We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull hotel, with a good restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albergo Quattro Gigli
Certificate of Excellence
Soenderborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderfull hotel, with a good restaurant”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Wonderfull hotel, with stunning views and a very nice decor. We were received with open arms, and felt immediately at home.

Located 5 minutes drive from the motorway, between Pisa and Florence, with very easy access to both these cities, also takes only about 50 minutes to drive to the stunning medieval town of San Gimignano. Parking is 2-3 min walk from the hotel and is free. We were there in August, which unfortunately meant that most of the Monte Poli was shut down, the temperature was on the other side of 35 degrees, so we were a part of the time 'forced' to relax by the pool or in the room which had air conditioning.

The hosts went to great lengths to help the guest with any questions, addresses to wine merchant, etc. The hotel restaurant was quite excellent, and we ate here quite a few times. If you are here in august please remember to put on some mosquito repellent on before going down, the mosquitoes are VERY aggressive. The owner speaks English so did several of the staff members, we had no language problems.

Montopoli is a very authentic town, all inhabitants still say good morning and good evening to each other even the tourists, the people are friendly and easily send a smile to the city's guests. There is a post office 5 minutes from the hotel and also is a cash machine 5 minutes from the hotel. Natural surroundings are fantastic, and if you go to San Gimignano you will get a fantastic view along the ride.

We have already decided that we will return here at a later date.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan_Bruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    45
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
44
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We have stayed here four times in recent years, and find it ideal for touring Tuscany with day trips from Siena to Pisa and beyond. You can even park and train into Florence, 45 minutes away. The rooms are well kept, and many large, some with king-size beds (rare in EU)
We have often enjoyed delicious dinners in the restaurant, which features a wonderful selection of ancient dishes along with the more popular local cuisine. The location is quiet, in a hilltop town, and features delightful views of the Arno valley below.
Parking can be difficult, but never impossible.

Room Tip: Try the wing uphill from the lobby, with valley views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingJohnUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed in 4 Gigli for just one night, because we were on the way to the south of the Tuscany. We found this hotel through a German magazine and were very happy to have found it.
Not the first view it was a bit ofma dark dungeon, but when we opened the curtains and the hatches, it looked very nice. It's as clean as you can get it in Italy. Mostly it doesn't look like it, but it is clean.
The food was just great, we had a perfectly prepared and tasteful dinner.
One tip though: take loads of mosquito spray with you. These insects are everywhere and the're very aggressive.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneVerkaart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Albergo in Montopoli Val d'Arno, Tuscany, a nice little hotel, in a small village, near both Pisa and Firenze. The hotel is old but very charming. There is A/C, a nice pool and a fantastic restaurant! The breakfast is served for the guests, while watching the wonderfull view of the landscape. Choose this hotel if you like to relax, experience real Italian atmosphere and enjoy great food. Notice that the restauarant is closed on Mondays.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariFax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I've planned a romantic dinner in this "nice" restaurant, but in spite of their particular location, the dinner was really disgusting, i've tried several restaurants in the whole Tuscany, and i've to confirm that their kitchen it's not the tipical one of this region.Furthermore also the dishes were broken. Totally to avoid!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doctorabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montopoli in Val d'Arno
4.4 mi away
Hotel San Miniato
Hotel San Miniato
#2 of 5 in San Miniato
260 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa Sonnino
Villa Sonnino
#1 of 5 in San Miniato
184 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Vedute
Hotel Vedute
#1 of 1 in Fucecchio
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Calamidoro Hotel
Calamidoro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Calcinaia
286 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fattoria di Colleoli
Fattoria di Colleoli
#1 of 2 in Palaia
44 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Armonia
Hotel Armonia
#1 of 6 in Pontedera
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Quattro Gigli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Quattro Gigli

Property: Albergo Quattro Gigli
Address: Piazza Michele da Montopoli, 2/A, 56020, Montopoli in Val d'Arno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Montopoli in Val d'Arno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montopoli in Val d'Arno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Quattro Gigli 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Quattro Gigli (Four Lilies) owned and run by the Puccioni Family since 1930, is situated in the centre of the ancient town , and precisely in the 14th century palace once housing the Podesteria (residence of the town's Podestà). The inside is convenientely restored and offers an atmosphere of real tuscanity, consisting of hospitality, kindness and privacy.The bedrooms have all comforts: their balconies face green amphitheatres preading up to the sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Quattro Gigli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Quattro Gigli Italy/Montopoli In Val D'Arno, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing