We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Schlosshotel Kronberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Stunning grounds
Historic building
Beautiful room
Fine food
Impeccable service
This is a class hotel
I can't fault it. I wasn't happy about my room and I was relocated without fuss. Excellent attentive barman. Waiters attentive but not pushy. A hotel to visit once at least in your life!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranzZimmermann, Manager at Schlosshotel Kronberg, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Vic1245,
Reading your concise feedback about our Schlosshotel Kronberg and your experiences with our team makes us very proud.
It is our chief objective to enable and react to all the wishes of our guests.
We hope to see you soon again in Kronberg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 745 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is really part of a golf course with an incredible history. It was built by Queen Victorias eldest daughter and husband and is now a hotel. It retains all the Victoriana inside and the dining is excellent. It has a great terrace, check in is super German efficient and the rooms are ok. The room I was in was at the top and the beds were a little low for my creaking bones but nice touches like fruit and chocky on pillow are a nice touch. Dinner was superb with out a load of fawning nonsense and a fine selection of wines. Post dinner drinks on the terrace were very pleasant. The only slight down side is that in true Victorian style almost everything is dark which in the midst of winter may seem a little bleak but I am sure they will have lit the log fires. Well worth a visit and certainly in the come back again category

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranzZimmermann, Manager at Schlosshotel Kronberg, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Mark B,
We have been very delighted reading your beautiful words referring your stay at our Schlosshotel Kronberg. It is so lovely to read that you realized and enjoyed the details we provide our guests in their rooms or with our service.
We are looking very much forward to seeing you again in Kronberg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have just left this Hotel after staying for 4 nights. Firstly the very good things about the hotel:

1. The staff are excellent. The 2 ladies at reception when I booked in were so friendly and genuinely encouraged my attempts to speak German. They were genuinely pleased to know I was trying to speak German rather than some of the sniggers I have had in the past. Also, the staff who brought me my room service meals were very pleasant.
2. Special mention should go to the staff in the restaurant on the night of August 27th. Very friendly and totally professional and their service was impeccable.
3. However, top marks must go to Pierre- who explained to me despite his French name that he was German! He really makes people feel special and he obviously enjoys his job. He is an asset to the hotel and I hope this is recognised. Seek him out if you stay there.
4. It is a very special experience to stay in the hotel. Don,t expect slick, ultra modern high te h comfort-but presumably if you are looking for that you wouldn't.t be staying here. Your room will be quirky but authentic and perfectly comfortable. Take time to actually look at the furniture in your room and then you will realise how much of it is antique.
5. Try to eat at the restaurant once. It is not cheap but the food is superb. Don,t expect typically massive German fare but interesting dishes that will actually fill you up even if you might not think it when you first see the dish.
6. Have a stroll down to Kronberg-actually it,s a long stroll so a taxi back is advised. Very rich place and none of the quaintness of other old German towns but still very pleasant.

So, some polite suggestions for improvements:

1. The room service food was horrible and expensive. I know I should have complained but it was late both nights after I had been visiting clients and I just wanted to eat. Both meals were not very warm. I really thinking 35 euros for a lukewarm burger and chips and a cheese plate witha few curdled cheeses on it was awful. It nearly put it my off going to the restaurant which could not have been more different.
2. It would be really easy to put a kettle in the room so that guests can have tea and coffee in the morning. There wasn,t a morning room service option to order a pot of tea and I think this is something that could very easily be changed.
3. If you stay here Sunday is not a good day to stay. It is not a criticism of the hotel as such but it is the one day that I did not enjoy. The hotel was full with very rich people coming for lunch and afternoon tea. I understand that but it did seem to me that the hotel forgot its guests-who were paying far more a night than somebody visiting for afternoon tea!
4. I understand this is a minor point but it would be very good if there could be walk in showers in a room. If you are semi disAbled trying to climb into the bath takes a long time!

But this is a wonderful place.

Room Tip: This is a castle and recognise the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranzZimmermann, Manager at Schlosshotel Kronberg, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Stephen O,
First of all we would like to thank you so much for taken the time to give us an overall feedback referring your stay at our Schlosshotel Kronberg.
We are more than happy to read the wonderful impressions given you by our team; of course we will refer your feedback to Pierre and the whole team.
Concerning your comment about a missing morning room service we will not miss to tell you that we do have the opportunity to offer coffee, tea or breakfast in your room. Our team in the restaurant is happy to assist you with your order.
Please be sure that we make no differences between guests which are staying in our house and guests which come in for afternoon tea or coffee. Every guest is very welcome in our hotel and will be treated without any difference.
Referring to your words about the showers in our rooms we would like to tell you that we are having some renovations, which also include more showers than bathtubs in the rooms.

We hope to see you again in Kronberg and we would be happy to assist you in any questions or wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Uploading a few photos and you could tell the place is worth the price. A week's stay in this property zaps out all the stress from work. Just walking around within the courtyard and golf course, or even the neighbouring parks is a charm. 30mins away from Frankfurt airport.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supreme_dahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranzZimmermann, Manager at Schlosshotel Kronberg, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear supreme_dahon,
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at our Schlosshotel Kronberg.
As we can read in your feedback you could enjoy your whole stay with us and relax in our park. The satisfaction of our guests is our chief objective and we are happy that we have reached this during your stay.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Schlosshotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It is a very beautiful property about 30 mins from Frankfurt airport. It is serene and peaceful, but the service is not up to par.
They had an event for the Russian embassy the night before we checked in. The Russians had a huge stage set up on the lawn. The empty stage stayed up all weekend blocking the view from the terrace. Mind you, the stage was not used at all again, it just took 3 days to have it removed and we had to look at a metal/wood structure for 3 days.
The service in the restaurant was slow and quite often they forgot to bring some items we ordered. There are many luxury hotels in Europe, so I would probably not come back, unfortunately. We had high hopes, but this stay did not live up to them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranzZimmermann, Manager at Schlosshotel Kronberg, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear timmer1001,
We would like to thank you for given us the pleasure to welcome you to our Schlosshotel Kronberg and given us your feedback on tripadvisor.
Unfortunately you have some negative associations with your stay at our Schlosshotel Kronberg. We would like to apologize most sincerely for this.
Please be sure that we pursue our profession with great commitment and that the satisfaction and well-being of our guests is our chief objective. If you are planning another trip to Germany we would be more than happy to assist you in arranging your stay without any inconveniences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

stayed at this hotel recently for a family wedding . the wedding from beginning to end was fabulous staff and service exceptional except for porters who seem very over eager to help in order to get tips as soon as they help you with anything the hands are out for tips. rooms very clean but for the price you pay for a double room was unimpressed to get a bed that was 2 single beds put together and no hot water for shower in morning. .

Room Tip: ask for a room with air conditioning as some of the rooms dont have any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleenmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranzZimmermann, Manager at Schlosshotel Kronberg, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Colleenmo,
We are very thankful that you took the time to share your impressions concerning your recent stay at the Schlosshotel Kronberg with us. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the wedding and that you had a successful evening in our hotel.
We appreciate your advice in regards of our porters to take more precise steps within our teams, in order to offer a more professional and satisfactory service to our valued guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have stayed regularly at the Schlosshotel over a number of years and the level of service has been consistently impeccable. It is a wonderful mixture of formality with warmth of service which makes it a welcoming and most personal experience. I know of no other hotel in the region which provides this atmosphere. The staff are all incredibly helpful and always sort out any issue or request. This extends from the receptionists and doormen through to the staff in the restaurant and room service. Each room is different, giving this hotel an individuality which is a marvellous contrast to so many hotels. I would not stay anywhere else and I warmly recommend the hotel to all. Connections to the centre of Frankfurt are easy via the S-Bahn and cost little; taxis to the airport take only 20 minutes or so. It is worth the trip up the hill to Kronberg rather than staying down in the town.

Room Tip: Decide if you want a view over the park or over the woods at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranzZimmermann, Manager at Schlosshotel Kronberg, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Richard M,

We would like to thank you so much for your loyalty and wonderful comments concerning your recent stays at our Schlosshotel Kronberg. Every time you visit us in Kronberg, it is a pleasure for us to welcome you back in our hotel.
Your satisfaction and the well being of our guests is our chief objective and it is our ambition to offer a professional and individual guest service. We are more than happy to read that we have achieved our efforts.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in Kronberg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kronberg im Taunus
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Villa Kennedy
Villa Kennedy
#2 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,436 reviews
Falkenstein Grand Kempinski
#1 of 6 in Konigstein im Taunus
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Rothschild Kempinski
#2 of 6 in Konigstein im Taunus
116 reviews
Innenstadt
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof - Hotel Frankfurt
Romantik Hotel Schloss Rettersho...
#1 of 6 in Kelkheim (Taunus)
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Kronberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Kronberg

Address: Hainstr. 25, 61476 Kronberg im Taunus, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Kronberg im Taunus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kronberg im Taunus
Price Range: $236 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schlosshotel Kronberg 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schlosshotel Kronberg is located above the picturesque small Taunus town of Kronberg in the middle of an impressive park with 58 h next to a 18-hole golf course. As a hotel nearby Frankfurt this beautiful property is loved in equal measure by businessmen, golfers, gourmets, people who appreciate art and traditional values. Also for weddings and bridal pairs it is the perfect place to be. The Schlosshotel Kronberg, also a Golf resort and castle hotel, is owned by the Landgrave and Princes von Hessen and has since 1954 been a luxury hotel of the first order. Built under commission from Empress Victoria Friedrich and completed in 1893, Schloss Friedrichshof is today one of the most impressive German castles and offers its guests living history to touch and feel. Exclusive furnishings and an impressive collection of antiques and paintings from the private estate of the mother of the last Kaiser convey the authentic ambience of a castle from imperial times. To make your stay even more memorable and comfortable, we have considerably renewed Schlosshotel Kronberg over the last 2 years. For creation and design, the well-known British Interior designer Nina Campbell were appointed, who combines vintage furniture with own designs realising a perfect room and space concept. The newly-created rooms, all equipped with air conditions, decorated in warm colors and with delicate fabrics and floors and immersed in special lighting welcome the guests in a very cordial way. Enjoy the unique historic ambiance and indulge in the luxurious setting of Schlosshotel Kronberg. Our particularly personal service spoils you after an eventful day either in the lobby in front of the fireplace or on the castle terrace on mild summer evenings. Due to the perfect connection to Frankfurt, the fair and the international airport, our hotel is also a very convenient solution for business travelers who benefit from free amenities such as wireless Internet, minibar/bar fridge, shoe polish service, fresh fruit and mineral water in room and daily newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Schlosshotel Kronberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Kronberg Hotel Kronberg Im Taunus
Schlosshotel Kronberg Im Taunus
Schlosshotel Kronberg Hotel Im Taunus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing