We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Grotto la Dispensa

Grotto la Dispensa
Reserve with
Grotto la Dispensa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Mergozzo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $54
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Local substance where you can find a genuine and caring cuisine for the raw materials and with a family service and attentive, but without unnecessary frills. The local motto is sufficient substance.
Wurzburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was a recommendation from our Hotel and it was spot on! We were well advised as to what to choose. The food was exquisite and we had a range of wines to complement each course. At the end the bill was so reasonable we could not believe it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank H5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberta m, Proprietario at Grotto la Dispensa, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Gentile H5657,
Thank you very much for your review, your opinion is very important to us!
Dear, his compliments us load of enthusiasm, the fact that you had the address from a hotel is a reason to give up.
We are happy that you have enjoyed the value for money!
Best regards and see you soon
Roberta & Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    72
    22
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful food off the beaten track”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Mergozzo is a little off the beaten tourist track around the Italian lakes - and thank goodness because it hides a few secrets like this wonderful restaurant where we had a gloriously spicy sardine spaghetti, a rich chilli mussel stew and Alpine cheese-filled pasta. The spaghetti was one of the best dishes we had in our two weeks in Italy.
The only drawback was that the menu was entirely in Italian and we ordered blind with our not-very-good knowledge of the language - so were a little surprised at the starters, a huge pot of mussels that could have served as a main course and a selection of charcuterie (ham). The waiters were very busy because it was an Italian holiday so we probably could have asked for more help translating the menu but we didn't want to bother them.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blancheneige101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberta m, Proprietario at Grotto la Dispensa, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear blancheneige101,
Thanks for the review, your opinion is very important to us!
is very flattering to know that at the grotto la Dispensa was able to eat one of the best dishes of his Italian vacation!
Next time, however, has no qualms in asking lucidazioni on the menu, we do regularly and with great pleasure.
Best regards and hope to soon
Roberta & Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to eat in Mergozzo!”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Wonderful restaurant and great service! Probably the best place to eat in Mergozzo! After hiking from Stresa to Mergozzo we had an amazing lunch here with my group from Finland! Recommended!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helsinki_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Grotto la Dispensa, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Helsinki_M,Thanks for your review, your opinion is very important for us!
The challenge of every restaurateur is to please as many customers as possible, and read that you and your group you might have gotten very good flatters us.
Sincerely yours, we hope to see you again soon
Roberta and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic tasty food, excellent wine selction, very pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Fantastic place to stop and have a home cooked meal in a friendly atmosphere. The restaurant is run by its owners, real professionals. Excellent quality food, above average wine selection. Excellent attentive service. Will be back with pleasure. Will recommend it to friends.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberta m, Proprietario at Grotto la Dispensa, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
dear Oldraveler, Thanks for your review, your opinion is very important to us.
We are delighted that the stop at the Grotto la Dispensa you liked. Hope to see you again soon.
a warm greeting
Roberta and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Classy, great food and wine”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Roberta and her husband have a great place where you can dine in a modern and classy atmosphere, tasting excellent food, with revisited regional recepies and a great wine list. The new place to be in Mergozzo.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Giannimargutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberta m, Proprietario at Grotto la Dispensa, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear Gianni Margutti, thanks for your review. Your opinion is very important to us, helps us understand where to improve and encourages us to do even better.
Sincerely,
Roberta and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotto la Dispensa also viewed

Mergozzo, Province of Verbano-Cusio-Ossola
Mergozzo, Province of Verbano-Cusio-Ossola
 
Mergozzo, Province of Verbano-Cusio-Ossola
 

Been to Grotto la Dispensa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing