We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveler rating
160
101
42
22
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
101
42
22
17
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 342 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2015

The room we stayed in was a little stone cottage which was warm, sparkling clean and very cosy. We paid half board each day which gave us coffee and assorted cakes for breakfast, plus a beautiful dinner in the restaurant nearby. The staff were lovely here and the atmosphere was especially lovely because the fire had been lit.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and only a short walk to the thermal springs that are located within the property.
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank catherine9012015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2015

We stayed for a weekend at the end of June. Our room, in the restaurant building, was restored a year ago and is perfect for a weekend break. The pool below the restaurant is chloro-free and a great place to sunbathe. The gardens are beautiful, although there are quite a lot of flies, perhaps coming up from the area where the cows and pigs live. The food was excellent and €90 each for half-pension was very good value. We are vegetarian / vegan and there was always at least 2 items for us to choose from. The spa area is really well done. The treatment in the pool is fantastic. One review was rated 'Terrible' and their main complaint was that the agroturismo is "in the middle of nowhere" and they were "stuck there for 5 days". The location for me is one of the great selling points. No light pollution (the fireflies in the forest are just magical), no noise from roads. In reality, you are 30 mins from the beach less than an hour from Siena / Volterra etc. and there is a little village, Sassetta, just a few minutes down the road.
Overall a very enjoyable weekend

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frostietheboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Podere La Cerreta is a very nice place to spend a few relaxing days!
The Spa is fantastic with absolutely no chlorine... The treatments are very good but a bit overprised. A fitnesscenter would be a good investment for the future.
All the people working there are very helpful and kind.
The restaurant is vegetarian and vegan friendly (there should be more vegan proteins options available, such as legumes). The food is fresh and organic!
The rooms closest to the spa are a bit damp in the evening, ask for a room closer to the restaurant instead.
We will definitely come back!

Room Tip: I am sure that the rooms closest to the restaurant are not so damp in the evening (as the one next to the spa are)
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I've been to la Cerreta a number of times. It is truly a magical place, made so by the farm proprietors. Based on reading a number of the reviews, some folks likely have a misunderstanding about la Cerreta prior to arrival. It is not a hotel. It is a working farm that allows guests a window into the way life should be -- people who love and work with the land and have given their hearts and souls to the farm. If you really want to get the most out of a visit, work with Vilma (the woman who owns the farm) before arrival and try to set up a time to watch how the farm works -- cheese-making, the honey bees, and the way Daniele works naturally with the horses. Indeed, his natural horsemanship is one of the most remarkable experiences I've had watching someone work with horses.

La Cerreta grows a bounty of fruits and vegetables, produces its own olive oil, harvests its own honey, makes its own cow and goat cheeses, slaughters its own meats, produces amazing wine (for great prices), and has its own hot springs. The family has built just about everything from the ground up. They try their hardest to work the farm sustainably -- even the dogs are from the local region. Because of this philosophy, you will eat meals based on how rural Tuscans eat meals (small breakfasts and long lunches/dinners) and you will eat seasonally.

Again, if you are expecting a plush, five-star type hotel with tons of pampering, then go somewhere else. If instead you want to experience the real Tuscan countryside with people who love the land and will invite you into this amazing scape, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I loved this place! I was looking for authentic Tuscany and found it here. The food, the owner's mother's family recipes, is hardy farm fare - sometimes good, sometimes brilliant. The wine from Cerreta's vineyard was very, very good and surprisingly included in the cost of our Board. When we arrived, we had only scheduled half board (includes breakfast and dinner), but immediately scheduled full board. We did not want to leave this patch of paradise. We had the spa nearly all to ourselves during the week and it was heavenly. The room was very tidy. The bed was not the most comfortable, but it did not stop me from falling into a coma-like sleep every night. I found everyone who worked at Cerreta to be charming and accommodating. Unlike Cinque Terre where everyone seemed to be either American or Australian, We were the only people form the U.S. there. This was true Tuscany. A stay at a working farm is not for everyone, but to those who want to experience a slower paced vacation where they can rejuvenate and where they can really feel cared for....Cerreta is perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews