We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Well Kept Secret”

Ristorante Albergo Quattro Gigli
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Portland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Well Kept Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

While traveling in Italy this fall my husband closed his eyes and picked a spot on the map to visit next. We took the train to a town called MONTOPOLI. This town had no tourist attractions, no bars, no famous landmarks to visit. But it had an quaint hotel called the Quattro Gigli that we stayed at for two nights. The restorante is apparently very well known with the Italian's- The hotel owner is also the Chef. We ate lunch and dinner for two days - fresh black linguini with mussles/clams- all authenic italian dishes and if you dont have a reservation you dont get in. We were the only american's in the place. The only one that could speak English was our waiter who also took time to take my husband down to the wine cellar that was filled with an incredible assortment (he had cob webs in his hair when he came back to the table)- We had a 1998 Cab that was amazing for $25.00 US$. When we returned home from our trip and ran across a book that was about hidden risorante that are off the beaten path- and guess what? This one was listed! Yeah - we've been there!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    62
    15
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

A beautiful restaurant in the town on Montopoli. Wonderful, friendly and professional service. Lovely outdoor dining area with a beautiful view, especially at sunset. Great food and wine. I loved the hand made and painted plates and bought one as a souvenir.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JusMez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Small restaurant with a big view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had rented a villa in nearby Marti and saw this restaurant when visiting Montopoli. As a special "end of holiday" treat, we throught we'd try the restaurant on our final full day of the holiday. We were not disappointed.

The restaurant is situated on a terrace at the rear of the hotel but has views which allow you to see (on clear days) for several miles.

In addition, the waiter spoke excellent English and was more than helpful when it came to selecting our meal choices.

The food was simple but delicious. The starters were delivered to the table in dishes that looked more like ceramic roof tiles - a design statement that caused us to raise our eyebrows. But, once we'd tased the food, we reailized that the quality was very high and this was a restaurant trying to be different - but in a good way.

Our main courses were reasonably sized and, again, quite delicious. We didn't have room for a dessert but finished with one of the best coffees we'd had in our holiday.

The cost was very reasonable, especially given the size and quality of the dishes provided and the ambiance helped add to the relaxed feel for our meal.

This is a "must try" restaurant if you are in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JiffTuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medstead Hants UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were recommended to go to this restaurant and it has had some good reviews. The hotel is very quirky and the terrace is lovely with fabulous views. The staff are attentive and helpful but the food did not live up to the surroundings. Four of us ate there and although some courses were ok, some particularly the pate (starter-very dry) and squd (main- looked and and tasted odd) were not good. The food was very average and not up to the usual quality we were expecting and have had in this area. Try it for a drink to enjoy the views and terrace.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Medstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible food and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

We rented a house close to Monopoli and dined several times at Qauttro Gigli. Rustic feel with a friendly family that owns the restaurant. There is a covered out door terrace with a nice view of the valley and part of the old town. The service is wonderful and relaxed. On our second visit they recognized us a provided everyone with a complementary glass of champagne. The pizza and pastas are outstanding, Do order the pasta with boar sauce.
We brought 5 kids to dinner and they had a wonderful time here. Even though this restaurant is in a tiny village, do make a reservation well in advance or you will not get into this hidden gem.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Albergo Quattro Gigli also viewed

Montopoli in Val d'Arno, Province of Pisa
Montopoli in Val d'Arno, Province of Pisa
 
Montopoli in Val d'Arno, Province of Pisa
San Miniato, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Ristorante Albergo Quattro Gigli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing