We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Takes a business trip to a new level” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schlosshotel Kronberg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schlosshotel Kronberg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Takes a business trip to a new level”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights for an onsite business trip, would happily attend another one here!

Location - close to Frankfurt, tranquil surrounds (golf, gardens [nice terrace for champagne receptions])
Function rooms - on an overcast day one of the rooms we were using was dark and the hotel had the capacity and flexibility to move us to a brighter room with minimum disruption to our schedule
Food - excellent - all of the meals we had were flavoursome and enjoyable
Bedrooms - mine was reasonably sized with large bathroom, quiet and had more amenities than you expect (complimentary fruit, complimenary mini bar [soft drinks and beer[), free wi-fi, Molton Brown toiletries.....)
Bar - service with a smile and an easy way to relax out of a day

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GemH_Lon-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schloss123, Manager at Schlosshotel Kronberg, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
It was a great pleasure to read your comments regarding your recent stay at the Schlosshotel Kronberg. I am very happy that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you felt comfortable in our hotel. We are proud you to be wowed by the amenities offered.

I really hope that your travel plans will bring you soon again to Kronberg and the Schlosshotel Kronberg we are looking forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    67
    17
    7
    15
See reviews for
84
291
24
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Fresh off our 5am arrival in Frankfurt, bleary-eyed and cranky, we took the S-bahn to the nearest station. There were no taxis or buses available, but a woman waiting to pick-up her son at the station offered to call the hotel for us. A minute later she told us that the Jaguar was on its way to bring us to the hotel.
We were collected 5 minutes later and transported to the gated woodland estate of the Castle. The Hessian royal family was in residence, and breakfasted daily with we commoners. The hotel is kept to royal standards, including use of the family's personal tableware for the guests.
We were allowed to check-in at 8a.m.; excellent because we were exhausted. It is among the best of the Small Luxury Hotels I have used in Europe, and very reasonably priced.
We were shown every courtesy and indulgence by the staff, including a spectacular room overlooking the back of the property which includes a beautifully manicured golf course integrated with a gorgeous arboretum.
Astonishingly handicap friendly, especially considering the age and maintained structure of the castle.
The beds are perfect with Tempra-Pedic type mattresses. I slept a lot, but they arranged free off-site activities for my niece who was on her first trip out of the country.
The breakfast is top-notch with something for everyone. The large bedroom & bathroom were perfectly maintained. The in-room massage was the cherry on the top. Thank you, Linda!!
And thank you to the desk staff who rearranged the schedule to let us stay a few extra nights and then put us back in the Jaguar to get to the train station again.
Such a wonderful place that I never felt the need to leave the grounds!
Even if you can only afford one night, DO IT!!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor in the center of the hotel facing the back of the property. I don't kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goddess-of-Luxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

An excellent hotel was impeccable attention to detail. I stayed here on business for four nights in early spring. Since this was my first European trip, I wanted to explore Germany's historical offerings while remaining close to Frankfurt. As far as price goes, it was the same price as a Holiday Inn Express in Frankfurt. The choice was easy. Kronberg and the Schlosshotel was that perfect experience. Even though the walk to the train station was a bit long, I do not regret my choice of accomodations whatsoever. The room amenities are very modern and well maintained. The linens very luxurious. Besides the building architecture, surrounding grounds (the walking trail and rose garden are amazing), and historical furnishings, the most impressive part was the service. I was so appreciative how, on one rainy morning, I asked the front desk for a taxi to take me to the train station. The woman said that all taxis were currently spoken for, so she offered to have the bellman drive me in the hotel's Jaguar XJ instead! Judging by the cars in the parking lot in the evening, it was clear that this hotel and associated restaurant cater to the upper class. However, I never had a glimpse anything but excellent hospitality.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NateH29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Schlosshotel Kronberg, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
I would like to thank you for these wonderful comments. So many compliments about our hotel, the service and our staff are more than we could wish for. We always try to fulfill all our guest wishes and to make every guest happy and in your case, we had obviously achieved our goal.
It is a pleasure for me to share your feedback with my staff members.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

My friend & myself arrived at 8am at this hotel & managed to check in early during the off peak season.We were picked up in a jaguar limousine from the train station. The service at this hotel was great. The staff showed concern for my friend after she sprained her ankle.
The manager also allowed us to partake of the morning buffet breakfast on 2 mornings (we arrived early)when we only paid for breakfast for 1night. The schloss hotel is located amidst greenery & a golf course & is great for people looking to relax at the hotel. The interior of our room is beautifully feminine with wallpapers in bright red colour.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taysiewhua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

We had arranged for a small wedding at the hotel and were extremely disappointed. We received the poorest service ever. No attention was given to this event, the other luncheon taking place simultaneously seemed to have been more important. Service staff continuously disappeared and seemed to be completely overwhelmed with the request for more bread and butter. When we asked for more coffee for the wedding party - out of despair at the reception - we were brought one single coffee. The serving of the food was uncoordinated - food arrived, the sauce for the food was brought 10 min later - and the food was then cold. This uncoordinated serving of food continued throughout the meal - there was always something missing and took until the food had turned cold. And after the cake was served, no more coffee came and all staff disappeared - signalling 'party is over'.
Instead of being waited on, we had to continuously make our way into the hall, trying to find service staff - but none was ever available.
Overall, guests were not treated with the attention expected of a luxury hotel.
This was such a tremendous disappointment for the guests and the hosts, the happy couple.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Frankfurt-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We booked a "Deluxe" room at this hotel 8 months in advanced. When we got to the hotel, we got a room that looked more like a prison cell than the one shown in the hotel photo or the description of the room. We advised the front desk clerk that the room assigned was not a "deluxe" room with "Sweeping panoramic views of the gardens and golf course". The room was actually a downgrade (Premium). We waited for over 2 hours at the hotel lobby waiting to talk to the reservations person. After seeing three more rooms, they were all poorly maintained and dingy. The hotel photos were probably taken in its glory days, there is no luxury. This hotel should never be even close to be called luxury hotel. We advised the front desk that same afternoon that we were going to check out the next day and move to another hotel as we were not getting the room we paid for. The hotel Front Desk Manager said that we had to pay for the 3 nights, despite they not giving us the room we paid for. After much dealing with the hotel and their less than honest ways to sell you a room that is not, we decided to check out the same day. The hotel agreed to finally charge for only 1 night (Despite their cancellation policy to be 90% of first night for no-shows). We agreed to pay that first night in full just to get out of that dumpster. After getting the invoice and paying EU245, I was charged three days later on my credit card the remaining nights! EUR440!... I called my credit card company and now have to go through the hassle to dispute the charge. Save yourselves a headache and a huge disappointment and go somewhere else like. You will be sorry if you come to this place. By the way, there is no gym or spa onsite, you must take a 10 minute ride off the property if you want these services. And there is no air conditioning in the rooms... mattresses are a thin foam... it is just ridiculous.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WorldtravellerBC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schloss123, Manager at Schlosshotel Kronberg, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
It goes without saying that we are really sorry to hear how upsetting your stay at our hotel was and first of all we would like to express our deepest apologies for all the inconvenience caused.

Although trying very hard it was to our disappointment as well that we failed to exceed your expectations towards the room as well as the service. Due to being a traditional castle hotel rather than a modern boutique hotel all rooms do differ from each other even though being within the same category. Unfortunately we did not have the room available you particularly saw in the pictures of the website.

Rest assured we were aiming to fulfill your needs as for example providing the very early check in on your arrival day but must admit that after all obviously without success.

It would be to our biggest appreciation if you could return to the Schlosshotel one day to give us an opportunity to convince you of the service that we can provide and to reinstall your faith into the hotel.

Please feel free to contact us at any time to give us the chance to discuss this with you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights for a business meeting. Old castle-type hotel built by or for Queen Victoria though what got her here beats me! My room overlooked a golf course amidst pine trees with views to Frankfurt in the distance. Very large and comfy room. Best of all, the staff were excellent - almost too polite! Ordered room service and it came on time and was very good though a trifle expensive. Free minibar in the room was stocked with two beers and assorted mineral water and soft drinks and replenished daily. This was a nice touch. Location was unbeatable as a meeting place and was only 30 minutes from the airport. Bit out of the way to return to but if I could I definitely would.

Room Tip: Third or fourth floors overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smodak19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schloss123, Manager at Schlosshotel Kronberg, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Google Translation
Mit Ihren netten Zeilen über Ihren Aufenthalt in unserem Hotel haben Sie mir und meinen Mitarbeitern eine große Freude gemacht. Es ist schön zu wissen, dass Sie zufriedenen waren und sich bei uns wohlgefühlt haben.
Auch für die freundlichen Aussagen zu unserer Servicequalität, unserem Ambiente und unseren Mitarbeitern danke ich Ihnen herzlich.
Mein Team und ich würden uns freuen, Sie hier bald wieder begrüßen zu dürfen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kronberg im Taunus
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Villa Kennedy
Villa Kennedy
#2 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Hotel Hofgut Georgenthal
#1 of 2 in Hohenstein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomers
#11 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Hotel Schloss Reinhartshausen
#3 of 8 in Eltville am Rhein
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Kronberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Kronberg

Property: Schlosshotel Kronberg
Address: Hainstrasse 25, 61476 Kronberg im Taunus, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Kronberg im Taunus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kronberg im Taunus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Schlosshotel Kronberg 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schlosshotel Kronberg is located above the picturesque small Taunus town of Kronberg in the middle of an impressive park with 58 h next to a 18-hole golf course. As a hotel nearby Frankfurt this beautiful property is loved in equal measure by businessmen, golfers, gourmets, people who appreciate art and traditional values. Also for weddings and bridal pairs it is the perfect place to be. The Schlosshotel Kronberg, also a Golf resort and castle hotel, is owned by the Landgrave and Princes von Hessen and has since 1954 been a luxury hotel of the first order. Built under commission from Empress Victoria Friedrich and completed in 1893, Schloss Friedrichshof is today one of the most impressive German castles and offers its guests living history to touch and feel. Exclusive furnishings and an impressive collection of antiques and paintings from the private estate of the mother of the last Kaiser convey the authentic ambience of a castle from imperial times. To make your stay even more memorable and comfortable, we have considerably renewed Schlosshotel Kronberg over the last 2 years. For creation and design, the well-known British Interior designer Nina Campbell were appointed, who combines vintage furniture with own designs realising a perfect room and space concept. The newly-created rooms, all equipped with air conditions, decorated in warm colors and with delicate fabrics and floors and immersed in special lighting welcome the guests in a very cordial way. Enjoy the unique historic ambiance and indulge in the luxurious setting of Schlosshotel Kronberg. Our particularly personal service spoils you after an eventful day either in the lobby in front of the fireplace or on the castle terrace on mild summer evenings. Due to the perfect connection to Frankfurt, the fair and the international airport, our hotel is also a very convenient solution for business travelers who benefit from free amenities such as wireless Internet, minibar/bar fridge, shoe polish service, fresh fruit and mineral water in room and daily newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schlosshotel Kronberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Kronberg Hotel Kronberg Im Taunus
Schlosshotel Kronberg Im Taunus
Schlosshotel Kronberg Hotel Im Taunus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing