We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, but way too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castello di Vicarello
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed with my wife for two nights at the Castello Vicarello at the of June. We had heisted to book after reading some negative comments but eventually decided to take a chance. It is relatively difficult to find the Castello Vicarello, despite the indications given by the owner because it sits at the end of a long road with multiple forks without proper indication.
When you arrive at the Castello, you have to ring to have the main door remotely opened. When you reach the parking lot, there is no one expecting you to help you with your luggage, and same thing after spending a few minutes at the reception desk. We found that a bit disappointing.
The Castello is located In a great place at the top of a small hill but the view of the valley is spoilt by a high tension power line.
In our room, some of the windows has no blinds so in the morning, the room was full of light very early.
Since the Castello Vicarello is so far away from everything, you have to take dinners over there and it feels like the owners think they can charge a hefty price for a very average dinner. The 4-course dinner costs 80 EUR. It is good but not fancy or spectacular. The wines are priced relatively high and they even charge for water (not clear if it was tap water or mineral water)
With the price of dinner, we were charged close to 900 EUR per night and based on what I have seen elsewhere, both in and outside of Italy, it is grossly overpriced for a place in the middle of nowhere. I am sure there are other nice castellos in the area priced much more reasonably

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StevenL245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castellodivicarello, Manager at Castello di Vicarello, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Steven,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay at Castello di Vicarello.
We take great consideration of the guests opinion as they are our powerful tools to improve our service were possible.
Regarding having to ring the bell to have the fron gate open, this is just a security mesure to have a better controll on who is coming in the property.We do it to protect our guests and I am sorry it was such an issue for you.
I am sorry that no one was at the parking area to welcome you.
We are a small team and although I personally try to welcome all of our guests, sometimes it is impossible for me and this justify also the fact that you had to wait at the reception before being assisted.
About the tension power spoiling our view, unfortunately is something I will never be able to improve or change as it is something I have no power over.
Regaridng our dinners we never intended for it to be no fancy or no spectacular as our intention is to give our guest a taste of real home made Italian cooking, but you will be happy to know that we have made some changes in 2014 and dinner will be included in our rates as we noticed as well that our guests do not like to go out for dinner and prefer to stay in house.

Best Regards
Valeria Murri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 117 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

Castello di Vicarello is a very unique place, I fell in love with it. Beautifully restored old buildings on top of a secluded hill, tranquil, romantic with a superb view and beautiful gardens with a very special asian touch and the smell of Rosemary. Don't expect it to be like a 5-Star-Hotel, it is more like a Country-Inn and you are a guest of the house. I love peeking into the comfortable vaulted old-style kitchen, where there is always some excellent cooking going on with fresh products from the garden, the eggs from the own chicken and with the home made olive oil. You can even take cooking classes with the owner and Chef Aurora. But you can also drink the excellent Wines from the own vineyard of the owner Carlo. You will find two Swimming Pools and a small Spa where you can have a massage or take Yoga and Meditation lessons with an Indian Yoga-teacher during the summer months. At night you will sleep like an Angel and be rested and relaxed after just a short stay. Yes it is expensive and maybe has a few imperfections but the place and experience is very special, I will sure come back again.

Room Tip: Each Room is unique and dacorated with Love. Sasso (a house) is my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have not been anywhere like this before. The one that ticks all the boxes. I always desire a wonderful setting, authentic architecture, tasteful interiors, excellent food and wine and a comfortable bed. Castello di Vicarello has all these in abundance. I have never relaxed quite so deeply as laying by a freshwater swimming pool in an olive grove in sun dappled light overlooking Tuscan Hills. Then after the sun has set a walk through the kitchen garden to the castle for some fine wine grown by the charming owners and delicious local/home cooked food. What absolute joy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrDashing66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend and had an absolutely lovely time. The staff were very polite and cordial, the atmosphere was amazing and it was the kind of r&r that we were craving. It was a very nice location and we were provided with everything that we needed to be able to enjoy a delightful holiday. 10/10 would recommend and I cant wait to be able to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The location and surroundings are a heaven on earth for those that love stillness and beauty. Our room, and the others that I glimpsed, looked like something out of an exclusive interiors magazine framing the amazing views out of every window. It is not a place to go to be fussed over but to be left in tranquility and calm. However, the staff are friendly and efficient when you need them. You can eat some of the finest wines and freshest food Tuscany has to offer or eat out. It was so deeply relaxing we really didn't want to leave...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheRedSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our experience at Castello du Vicarello was fantastic. A true Tuscan experience. The accommodations are rustic but unique and charming. Service is understated but efficient and personal. Food was good - and the chef went out of his way to accommodate dietary needs, using the freshest local ingredients. A morning yoga class with the Yoga masteqr was a delightful start to the mornings. The setting is incredible - where the sounds, smells and sights of Tuscan play main stage.
If you are looking for a unique experience where you can live anew breath Tuscany at it's best - this is worth it.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tango&Luna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We arrived in the evening for a 4 night stay and found ourselves being met near the entrance by a staff member with a lantern. He guided us in to our parking spot and proceded to lead the way to the castle along a walkway which was lit the entire way by these same lanterns. Dinner was being prepared for us as we settled into these beautiful surroundings. And so began a stay that far excedded our expectations. The owners open up their home to you accompanied by a staff that looks after every detail. Walks through the gardens, vineyards and the entire property are open to all guests at any time. I have been traveling for over 30 years and this is the first place that i never had to lock the door to our suite. The food is unbelievable as is the wine made from the grapes grown at or near the castle. An experience of a lifetime! GRAZIE

Room Tip: The fitness center is really the SPA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cinigiano
13.5 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
704 reviews
8.1 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
446 reviews
5.4 mi away
Castel Porrona Relais & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
356 reviews
15.1 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
13.3 mi away
Petriolo Spa Resort
Petriolo Spa Resort
#1 of 6 in Civitella Paganico
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Vicarello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Vicarello

Address: Poggi del Sasso, 58044, Cinigiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Cinigiano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Cinigiano
Price Range: $475 - $1,051 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Castello di Vicarello 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Vicarello, you will appreciate the calm, serene, and magnificent environment as well as the pleasures of the surrounding nature. We invite you to taste and savour the biological products cultivated on the estate and discover the local specialties, such as the freshly fished gourmet treasures of the Tyrrhenian Sea and the games dishes so typical from the Maremma. Tuscan flavours and Castle lifestyle are combined to make your culinary journey a real treat for the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castello di Vicarello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Vicarello Hotel Cinigiano
Castello Di Vicarello Italy/Tuscany - Cinigiano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing