We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel converted from palace,in a league of its own”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schlosshotel Kronberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My friend & myself arrived at 8am at this hotel & managed to check in early during the off peak season.We were picked up in a jaguar limousine from the train station. The service at this hotel was great. The staff showed concern for my friend after she sprained her ankle.
The manager also allowed us to partake of the morning buffet breakfast on 2 mornings (we arrived early)when we only paid for breakfast for 1night. The schloss hotel is located amidst greenery & a golf course & is great for people looking to relax at the hotel. The interior of our room is beautifully feminine with wallpapers in bright red colour.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taysiewhua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 722 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

We had arranged for a small wedding at the hotel and were extremely disappointed. We received the poorest service ever. No attention was given to this event, the other luncheon taking place simultaneously seemed to have been more important. Service staff continuously disappeared and seemed to be completely overwhelmed with the request for more bread and butter. When we asked for more coffee for the wedding party - out of despair at the reception - we were brought one single coffee. The serving of the food was uncoordinated - food arrived, the sauce for the food was brought 10 min later - and the food was then cold. This uncoordinated serving of food continued throughout the meal - there was always something missing and took until the food had turned cold. And after the cake was served, no more coffee came and all staff disappeared - signalling 'party is over'.
Instead of being waited on, we had to continuously make our way into the hall, trying to find service staff - but none was ever available.
Overall, guests were not treated with the attention expected of a luxury hotel.
This was such a tremendous disappointment for the guests and the hosts, the happy couple.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Frankfurt-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We booked a "Deluxe" room at this hotel 8 months in advanced. When we got to the hotel, we got a room that looked more like a prison cell than the one shown in the hotel photo or the description of the room. We advised the front desk clerk that the room assigned was not a "deluxe" room with "Sweeping panoramic views of the gardens and golf course". The room was actually a downgrade (Premium). We waited for over 2 hours at the hotel lobby waiting to talk to the reservations person. After seeing three more rooms, they were all poorly maintained and dingy. The hotel photos were probably taken in its glory days, there is no luxury. This hotel should never be even close to be called luxury hotel. We advised the front desk that same afternoon that we were going to check out the next day and move to another hotel as we were not getting the room we paid for. The hotel Front Desk Manager said that we had to pay for the 3 nights, despite they not giving us the room we paid for. After much dealing with the hotel and their less than honest ways to sell you a room that is not, we decided to check out the same day. The hotel agreed to finally charge for only 1 night (Despite their cancellation policy to be 90% of first night for no-shows). We agreed to pay that first night in full just to get out of that dumpster. After getting the invoice and paying EU245, I was charged three days later on my credit card the remaining nights! EUR440!... I called my credit card company and now have to go through the hassle to dispute the charge. Save yourselves a headache and a huge disappointment and go somewhere else like. You will be sorry if you come to this place. By the way, there is no gym or spa onsite, you must take a 10 minute ride off the property if you want these services. And there is no air conditioning in the rooms... mattresses are a thin foam... it is just ridiculous.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank WorldtravellerBC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schloss123, Manager at Schlosshotel Kronberg, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

It goes without saying that we are really sorry to hear how upsetting your stay at our hotel was and first of all we would like to express our deepest apologies for all the inconvenience caused.

Although trying very hard it was to our disappointment as well that we failed to exceed your expectations towards the room as well as the service. Due to being a traditional castle hotel rather than a modern boutique hotel all rooms do differ from each other even though being within the same category. Unfortunately we did not have the room available you particularly saw in the pictures of the website.

Rest assured we were aiming to fulfill your needs as for example providing the very early check in on your arrival day but must admit that after all obviously without success.

It would be to our biggest appreciation if you could return to the Schlosshotel one day to give us an opportunity to convince you of the service that we can provide and to reinstall your faith into the hotel.

Please feel free to contact us at any time to give us the chance to discuss this with you in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights for a business meeting. Old castle-type hotel built by or for Queen Victoria though what got her here beats me! My room overlooked a golf course amidst pine trees with views to Frankfurt in the distance. Very large and comfy room. Best of all, the staff were excellent - almost too polite! Ordered room service and it came on time and was very good though a trifle expensive. Free minibar in the room was stocked with two beers and assorted mineral water and soft drinks and replenished daily. This was a nice touch. Location was unbeatable as a meeting place and was only 30 minutes from the airport. Bit out of the way to return to but if I could I definitely would.

Room Tip: Third or fourth floors overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smodak19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schloss123, Manager at Schlosshotel Kronberg, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012
Google Translation

Mit Ihren netten Zeilen über Ihren Aufenthalt in unserem Hotel haben Sie mir und meinen Mitarbeitern eine große Freude gemacht. Es ist schön zu wissen, dass Sie zufriedenen waren und sich bei uns wohlgefühlt haben.
Auch für die freundlichen Aussagen zu unserer Servicequalität, unserem Ambiente und unseren Mitarbeitern danke ich Ihnen herzlich.
Mein Team und ich würden uns freuen, Sie hier bald wieder begrüßen zu dürfen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Hotel fantastic!
A castle that keeps all remodeled medieval style! Very nice place!
The service was exceptionally and helpful staff.
Recommended !!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acvilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schloss123, Manager at Schlosshotel Kronberg, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012
Google Translation

Vielen Dank für die Kommentierung Ihres Aufenthalts im Schlosshotel Kronberg.
Komplimente dieser Art machen uns sehr glücklich und stolz.

Wir hoffen sehr, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I stay anavergare 40 to 60 nights a year at diffrent Hotels and this was an experience to say the least. Most details and service were in top class and alot of the major Hotel chains should learn from Schloss. Make sure you stay in the main building as the rooms are better. We ate the first night in the hotel restuarant, price by worth it. It had great food and the wine list was top class.

Room Tip: Make sure to stay in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schloss123, Manager at Schlosshotel Kronberg, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

It was a great pleasure to read your comments regarding your recent stay at the Schlosshotel Kronberg. Thank you for sharing your positive impressions.
I really hope that your travel plans will bring you soon again to Kronberg and the Schlosshotel Kronberg we are looking forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Visited here for the second time in March 2012 and was just as bowled over as I was the first time I visited. this time, however, I got to stay in room 406. This has got to be one of the more unique rooms in the hotel - it is a single room (literally: the bed is only big enough for one), nothing fancy, but located in the clock tower and the only room (that I can tell) with a balcony. See pictures.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfwmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kronberg im Taunus
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Villa Kennedy
Villa Kennedy
#2 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,407 reviews
Falkenstein Grand Kempinski
#1 of 6 in Konigstein im Taunus
217 reviews
Innenstadt
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
#3 of 270 in Frankfurt
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Rothschild Kempinski
#2 of 6 in Konigstein im Taunus
113 reviews
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Kronberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Kronberg

Address: Hainstr. 25, 61476 Kronberg im Taunus, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Kronberg im Taunus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kronberg im Taunus
Price Range: $231 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schlosshotel Kronberg 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schlosshotel Kronberg is located above the picturesque small Taunus town of Kronberg in the middle of an impressive park with 58 h next to a 18-hole golf course. As a hotel nearby Frankfurt this beautiful property is loved in equal measure by businessmen, golfers, gourmets, people who appreciate art and traditional values. Also for weddings and bridal pairs it is the perfect place to be. The Schlosshotel Kronberg, also a Golf resort and castle hotel, is owned by the Landgrave and Princes von Hessen and has since 1954 been a luxury hotel of the first order. Built under commission from Empress Victoria Friedrich and completed in 1893, Schloss Friedrichshof is today one of the most impressive German castles and offers its guests living history to touch and feel. Exclusive furnishings and an impressive collection of antiques and paintings from the private estate of the mother of the last Kaiser convey the authentic ambience of a castle from imperial times. To make your stay even more memorable and comfortable, we have considerably renewed Schlosshotel Kronberg over the last 2 years. For creation and design, the well-known British Interior designer Nina Campbell were appointed, who combines vintage furniture with own designs realising a perfect room and space concept. The newly-created rooms, all equipped with air conditions, decorated in warm colors and with delicate fabrics and floors and immersed in special lighting welcome the guests in a very cordial way. Enjoy the unique historic ambiance and indulge in the luxurious setting of Schlosshotel Kronberg. Our particularly personal service spoils you after an eventful day either in the lobby in front of the fireplace or on the castle terrace on mild summer evenings. Due to the perfect connection to Frankfurt, the fair and the international airport, our hotel is also a very convenient solution for business travelers who benefit from free amenities such as wireless Internet, minibar/bar fridge, shoe polish service, fresh fruit and mineral water in room and daily newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schlosshotel Kronberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Kronberg Hotel Kronberg Im Taunus
Schlosshotel Kronberg Im Taunus
Schlosshotel Kronberg Hotel Im Taunus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing