the bathroom instead of the 1 and the overall space in the kitchen/dining/living area was a lot bigger.
The restaurant and bar were exceptional, there could have been a little more choice on the day/evening menu but that didnt stop us eating there nearly every night of our 8 night stay. The service in this restaurant was 2nd to none, the staff well deserved the tips we left, although I was pretty disgusted with other British holidaymakers who didn't acknowledge the staff at all.
The shop was well stocked and reasonably priced, the staff ever helpful.
The beach was small but lovely, and there was a train that would take us back up to the shops/bar/pool, if we didnt feel like the walk.
Exceptionally clean and green campsite
Platja D'aro is approx 20-25 min walk from this campsite but its well worth the walk with the shops/restaurants and main beach
I would definately recommend this campsite and resort and really look forward to going back again next year

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed here in a two bedroom Eurocamp chalet. Nice clean chalet, pleasant small beach attached to the property, nice swimming pool, good shop. Have seen camps with more family activities but overall a really good deal and relaxing time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Situatedness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

As a family of five, our Eurocamp cabin was great. Located close to the beach, it was easy to get to the beAch to wallow away the time. We went off season around June 6-13,2012 it was quite but as a family it was great. The supermarket was well stocked and we ate local and at times in the close by town of playa da aros. The beach was not overly crowded, but they were little coves dotted nearby if you walked along the coastal tracks. There are two large pools for use and the mini club was ok. We even went next door to camping international for some meals and their mini club since it was so quite!
Taxi cost to playa da aros wee about 10 euros one way. Walking into town takes about 40 minuteS with a 4 year in tow. Taxi to Palamos the other town cost about 20 euros. The aqua diver is a must for the family but pack a picnic as everything cost! Public transport is not that regular so don't depend on it

If you are gonna arrive and just squat at the site, then it has all the necessary amenities to keep everyone entertained.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank my1stmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calonge
13.1 mi away
Camping Playa Brava
11.3 mi away
Camping Cala Llevado
Camping Cala Llevado
#2 of 16 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.4 mi away
Camping Valldaro
Camping Valldaro
#3 of 14 in Platja d'Aro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Camping Castell Montgri
Camping Castell Montgri
#2 of 42 in L'Estartit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
19.7 mi away
Camping Bella Terra
Camping Bella Terra
#2 of 22 in Blanes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
12.1 mi away
Camping & Bungalows  Interpals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Cala Gogo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Cala Gogo

Property: Camping Cala Gogo
Address: Av. Andorra 13 | Playa de Aro, 17252 Calonge, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Calonge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Calonge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Camping Cala Gogo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 824
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First class camping located on a beautiful beach. At the center of the Costa Brava, between Playa de Aro and Palamos. Many free services such as Mini Club, Tennis, Bouncy Castle, Wifi Areas, Internal Transport to the beach, Volley, Beach Volley, Table Tennis, etc.2 Bars / Restaurants, 2 laundries, safe boxes, supermarket, take-away, chill out, video games room, shows, entertainment, etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cala Gogo Hotel Calonge
Camping Cala Gogo Spain/Calonge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing