We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, old world feel, needs more better staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sakura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sakura
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Torre Del Greco
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great views, old world feel, needs more better staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as we had earned a free night through the hotel reward group. We were in the Napoli region for the week and wanted to spend a day at Pompeii and found this hotel nearby. Finding it was a little difficult as it is well hidden, and there are no taxis at the Torre del Greco train station. There is a bus which takes you to the hotel, but be well prepared before hand or you will never find it. It's not too far of a walk to Torre del Greco center which was quaint and lively, but it definitely felt more like convention hotel than one for travelers.

The views were amazing (we could see Vesuvius from our balcony), and the room was spacious with a comfortable old world charm. However, the staff spoke very little English and were not very helpful in directing us to Vesuvius and Pompeii. We had asked where we could get the bus to Vesuvius and the concierge insisted there was no such bus. Fortunately, they had the internet which we used to find the bus, but clearly the staff either a) didn't know, b) didn't care or c) both.

The pool was nice to end the day, but it was odd that there was no shallow end. The life guards were far more helpful and friendly than the hotel staff which lead us to believe they have two completely different employers.

Given how far off the beaten path it is, we would not recommend this hotel unless you were part of a larger group or spoke fluent Italian. We left with the feeling that this hotel was not for us.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    36
    31
    16
    3
See reviews for
22
33
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
American Expat
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were told we were the last guests, as the hotel was shutting its doors the day we checked out Sept. 2. I hope Mercure will revamp and reopen the property because it has a lot going for it with very large rooms, the lovely pool, and close location to Vesuvius and Pompeii. I can't fault the hotel terribly much for the price we paid, but let me tell you it was a pure comedy to watch the bathroom fall apart! In all we slept well and enjoyed the good wifi. I hope when they reopen the place will have the complete makeover that it clearly needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is one of those old fashioned, poorly taken care of hotels in Italy. The rooms seem not to have been changed in over twenty years, old -not vintage, old- furniture and installations. We had to open the air conditioning box to get it working, the extra bed for the kid was old and shoddy. The service was not too good, it took some time for them to fix the room for us and forgot the extra bed so we had to ask for it again. The swimming pool is very good but it is open to the public and closes at 6 PM for them but also for the hotel guests, we think it should be open for the guests later, after a hot day visiting the ruins of Pompeii or Herculano in a hot august day it is quite a relax to have some time spent in the pool. On the other side, the situation, in Torre del Greco, half way up to the Vesubio is nice if you get there by car, in a quiet environment with nice sights, parking facilities are good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnayVito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel is quite nice but the staff don't speak much English. The dining room was only open for breakfast and dinner.nthe breakfast for 8 euros was not worth the price.

The hotel is not easy to get to unless you have a car. The town does not have taxis and I never did figure out which bus stops close to the hotel. You can get one on the main street close to the Circumvesuviana train station which will take you to within half a kilometer of the hotel. However, it is all uphill. Not okay for older people and it is a bit of a workout if you have luggage.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here just the one night as we were visiting Pompei, the location is great, the rooms tired and in desperate need of refurbishment, the staff are helpful, the restaurant overpriced with very average food, if you are planning a quick visit to the area and don't eat in the hotel it's fine providing you get a deal on the room rate!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerEu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torre Del Greco
1.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#1 of 4 in Torre Del Greco
4.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marad
Hotel Marad
#2 of 4 in Torre Del Greco
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Herculaneum
Hotel Herculaneum
#1 of 6 in Ercolano
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Villa Signorini Events & Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Puntaquattroventi
Hotel Puntaquattroventi
#6 of 6 in Ercolano
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
3.1 mi away
Palazzo Rosenthal
Palazzo Rosenthal
#1 of 1 in Trecase
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sakura

Property: Hotel Sakura
Address: Via Enrico de Nicola, 26, 80059 Torre Del Greco, Italy (Formerly Mercure Napoli Torre del Greco)
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Torre Del Greco
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Torre Del Greco
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sakura 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Also Known As:
Sakura Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing