We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite 3 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seminari Allotjaments
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

After such a high TripAdvisor rating, we were disappointed with this hotel.

With nice modern design, the bathroom was a huge problem. It was designed just to watch it, not to use it. For a hotel claiming three stars you could expect a hairdryer in. But it was not. The shower stopped automatically after a while, no matter if you use it or not, you have to open it again, just like on a public beach. The shower head was attached to the wall, not removable. There were no hooks to hang anything in the bathroom at all. Yes, these are things that may spoil your stay in the hotel.

Also, there are very (I mean, VERY) long corridors to get to your room and to the dining room. (The dining room itself is OK.)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 116 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

Easily found with use of sat nav. Huge building with lots of charachter, hotel rooms are fairly roomy with a large walk in shower and plenty of space for hanging clothes. Our room was a fairly long walk from reception. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice, enjoyable as long as you don't mind dining with some of the students. Hotel within walking distance of the main square and shopping areas. Secure car parking at a cost of 6 euros a day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Fascinating place. It's a huge building in it's own grounds. Part of it is a seminary, the rest is subdivided in to units for businesses, conferences and all manner of other things - even a primary school!
It's so large however, that you have little idea that anyone else is there.
As other reviewers have said, you can't really fault the place. Super-modern individual units/rooms with sparkling fixtures and fittings. We had a very quiet nights sleep on firm beds. The breakfast had an excellent selection.
Be aware though, if you want local character and genial chat from a friendly Catalunyan host, you'll not get it here. It's too slick - some might say soulless.
My 2 small criticisms:
1. For those with cars it's not clear that the hotel is at the top of the seminary car park (which is clearly visible from the road). There are no signs on the road, or even at the front door.
2. They charge for parking at 6 euros a night. My advice is to pass the car park on your right and take a right at the lights. There's free parking on the road along there(and even a little cut-through footpath that leads up to the seminary)
It's a 10 minute walk to the main square. All in all, great value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esmechops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

After reading the 2 recent comments we were really looking forward to the visit and wasn't disappointed.
Beautiful hotel lovely staff, can't say anything bad at all.
Didn't get to sample the breakfast has we enjoyed our night that much in Vic (all the towns people were so friendly and spoke English quiet well, we got to practice our Spanish on them also) we woke up 30mins late (breakfast was served early 730-930).
Perfect night

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cadiza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

It took me a while to find the hotel, as I was expecting some small, cheap place, but it is indeed the huge Seminari. Reception were most helpful. The building has been converted into a hotel in part. The rooms are very modern, minimalist in design - quite elegant - and struck me as Japanese in influence. Good airconditioning and nice bathroom. Everything was new and spotlessly clean. This is a very modern hotel in a traditional building. Breakfast was a little like going back to halls of residence at university, but the food was good. The hotel is few minutes walk from the historical centre of Vic (an amazing beautiful square, amongst other things). For €40 a night, including breakfast, this was a reall bargain. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickKhobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I made the choice of staying here for 1 night based on Bicholisto’s description, and it was exactly how he described it. We loved the entire stay here and the half board worked out great for us. After dinner we took a 10min walk to the town square , which at 10pm, was still lively. The students at the front desk were very friendly and helpful with information. From here we head to Montserrat, and the view of the Mountain on the way was impressive and beautiful, coming through Manresa.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chitowndad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Definitely an unusual choice and maybe not for everyone, but for 76 euros half board for 2 it represents remarkable value for money. Our upper floor room was extremely new, extremely clean, had free internet, and was rather spartan, with two small (but comfortable) single beds and views out over the surrounding hills. Oh and a large reproduction of part of a Romanesque fresco depicting the bloody beheading of a Christian martyr hanging above the bed. Breakfast and evening meal are served buffet style, in a large eating area with big circular tables more suited to a round table discussion about papal infallibility than a romantic night out, but the evening food was perfectly edible and the breakfast really quite good. The Seminary is a 10 minute walk from lively and attractive Vic town centre, and to sample a slightly more decadent ambience we recommend the friendly Casino bar (cross the town square diagonally and exit it to find the Casino on your left).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bicholisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vic
6.2 mi away
Parador de Vic-Sau
0.8 mi away
Hotel Can Pamplona
0.2 mi away
Hotel J. Balmes Vic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
UP Rooms Vic
UP Rooms Vic
#2 of 6 in Vic
195 reviews
9.1 mi away
Montanya Hotel & Lodge
3.7 mi away
Mas Albereda
Mas Albereda
#1 of 2 in Sant Julia De Vilatorta
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seminari Allotjaments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seminari Allotjaments

Address: Ronda Francesc Camprodon, 2, 08500, Vic, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Vic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vic
Price Range: $76 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seminari Allotjaments 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This converted seminary is just 5 minutes’ walk from Vic’s charming Old Town. It offers modern, air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi, a flat-screen TV and a private bathroom.Seminari Allotjaments’ buffet restaurant serves traditional Catalan food. There is a large dining room, a snack bar and vending machines for snacks and drinks.Seminari Allotjaments has a library and a chapel within its charming grounds. Staff at the 24-hour reception can provide information about what to see and do in Vic.Vic’s train station and its main square are around 10 minutes’ walk from the Seminari. A shuttle service is available to Barcelona's El Prat Airport, located 50 minutes’ drive away. You can drive to central Barcelona in just over an hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Seminari Allotjaments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seminari Allotjaments Vic, Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing