We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach view, so-so food”

restaurante la ferradura
Ranked #24 of 64 Restaurants in Alboraya
Price range: $50 - $114
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ashton,MD
Level Contributor
145 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great beach view, so-so food”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We ended up at La Ferradura based on some lukewarm recommendations from local Valencianos, but we wanted to eat at a palce on the beach. It was interesting that most Valencianos we talked to discouraged us from eating paella at the beach restaurants. My reaction to La Ferradura: a very modern glass-and-crystal restaurant that promises more than it delivers. More money spent on looks than the food. The prices weren’t necessarily high, but neither was the quality. The paellas weren’t bad, but neither did these live up to other paellas we’d had around Valencia. The salads – a bit pricey - were better than the paellas. While we didn’t have any appetizers, the prices seemed high. Our waiter was efficient, but rather cold and formal for lunch in a restaurant on a beach promenade. In short, a routine meal. Given the quality of restaurants in Valencia, no good reason to return. Perhaps La Ferradura was better in its days as a chiringuito. Two plusses: great views of the beach and a nice play area for the little ones.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blackdoghill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    81
    63
    42
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jávea, Castilla-La Mancha, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stay away from this one!”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

If ever there was a complete ripoff restaurant in Valencia - this is it!

The food is mediocre, the surroundings cheap and uninspiring and the service is plain rude.

The chef seems unable to cook anything without covering it in a thick layer of salt, which might be covering up worse things of course, but certainly makes for a rather tasteless meal. In general though, even good food wouldnt rescue the weirdly oppressive and negative atmosphere in this restaurant - or make up for a service so rude and substandard you wouldnt put up with it at McDonalds. To top if all off, the prices at this horrible place are more expensive than almost anywhere else in Valencia

With so many gorgeous meals to be found in Valencia, you have hundreds of better options than this one

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank MSvensgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best views and rates in Valencia beach”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Ok, La Ferradura is not in Valencia, but in Alboraya's beach (named Patacona), the favourite one for those who, like me, live in the city of Valencia, as It's much calmer and less crowded than the neighbohouring beach of Malvarrosa.

I know many of the restaurants in the area so I decided to try this one, as a friend from work (also from Valencia) told me that the rice is very well prepaired and the price is good value for money. Now I am able to tell you that all these recommendations are true and that Ferradura is from now on my favourite paella restaurant with the best views to the sea.

Yes, "the best views". If you visit Ferradura and you reserve a table on the terrace, on the first row of tables closest to the sea, (there might be 15 or so tables on that row) and far away of the playground area for children (which is also on the terrace), you will enjoy the best views of the sea. The tables are very neatly set and the terrace is fresh, so remember to take a cardigan or a scarf with you, if you happen to wear a summery dress.

And as for the price...I've been eating today there with my family and we payed 23€ each for two starters, a paella for four, a couple of jars of beer and coffees. Great rate fot that location!!

A very last piece of advice...If you go to Ferradura (and I truly advice you to do so), remember that there are very few parking places available, so take your time and don't expect to park next to the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank evalero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just horrible! YUK”
Reviewed June 3, 2011

A very overrated place with a clinical atmosphere and unobliging staff. We felt very uncomfortable being in this restaurant. Food was average (too salty for me) staff are skilled in never catching your eye and generally looking miserable. A very expensive lunch for a view of sun bathers and a wilted palm tree! Much nicer restaurants on the seafront further north up the coast. Maybe it was a great place to go years ago but now it's not worth the bother.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank LunchingLadiesVLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not a happy experience!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

La Ferradura is not a place to go unless you want to do 100% what you are told. We had arranged for our wedding to take place at La Ferradura but after we had signed a contract and paid our deposit they changed the conditions a number of times before canceling all together on the Wednesday before a Saturday wedding. Despite being arranged 4 months ago, Pepe the manager decided he wanted to change the cost, the time, the room, the flowers and the payment date before finally deciding he was going to cancel the wedding. My now wife and I had bent over backwards for the changes inflicted on us until five days before the wedding he sent an email saying he was running out of patience with us and from now on we were going to do things his way. This included us needing to find the €4000 owed to him within two days, he even gave us a deadline of 6pm on the Wednesday.

La Ferradura is a place that people should avoid at all costs. Putting money into this morally (and it seems legally too) corrupt business is not advisable in such a beautiful City where other options are so readily available!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
13 Thank valenciablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed restaurante la ferradura also viewed

Alboraya, Province of Valencia
Alboraya, Province of Valencia
 
Alboraya, Province of Valencia
Alboraya, Province of Valencia
 

Been to restaurante la ferradura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing