We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in an unfortunate location.”
Review of Hotel Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Holidays
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Torre Del Greco
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 638 helpful votes
“Great hotel in an unfortunate location.”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Holidays for two nights while visiting the Amalfi Coast, Pompei, and Ercolano. We found the hotel to be quite nice with great views of the Bay of Naples. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean, and a modest breakfast was served each day in a ballroom with a great view of the sea. Parking was free and our car was kept in a gated lot for added protection. All in all, we had no problems with the hotel itself.

Unfortunately, Torre Del Greco is not the most tourist-friendly location. The streets are crowded and Italian drivers make driving difficult. The neighborhood in which the hotel is located is kind of run down and many of the nearby restaurants and stores were closed while we were there. Additionally, it is not too easy to find the hotel when leaving the Autostrade (interstate). If you are driving from the north, take the first exit off the Autostrade after the Torre Del Greco exit. If you do get off at the Torre Del Greco exit, you will have to negotiate the city center en route and this is not enjoyable. Ultimately, just head for the ocean and hug the coast until you find the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kasejason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    31
    9
    5
See reviews for
35
31
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Forest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in August 2007. The location was perfect as a base for our visits to Mount Vesuvius, Pompei and Herculaneum.Reasonably priced hotel with fantastic views, Bay of Naples from the front, Mount Vesuvius from the back. The breakfast was good with a variety of cereals, croissants and even cakes served in a stunning sea view restaurant.Quad rooms with air con and shower were comfortable and the service very helpful and friendly. The only slight problem was the area of Torre del Greco which was rather run down, with streets teeming with rubbish. On the positive side, it did have good inexpensive restaurants within walking distance, serving huge neapolitan pizzas and excellent seafood pasta.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank lhfanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Libertad, Ecuador
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2007

We rented a car from Rome so we could get more in than the tours to the area. We were able to complete Pompei and Herculaneum in one day that way. Ending later we stayed at this place nearby. It is well worth it just for the view alone. A nice bed with balcony with nothing but the Mediterrean and Capri in your view. Everything else around there is nothing special, all local Italian and nothing touristy. There is a nice small beach and nice oceanview sidewalk to a decent bar too. The staff surprisingly spoke some of the best english I heard in Italy. We ate at the restaurant but recommend avoiding. It wasn't bad but about the blandest somewhat overpriced meal I had in Italy. I saw a few other places within view. It could be daunting to find for some. The driving around Naples is treacherous even by Italian standards. Free secured parking if you do. I wouldn't call it a destination resort but if you are looking for a waterfront view while spending time at Pompei/Herculaneum it will add something to your time there. Good enough value too.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank blueslover97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2007

This review has been a long time coming, but after using TripAdvisor a lot for booking holidays over the last couple of years, I wanted to add my two-pennies worth, as I find it's great to have someone else's opinion when booking a hotel. It can be such a gamble.

Torre del Greco is probably not somewhere most people end up when going to Italy on holiday, but if you do, you should stay at Holidays Hotel. We had a small-ish but clean and pleasant room with a reasonable-sized balcony and the most stunning views - we could see both Vesuvius and Capri from our balcony.

The hotel is right beside the beach, separated only by a fairly busy road, but don't let the road put you off - during the day you barely notice it, during the evening it comes alive and is fantastic if you're a people watcher like me (entire families crammed helmet-less onto speeding mopeds playing chicken with cars coming the other way is a sight to behold!), and when it comes to bedtime, you just shut down your shutter and you don't hear the noise.

Air con was a necessity, the weather was scorching when we went, although being right on the sea gives you a pleasant breeze too.

The staff were really friendly and helpful, and spoke reasonable English, although this isn't a touristy area, so if you want to venture out and about, be prepared to use your phrase book! One night we asked reception to order us a taxi and send us off for dinner....off we went in this taxi with not a clue where we were headed! We ended up on the harbour at a lovely fish restaurant, had a fantastic meal then managed to phone for a taxi back!! Quite an adventure using my pigeon-Italian.

Our stay was only three nights, but we really enjoyed it. It was a good base from which we visited Pompeii and Vesuvius.

Breakfast at the hotel was fine, and lunches and dinner were good. The staff are really helpful and will make recommendations if you're not sure what to eat.

If you turn right on leaving the hotel it takes you down the Via Litoranea where there is a small supermarket (you can buy cheap plonk in a carton for 1 euro and it ain't bad!), and other supplies you might need (water etc). There is a fab pizza restaurant - just don't over-order.....we went for starters then pizza and ended up bringing nearly ALL of our pizza back with us the starters were that big! And a fantastic ice cream shop.

There are a selection of beaches with differing facilities, from the public beach which is free with no facilties to those where you pay a few euros and have toilets, showers, a bar, sunbeds etc.

The surrounding area looks slightly unloved and could be a bit daunting, but if you look past that it really has a lot of character. We were there because my sister's fiance has family there, so we got to go to the markets and shopping etc., with them, it probably isn't the kind of place you would go on holiday, especially not for any length of time, but it's a nice hotel and I would recommend it should you be considering a stay there.

I have really good memories of our stay, and would definitely go back if we were in the area again.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Not in a fantastic area
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mrspasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torre Del Greco
2.7 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#2 of 4 in Torre Del Greco
438 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Marad
Hotel Marad
#1 of 4 in Torre Del Greco
333 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Herculaneum
Hotel Herculaneum
#1 of 6 in Ercolano
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel
Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ercolano
378 reviews
2.1 mi away
Palazzo Rosenthal
Palazzo Rosenthal
#1 of 1 in Trecase
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Rooms
Coral Rooms
#1 of 8 in Torre Del Greco
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holidays

Property: Hotel Holidays
Address: Via Litoranea 154 | S. Maria La Bruna, 80059 Torre Del Greco, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Torre Del Greco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Torre Del Greco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Holidays 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reception is open night and day because we want that the guests can have our help at any time of the day.Not only the tourists but also the working guests find in our hotel very comfortable rooms with air conditioning system, mini-bar, hair dryer in the bathroom with shower and a free WI-FI place next to the bar open night and day, or the internet point room.The convention with the Beach, a few steps from the hotel, the private parking, guarded and free and, by request, taxi service and guide make the stay in our hotel still more comfortable and delightful.All the credit cards are accepted : Visa - Mastercard - American Express - Bancomat. La Reception è aperta 24 ore su 24 per poter ricevere, assistere ed informare gli ospiti in ogni momento della giornata. WI-FI zone gratuita.38 camere tutte con tv, bagno/doccia e aria climatizzata e di cui alcune hanno il balconcino sul mare.La Spiaggia convenzionata a pochi passi, il Parcheggio gratuito, e su richiesta servizio Taxi e visite guidate permetteranno ai clienti di trovarsi ancor più a proprio agio.Tutte le carte di credito sono accettate : Visa - Mastercard - American Express - Bancomat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidays Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing