We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
105
25
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
25
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rhine valley a standard double room breakfast room modern hotel rooms are spacious excellent breakfast free wifi rheinsteig receptionist renovation german luggage pillows
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 135 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Large rooms away from traffic and rail noise (important to consider in the more popular waterfront places - the train skirts the river); pay as you go wine supply in the breakfast room for economical group evenings; can walk to the river boats in 5 minutes, has a/c (in case) and good internet, elevator to the parking lot, friendly, English-speaking staff. A car is advisable.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The hotel is very new so the rooms are very modern and comfortable. The bathroom is beautiful and ample. The beds very comfortable (even the fold out bed), and we had access to a terrace with a beautiful view of the hills. We were the only guests on the third floor so we had the terrace to ourselves. I do not know how it is when there are other guests because there are no divisions in between rooms. Only downside of the third floor rooms is that the elevator only goes up to the second floor so you have to carry your bags up one floor, not a big deal.

Even though it is not a popular spot on the Rhine valley, it is a perfect place to use as a hub for visiting the other towns and castles. You have two car ferries that take you to the other side of the Rhine, and they run every 15 or 20 minutes.

The only con is the Internet (and we depended on it for communication because we were not paying international roaming). The woman at the front desk when we arrived (not Lisa) only gave us one access code, and we later realised it would work for only one thing - so if I was online, my mother couldn't connect. Or if I was using my phone, I could not connect my iPad... The next day Lisa gave us extra codes. I guess the first lady could have told us... She also didn't help us giving us an extra soap bar - her excuse: the rooms had liquid soap in the shower, however my dad only uses soap in a bar and the one they gave us was tiny, it didn't even last a day (another con).

The breakfast is very good and the service is very good, especially Lisa at the front desk, she is very very sweet and helpful. The girls at breakfast were very nice too. Although we never had anything from it, they have an honour bar with snacks and drinks, including many types of wine for the guests to enjoy. I would definitely return!

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This nice hotel near the river Rhine opened about a year ago. Over the years we stayed in many different hotels all over Europe, but never saw such outstanding facilities for disabled. There's no doubt that we will come back soon.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

beautiful rooms, we had a room with a nice terrace, very friendly staff, nice breakfast (if the weather is good, you can sit outside); you can serve yourself during the day/night : there is coffee/tea and of course good wine

Room tip: the room with the terrace, at the side, are very good and quiet
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tineke-en-Bert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

During a group tour we stayed in this converted elementary school for two nights while enjoying castle exploring along the historic Rhine valleys. This recently opened "school-hause" was surprising in both the quality and the comfort of this unique concept. Although slightly downriver from the normal tourist route this delightful "Schulhaus" was a highlight of our visit. The rooms and facilities were absolutely spotless in cleanliness and the beds perfect. The modern decor and large bathrooms were delightful. The staff was extremely helpful and took great pride in offering the best accommodations and a chance to visit their delightful town. A local wine greeting by the hotel manager was a nice touch. The breakfast was one of the best during our tour and the morning staff were exceptionally kind to us "let-lagged" travelers who wandered in for espresso a bit early. The wine estate Altenkirch is a partner company nearby and offered a terrific dining experience and great wine tasting. The surrounding town offers quiet solitude and a friendly attitude that welcomes guests.
If you are exploring the castles or hiking in the local area this "Gem of the Rhine" is not to be missed.

Room tip: The normal standard class rooms were excellent although upscale rooms are available.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akflyer130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews