We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newmarket Holidays Lakes tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Due Palme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Due Palme
Ranked #2 of 7 Mergozzo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Newmarket Holidays Lakes tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel is in a fabulous location overlooking the lake in the lovely village of Mergozza. I was surprised to find somewhere so unspoilt in this area. I agree with much of what Colshiel has said in their review. We were lucky as the weather was warm and we had a family size room with a lake view. Cleanliness was superb but I did not care of the attitude of the Manager and staff. They were not welcoming and adopt a very strict policy of portion control in relation to the food. Tinned fruit for one breakfast was served in the evening for a sweet! One set of toiletries for 4 nights so take your own shampoo. It may be that they are struggling in these difficult economic times and it certainly felt like it. When it came to settle the bill on leaving no itemised account was given and neither a receipt. I had written down what we had received and the Manager/Proprietor tried to include an extra half carafe of wine! I have travelled to many places staying in hotels and this has never happened before. I realize I was a package holiday tourist and was certainly made to feel like it. This was in stark contrast to the Hotel Splendid Sole, Lake Garda where we stayed for the first 3 nights of the holiday. The staff were pleasant and very obliging and the food excellent in comparison with what was served at Hotel Due Palme. The beautiful location made up for the shortcomings of the hotel management and staff. I felt they could all do with a course at a "Charm School". A very different experience from what I have received previously in Italy. In fairness to the lower ranks they were carefully watched by management and had to work very hard especially to serve meals to the package tour guests.
customers. Not "Fawlty Towers" but you could write a funny story about the experience!

Room Tip: From what other guests said the rooms are variable so ask for a Lake View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMD854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duepalme, Direttore at Hotel Due Palme, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
From your review we are pleased that at least you appreciated the room with the view on the lake because you’re writing that the shampoo is not available everyday,wich is not true.
Concerning the “Bill of the drinks” ,wich is a summary of what you had to pay each night,we don’t tjhinkit’s a proper “gentleman attitude” coming to the reception at the moment you have to pay the bill with a paper where you wrote down what you have been drinking:this is an evidence of being biased,because at the moment the guest is paying we check with the client and we read with them the list of the drinks before making him pay.
We all commit involuntary mistakes and I remind you that we apologized twice.
Certainly the problem would have been if you payed each day for your drinks.
We kindly suggest you to think twice before giving your “light and easy feedbacks to our staff”,because all the guest that have been here in 2014 are happy and satisfied with the service we offer them,and they also asked us for the deplians of the House.
We also remind you that 98% of our guest have a deep appreciation of what our restaurant proposes to them ,obviously the is always someone who doesn’t and likes to show off by putting other people’s work under a bad light and not considering the consequences of that action.
But we already knew wich type of guest you were thank the description the the group leader gave us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    59
    23
    15
    15
See reviews for
31
81
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is nice friendly hotel where we stayed recently as packaged tour with Newmarket holidays of Italian lakes and my suggestion is to book hotel rooms facing lake otherwise not enjoyable and back rooms are not as good as front rooms and request only for lake facing rooms.
The service is good and this is little village with friendly people. The meals are good.
Best wishes.
DR.Narayan

Room Tip: To book only lake facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishwa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Hotel due Palme was a pleasant surprise, lovely views from our bedroom window (should be
doubled glazed however) this hotel has a quaint charm , the bedroom was clean with good
linen sheets. Breakfast was served in a lovely dinning room and this was more than adequate.
A four course dinner was served with local Italian dishes, and the waiting staff efficient.
the village is very small, so no real night life- bring some playing cards - or the hotel could have a few packs handy for after supper . The Proprietor was charming. May time is still a quiet month-
not much going on. come summer though it would probably be very busy and hot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 242juanita77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was our second hotel of our tour (Splendid Sol Hotel Minerva being the first) and what a let down , When we arrived at the hotel we received a cold, stoney welcome not even a hint of a smile given the room key with little directions ,we entered the room and checked our lovely view from our window straight into another bedroom about 4 mtrs away so the shutters remained closed for the duration so much for privacy, the dining room was adequate with some tables squeezed together, food ( included in package ) was average, but the wine list we received showed a bottle of wine @ 50Euro's a bottle and not very special could have got similar at Tesco's for 10 Euro max , ordered some water at the table ( as they don't DO tap water 3 Euros for 50cl a bit expensive !! ) having finished dinner stood up to leave the table then PANIC STATIONS the crime being we had to pay for the water before we left the dining room , would have helped if we were informed when we ordered it !! Small area round bar was not very relaxing and alcohol prices about the highest I have seen in this standard of hotel anywhere so found refreshment nearby .The rooms were cold and the owner explained he was not allowed heating on at this time of year by order of the council or Mayor ,but when we returned from a day touring the area in the pouring rain everyone was cold and needing to dry clothes the rule about no heating was challenged and when he could show no proof that he was ordered to put the heating off he reluctantly put the heating on for 2 hours and each day after for the same time. As in other reviews we too found that the continental breakfast was very basic with minimum variety and no fruit until someone complained then we got tinned peaches. On our final day we had a taxi collecting us 7.15am, we had hoped to grab a quick bite and hot drink at 6.45am the waiter knew that a taxi was booked for us but even though the tables were set and the basic breakfast was on view he would not let us sit at a table as he repeated no breakfast until 7am when we sat down at 7am he was nowhere to be seen until our taxi arrived so no hot drink, Italy is a beautiful country with amazing scenery around the lakes it's a pity this hotel spoiled the holiday, Just a note for the owner for the past 30yrs plus I have been in hotels all round the world with many different cultures and have never found the need to complain as I have now, I think the owner needs to take time to visit a few hotels worldwide or even some of his European neighbours and learn to look after his guest's better

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colshiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagy, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful setting beside and overlooking lake Mergozzo.
Initially we had high expectations. The room appeared excellent, but the poorly fitting double glazed door onto the balcony should have raised concerns.
We had evening meal at hotel, and the steak was wonderful.
Our room was at the front of the hotel adjacent to traffic lightss controlling a "one way" system through the town. At 5 am the traffic noise stated causing disturbance ref my comment about double glazing.
Unusually for Italy, the breakfast was NOT included in the room rate, and is an extra 10 euros per person. Because the evening meal had been so good, we anticipated an excellent spread for breakfast. Not so. The choices were very limited - no yoghurt, no fruit compote, no fresh bread for toast etc etc. Croissants limited to chocolate flavour ( usually natural, creme and apricot) which were very stale. Coffee tasted "instant". DO NOT TAKE BREAKFAST!
When we submitted our review to booking.com, the booking agent, we immediately started to receive abusive emails from the owner/manager. In England, the customer is ALWAYS right. Not so in this case - our criticisms (the consumer) were wrong!! Surely feedback is how you improve your service?
This hotel has the potential to be great, but relies on its monopolistic position (with its sister hotel just up the road) not to change. it needs to do just that to cater to todays modern traveller.

PS just read some other reviews which support our opinions.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view, but be prepared to use earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Godfrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duepalme, Proprietario at Hotel Due Palme, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
I thank Mr. Godfrey Batchelor for the beautiful words about the room, the meal and the view but everything else sounds like a revenge to the emails we wrote him to contest his review on Booking.com. I thank Tripadvisor for giving us the chance to respond to his false accusations. Mr. Batchelor should understand that the panorama is super because our hotel is just 10 meters from the lake and his bedroom was 8 metres from the road. There's no double glazed window that can remove the cars noise. Moreover the cars noise in the small town of Mergozzo is very low in October and it doesn't start at 5:00 AM in the morning for sure. Clearly Mr. Batchelor didn't like our breakfast options just because breakfast would have costed 10 euro extra. We got compliments from a group of German clients about our breakfast spread the same morning! Mr. Batchelor asked to have dinner in the room and contested that 10 euro room service was too much, probably not knowing all hotels charge this extra service at least 10% of the restaurant bill. At the check-out he made compliments about the room and the dinner saying it was wonderful, then he refused to pay for one breakfast telling his wife didn't like it. That was the first time such a thing ever happened in our hotel but to avoid any disappointment we agreed to make him a discount. We understand Mr. Batchelor complains about everything is charged as "extra", even though he knew in advance about these additional costs. We accept critics and suggestions that sometimes can be useful to improve what we offer but can't accept lies like what we've read on Booking.com. We could only answer back by email but Mr. Batchelor doesn't like to be told the truth, like he didn't have to pay for breakfast so there was nothing to complain about. His review is aimed at discrediting our hotel just because he didn't want to pay for some services but fortunately on Tripadvisor we have the chance to let the readers know the truth. We got lots of positive, objective reviews written in many different languages and we invite Mr. Batchelor to read them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

After a couple of weeks in Tuscany, we stayed here for one night.
The room was situated on the frontside of the hotel, so we had a wonderful view on the lake.
The food was very good. The only negative point is that during the night there was a lot of noise on the street (talking people, a lot of cars driving trough the street and nearby a lot of trains during the night). We couldn't close the window because of the (warm) weather.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
397 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Having spent a few days prior to Hotel due Palme at a fairly drab hotel, I had rather higher expectations of this hotel, sadly I was disappointed. Although situated just a few feet away from Lake Mergozzo, it was a fairly remote village, with little in the way of amusement. My room at the hotel backed onto the rear of the property with no view other than the building opposite. Due to the time of year, everyone had their windows wide open and the sound of everyday life in an Italian village became quite deafening by night (factor in the noise from the hotel kitchens below and it was like central London). I did ask the Management if I could change rooms due to the noise as I was even having to sleep with the windows shut (without air conditioning) but was sadly declined. The room itself was a "single" but was more like a broom cupboard. The bed was pushed against one wall - not even the luxury of a bedside table or reading lamp. The ceiling light was all of 40w and was impossible to read by. The water pressure in the bathroom was not good and so the shower was a bit hit and miss. The reception area was basic with a small bar and seating area. There was a small pizzeria area overlooking the lake owned by the hotel (serviced via the zebra crossing!). There was also a small sun-bathing area adjacent to the lake. The dining room was un-inspiring, and was basically a glorified sunroom. I don't think I saw any of the staff smile and were keen environmentalists obviously, as they went round turning off lights that they felt were being used unecessarily, even in the dining room when everyone was sat eating their meal. They even resorted to turning the lights on / off when we'd out-stayed our welcome in the dining room and they wanted to clear the tables. A couple of shops nearby for cheap drinking water, etc. I was quite relieved when I departed for the airport home!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tosca1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mergozzo
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Quartina
Hotel La Quartina
#1 of 1 in Mergozzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Majestic
Grand Hotel Majestic
#4 of 16 in Verbania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
6.0 mi away
Il Chiostro
Il Chiostro
#7 of 16 in Verbania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bed and Breakfast La Casa nel Bosco
3.5 mi away
B & B I Corni di Nibbio
B & B I Corni di Nibbio
#4 of 7 in Mergozzo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Due Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Due Palme

Property: Hotel Due Palme
Address: Via Pallanza 1, 28802 Mergozzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Verbano-Cusio-Ossola > Mergozzo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mergozzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Due Palme 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Due Palme is situated 2 Km from lake Maggiore on the banks of lake Mergozzo, an oasis of peace and tranquility. The hotel has a bar, breakfast room, and rooms with a view of the lake. All rooms are provided with private bathroom, direct telephone and colour TV Sat. Private well-equipped beachMore than Hotel Due Palme , we also have the "Residenza Bettina" with very comfortable rooms and quiet at 50 meters from the lake. Beach access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Due Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing