We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very modern”
Review of Hotel Poseidon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Torre Del Greco
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very modern”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We happened upon this hotel very late after a ferry trip from Messina to Salerno. Rooms big, clean. Bed huge. Loved that each floor was a different colour. The view of the water beautiful. I feel it is under resourced for the great location. Not far from Naples, Sorrento and the Amalfi coast, Pompeii and even the ferry from Salerno to Sicily. This hotel would be ideal if those locations were offered by tour organisers. Great value and very friendly/helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    153
    57
    15
    14
See reviews for
78
153
16
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel was picked by the tour organizers and never did I encounter such a poor choice. It is not that the hotel is that bad but it is so much off the beaten track and the time of year being off season, it reflected! No hot water until they switched it on, takes ages for the water to reach the room, shower niche very small, fittings of low quality and falling apart in an hotel still being "run in". No one speaks English and I needed help to convey my room number to get the key.
On the other hand, rooms are good size, clean (windows filthy, not that there is anything to view save the house some 25 feet across); also total size of bathroom good save the fact that for no need the toilet is well tucked in the corner so you sit "diagonally".
Surrounding is of poor neighborhood, lack of services for tourists such as restaurants, availability of taxi yet you have nowhere to go. No operating restaurant in the hotel, no way to get a hot drink, never heard of cattle in the room (this is not the UK!).
I would classify this hotel as suitable for the local people or for a come late-sleep-leave after one night for the tourist. I would not rate this hotel at the 4* it claims.
There was a spot of light: searching for a restaurant we came across La Voce Del Mare some 15 minutes' walk, see my review for details.

Room Tip: I ask and was told no room is facing the bay, so why bother building it on a hill neer the sea?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosefLav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed at the hotel in August 2013. We were traveling in South Italy and thought the location of the hotel will be good to travel to and from every day. It was very difficult to find the hotel, especially when the neighborhood area is not the kind of place that you would feel comfortable getting lost. The whole area is old, simple and not too much to do. The hotel itself was just as described on the hotel website. It is new, modern, very clean and comfortable, the rooms are large enough. Breakfast was standard (room for improvement). There is free parking and WiFi.The hotel does not yet have a restaurant and there is not a variety of restaurants in the area to go to. if you are traveling with children, I would not recommend this hotel. In addition, the hotel does not have a pool. the hotel staff was very friendly, trying to assist in every possible way and they were the highlight of this hotel. Overall, the hotel itself has very good potential, except for the neighborhood which really impacts negatively.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aviv666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed at the hotel at Sep 2013.
The hotel room was big, very clean and comfortable, and goog enough for 3 adults.
The hotel had a nice view over the bay, although the whole area was rather old and simple.
Breakfast was standard, no more.
Free parking & WiFi.
The highlight was the the hotel staf, they were just wonderfull, had a great service attitude, helping in any issue with a big smile.
Especially Francesca and Alexandro !! Thanks a lot
It was almost like home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kami l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was the first guest as the hotel opened last month, everyone was super-friendly. Wifi worked great, walking distance to the port, main street etc. Great value, I will be back - thanks to all - Mark......................................................

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsotsi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torre Del Greco
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marad
Hotel Marad
#1 of 4 in Torre Del Greco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Herculaneum
Hotel Herculaneum
#1 of 6 in Ercolano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Signorini Events & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puntaquattroventi
Hotel Puntaquattroventi
#6 of 6 in Ercolano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
2.6 mi away
Andris Hotel
Andris Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ercolano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Property: Hotel Poseidon
Address: Via Cesare Battisti, 80, 80059 Torre Del Greco, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Torre Del Greco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Torre Del Greco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Poseidon 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torre Del Greco, the Hotel Poseidon features views over the Bay of Naples and Capri. It offers free Wi-Fi and modern accommodation with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV.Rooms come with soundproofing and a minibar.The sweet and savoury breakfast is served buffet style. There is also a restaurant and bar.Free on-site indoor parking is provided. Torre del Greco Station Ferrovie dello stato is a 5-minute walk distance, and 15 min. from circumvesuviana station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing