We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service at this lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Im Schulhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Im Schulhaus
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lorch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Im Schulhaus during our wedding celebrations at the end of July with 60 of our guests. I cannot speak highly enough of the staff at this hotel who led by the manager 'Suzanne' could not have made our experience more pleasurable. They were extremely hard working and ensured our guests' every need was catered to. From arranging taxi's to hairdresser appointments, and in return every single one of our guests commented on how great they thought the hotel was. The rooms are impeccably clean and comfortable. The decor is very modern and the rooms are spacious. Breakfast is fabulous.

We had been planning to house our guests here for a year and had stayed here on 4 other occasions whilst planning our wedding. The fantastic quality of service was reproducible with each visit! We have stayed in each of the different types of room (all perfect) and during this most recent stay had the pleasure of staying in the honeymoon suite. The hotel decorated the room with rose petals to welcome us back on our wedding day and gave us with a complimentary bottle of bubbly which was a lovely surprise.

Once again I really cannot emphasise how great this place is.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 116 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

Large rooms away from traffic and rail noise (important to consider in the more popular waterfront places - the train skirts the river); pay as you go wine supply in the breakfast room for economical group evenings; can walk to the river boats in 5 minutes, has a/c (in case) and good internet, elevator to the parking lot, friendly, English-speaking staff. A car is advisable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank siestanow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The hotel is very new so the rooms are very modern and comfortable. The bathroom is beautiful and ample. The beds very comfortable (even the fold out bed), and we had access to a terrace with a beautiful view of the hills. We were the only guests on the third floor so we had the terrace to ourselves. I do not know how it is when there are other guests because there are no divisions in between rooms. Only downside of the third floor rooms is that the elevator only goes up to the second floor so you have to carry your bags up one floor, not a big deal.

Even though it is not a popular spot on the Rhine valley, it is a perfect place to use as a hub for visiting the other towns and castles. You have two car ferries that take you to the other side of the Rhine, and they run every 15 or 20 minutes.

The only con is the Internet (and we depended on it for communication because we were not paying international roaming). The woman at the front desk when we arrived (not Lisa) only gave us one access code, and we later realised it would work for only one thing - so if I was online, my mother couldn't connect. Or if I was using my phone, I could not connect my iPad... The next day Lisa gave us extra codes. I guess the first lady could have told us... She also didn't help us giving us an extra soap bar - her excuse: the rooms had liquid soap in the shower, however my dad only uses soap in a bar and the one they gave us was tiny, it didn't even last a day (another con).

The breakfast is very good and the service is very good, especially Lisa at the front desk, she is very very sweet and helpful. The girls at breakfast were very nice too. Although we never had anything from it, they have an honour bar with snacks and drinks, including many types of wine for the guests to enjoy. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keekeeseetah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This nice hotel near the river Rhine opened about a year ago. Over the years we stayed in many different hotels all over Europe, but never saw such outstanding facilities for disabled. There's no doubt that we will come back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

beautiful rooms, we had a room with a nice terrace, very friendly staff, nice breakfast (if the weather is good, you can sit outside); you can serve yourself during the day/night : there is coffee/tea and of course good wine

Room Tip: the room with the terrace, at the side, are very good and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tineke-en-Bert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

During a group tour we stayed in this converted elementary school for two nights while enjoying castle exploring along the historic Rhine valleys. This recently opened "school-hause" was surprising in both the quality and the comfort of this unique concept. Although slightly downriver from the normal tourist route this delightful "Schulhaus" was a highlight of our visit. The rooms and facilities were absolutely spotless in cleanliness and the beds perfect. The modern decor and large bathrooms were delightful. The staff was extremely helpful and took great pride in offering the best accommodations and a chance to visit their delightful town. A local wine greeting by the hotel manager was a nice touch. The breakfast was one of the best during our tour and the morning staff were exceptionally kind to us "let-lagged" travelers who wandered in for espresso a bit early. The wine estate Altenkirch is a partner company nearby and offered a terrific dining experience and great wine tasting. The surrounding town offers quiet solitude and a friendly attitude that welcomes guests.
If you are exploring the castles or hiking in the local area this "Gem of the Rhine" is not to be missed.

Room Tip: The normal standard class rooms were excellent although upscale rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akflyer130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this wonderful hotel when walking the Rheinsteig and sightseeing along the Rhine. When I phoned to confirm my reservation, we were promised a downstair room. Upon arrival we found our room, next to the downstairs exit which was very convenient for a late night stroll with our four footed friend. We also found two brand new bowls for water and food ready for our dog. Excellent! The room was clean and very comfortable. Even the bathtub was one of the best I have ever seen in a hotel. Long enough and deep enough for a good soak after a days walking. My only comment is that the surface is somewhat slippery when showering. Some anti slip strips would be sensible. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is excellent.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorch
1.8 mi away
Hotel Kranenturm
Hotel Kranenturm
#5 of 9 in Bacharach
353 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Jagdschloss Niederwald
Hotel Jagdschloss Niederwald
#16 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
121 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Weinberg-Schlosschen
Hotel Weinberg-Schlosschen
#1 of 2 in Oberheimbach
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
Bellevue Rheinhotel
Bellevue Rheinhotel
#2 of 19 in Boppard
603 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel Schoen
Hotel Schoen
#1 of 4 in Assmannshausen
39 reviews
4.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Im Schulhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Im Schulhaus

Address: Schwalbacher Str. 41a, 65391 Lorch, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Lorch
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lorch
Price Range: $110 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Im Schulhaus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Im Schulhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing