We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful & Peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Parador de Vic-Sau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador de Vic-Sau
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vic
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in June. Lovely location (room with balcony overlooking the lake a big plus). Clean, comfortable and well-equipped rooms. Good restaurant and the usual excellent parador breakfast. Walk to the monastery made for a delightful morning. Staff were particularly deserving of praise - friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony overlooking lake make the most of the location, but the main hotel terrace also o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjb29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    189
    60
    15
    4
See reviews for
88
284
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Balcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

On First impressions, this Property looks good, but as one looks in depth at the whole spectrum of the layout, the facilities, the lift location and the position of the terrace one soon begins to realise that whoever designed it made several mistakes.

The main building is surrounded by a one way road so cars enter and park directly in front of the building, which also happens to be where the only external terrace is located. This means that whilst you are sipping a drink and admiring the views you may also watch fellow guests arriving and departing and manhandling their own luggage as the Hotel does not provide a Porter service.

The terrace itself is long and narrow and when busy, the one and only Barman has his work cut out running backwards and forwards. Also with this layout, when somebody starts smoking in the line of tables, everybody gets to enjoy the smoke as the wind blows along the terrace.

I would add that there is a 15% surcharge for Food and drinks taken on the Terrace. Of course, if you wish to avoid the smoke and save 15%, you may take your food and drinks in the Bar area. This area comprises cheap looking rectangular Kitchen Tables from the 1970's and a number of circular tables with strange semi circular chairs finished in a drab yellow beige colour which contrasts nicely with the beige and brown chequered floor tiling. The whole room is set of with some huge tubular lampshades which dangle from the ceiling.

The Bar area leads onto the main Dining room which is not too bad and we had no complaints about the food. On one evening we tried the tasting menu which had some interesting surprises. It would have been useful to have the English menu translated into English.

The Bedrooms are ok but nothing special. We had a four poster Bed. Yes you get four posts and a rectangular frame at the top. That is all you get !

The Hotel is understaffed but the staff seem to do their best. One friendly waiter even made a joke of the lack of staff insomuch as when a large coach party arrived he said he might possibly get a helper as he was serving the entire Restaurant on his own.

The corridor windows at the rear of the building have nice thick curtains which do a job in obscuring the view of the back road, dustbin storage area, ventilation ducting and a whole hosts of other delight. It is well worth a peep behind the curtains to see this view, although if you forget, you will see it all as you leave the property via the roadway which runs around the back.

The walk to the Monastary is not to be recommended unless you are a seasoned Hiker. It is worth a visit which is a plus even if you take a car to get there..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyMus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Had a lovely four night stay at the Parador Vic- Sau in August 2012. On arrival we were offered an upgrade to a beautiful room with a view! The terraced balcony was perfect for enjoying the panaramic view and enjoying both the early morning sun and the twinkling moonlight! The room was first class with an adjoining luxurious bathroom and toiletries.
Breakfasts were a delightful array of tastes catering for all visitors with good service. The evenings began following relaxing days swimming in the super pool and lounging in the garden area, with cocktails served on the outside terrace. The setting was so perfect we ate there on a well dressed table with an attentive server each evening.
The food was very good and we particularly enjoyed the tasting menu!
A very enjoyable stay. The hotel was easy to find yet delightfully isolated! The town of Vic is also worth a visit, great character.
Looking forward to the next time!

Room Tip: The Parador booking service is very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Level Contributor
185 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was our third visit to this Parador, and I must admit that I cannot go along with some of the negative comments from a few conttributors. Admittedly the exterior of the Parador is not particularly attractive, and the Dining Room could be made a lot better by fitting different lights and putting candles on the tables - but on each visit, we have found the staff friendly and attentive, and the food excellent. We were fortunate in having hot weather during our stay, so we were able to dine on the terrace each night.

When booking, we asked for a room with a terrace, overlooking the lake, and we felt that this was worthwhile. At no extra charge, they can serve your breakfast in your room, so we had it on our terrace each morning.

Wi-Fi is also free of charge.

The pool area is delightful - plenty of room to relax and plenty of sunbeds for everyone - and an attentive member of staff.

If you are keen on walking, there is a lovely walk through the woods to the monastery - it takes about an hour in each direction, and parts are fairly strenuous. There are views of the lake at times. Otherwise, it takes about 5 minutes to drive to the monastery.

The town of Vic is also worth a visit.

We thoroughly enjoyed our return visit, and it certainly won't be the last!

Room Tip: Book a room with a terrace overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalellaDePalafrugell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This Parador has little else to offer other than a stunning view if you pay for the rooms at the front. But it is handyish if travelling up to Barcelona or Girona airport.

The location, as others have commented, is beautiful. Our room was very comfortable. We ate in, which normally we avoid at Paradors, the food was fine, the dining room felt like a canteen, terrible lighting and lacking in atmosphere.

Just wish Paradors would not charge so much for breakfasts and all extras like parking at some places. Feel that the marketing, promotion and organisation of them could do with a bit of an overhaul. Mostly they are wonderful and worth the extra.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kesEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We arrived tired but were inspired with wonderful bedroom views onto reservoir. Enjoyed dip in pool - keep in mind it closes earlier. Lovely setting. If you want to play tennis you will need to have your own rackets. The lobby stained glass ceiling is lovely. Relaxing few days

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jostony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed there one night - really great experience because of the location. The view is incredible, and worth the night because this place IS unique. The staff was great, and the visit of the monastery great too.
The room is good, not great, clean but nothing special.
One thing: the food is absolutely awful. We ordered an appetizer that was dry vegetable, then the meat was dry and greasy, and the fish smelled like a fish market and tasted bad. Makes you feel bad spending 70 euros on this food. Since there are not many options around, and the view is so great, stay there, and eat at the bar- it won't be great but at least it will be cheaper! (even though the bar food is expensive which is why we first decided on the restaurant)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetotravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vic
6.4 mi away
NH Ciutat de Vic
NH Ciutat de Vic
#2 of 6 in Vic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
13.9 mi away
Husa Sant Bernat
Husa Sant Bernat
#1 of 4 in Montseny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel J. Balmes Vic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Montanya Hotel & Lodge
4.1 mi away
Hotel Torre Marti
Hotel Torre Marti
#2 of 2 in Sant Julia De Vilatorta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mas Albereda
Mas Albereda
#1 of 2 in Sant Julia De Vilatorta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Vic-Sau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Vic-Sau

Property: Parador de Vic-Sau
Address: Carretera de Tavernoles Km 10 (BV-5213), 08500, Vic, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Vic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Vic-Sau 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in one of the loveliest parts of the Osona district, with the Guillerías Mountains in the distance and Sau Reservoir at its feet. The Parador reflects the traditional style of a Catalan country house. Its beautifully maintained garden, superior guest rooms with balconies and a magnificent seasonal swimming pool with views of the exceptional landscape make this a wonderful place to get away from it all and relax. The tranquil surroundings are perfect for nature and adventure sports. You can also visit Barcelona. This is the closest Parador to the Catalan capital (82 kilometers by car), allowing you to make the short journey from the hotel for day trips to the cosmopolitan city.In addition to excursions to nearby sights like Sau Reservoir and Casserres Monastery, the town of Vic is well worth a visit. Its old quarter will transport you back in time, where you will discover such treasures as the Roman temple, city walls and cathedral.The beauty of the Parador and its surrounding area, its exquisite cuisine and proximity to lovely Barcelona, together with the peaceful natural setting, make this an exceptional place that is sure to fascinate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parador de Vic-Sau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Vic-Sau Hotel Vic
Parador De Vic-Sau Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing