We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newmarket Holidays”
Review of Hotel Due Palme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Due Palme
Ranked #2 of 7 Mergozzo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Newmarket Holidays”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had no complaints about this holiday and were surprised to read so many bad comments about it. It is in a beautiful but remote place and most guests were on package tours, though we spoke to a German family who come here often and loved it. Our bedroom was comfortable with full amenities. The food was plain but usually acceptable and sometimes very good - you expect this on a fairly low cost package tour. We had a carafe of wine at supper and were not overcharged. We loved every moment of our stay and can only think the complaints are from habitual grousers who enjoy complaining.

Room Tip: Ask when you book for a first floor room giving a good reason!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duepalme, Direttore at Hotel Due Palme, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We did so many English groups Newmarket in 2012 and never a problem.
This year, under the direction of someone ..... the customers write only to defame the hotel.
The power of the mouse .....
Thank you!
the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    69
    24
    16
    15
See reviews for
34
90
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Having read the reviews prior to the trip I was rather apprehensive on what I would find. After returning from the tour I am pleased to report that my concerns were ill-founded.

The hotel was clean, the food was good and the staff were attentive. As I have a food allergy the helpfulness of all the staff ensured that I had an enjoyable and stress-free stay at Hotel Due Palme.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms offer great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duepalme, Direttore at Hotel Due Palme, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We did so many English groups Newmarket in 2012 and never a problem.
This year, under the direction of someone ..... the customers write only to defame the hotel.
The power of the mouse .....
Thank you!
the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just spent four nights there as part of a tour run by Newmarket Holidays from the UK. Only read the previous reviews after we had booked! We felt guilty as for some unknown reason we had been allocated one of the few lake view rooms. The size and amenities in some of our fellow travellers rooms were beyond a joke even for a three star. Do not understand why the owners are in the Hotel business at all. The owner treated us with contempt and spent most of the time peering at his computer or his CCTV system. He barely even acknowledged his guests. There was a complete air of distrust displayed by his wife who came around at the end of dinner with her red purse to demand payment for all drinks consumed. After drinking my first beer, I ordered a second from the waiter and when he brought it I offered him the empty glass to take away but he said he was not allowed to remove the glasses from the table until i had paid in case I tried to pay for only one! Unbelievable! Their atrocious attitude and ridiculous drinks prices are doing wonders for the business in the lovely friendly pub a few hundred yards away on the lake front where most of the guests made a B line for as soon as dinner was over!

Room Tip: You've got to be lucky and get one of the few lake view rooms or otherwise forget it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toffeemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of a package holiday group. The location immediately facing the lake is lovely but only certain rooms benefit from this view. The facilities of the hotel are entirely adequate; -- nothing spectacular but satisfactory, room and linen clean and well presented (3 star rating, apparently).
The catering is average and perhaps one should not expect any more from a half-board package-type booking though there was evidence of "portion control". The drinks are expensive and we were told that the hotel would not serve "municipal water" for "sanitary reasons" - hence clients wanting a drink with their meals were compelled to purchase either the expensive wine or a small bottle of water at 2.50€. We saw no signs, whether in the common parts of the hotel or in our room, which advised clients not to use the tap water (e.g. for teeth brushing, pill taking, glass of cooling water etc), consequently we assume the water is safe and that this was a device to increase turnover by selling water at the tables. There was also the strange and unpleasant activity at the end of the evening meal when a staff member would go from table to table with a purse collecting the takings from the sales of drinks - a unique and discourteous experierience. There is a certain lack of joie-de-vivre about the place. We wont return

Room Tip: Demand a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friendoffrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel in May 2013. Never again! The staff were not in the least bit welcoming or friendly and it appeared that we, the guests, were there only to put money in their pockets for the least effort on their part. Had it not been for our tour guide, Federico, the holiday would have been a complete flop but he made it as interesting and enjoyable as he possibly could for all in our party. This young man bent over backwards for everybody treating us all equally and with the utmost respect and is to be congratulated for his efforts in making our holiday so special. This hotel needs to take some lessons in etiquette as regards their paying guests. The meals at this hotel left a lot to be desired and a complete change (or choice) of menu would be a very good idea. The food was not very appetising and we ended up eating out. There will be no jug of water on the table with your meal either as you will have to pay for it there and I mean immediately after dinner before leaving the dining area. Prices at the bar were ridiculous, hence nobody bothered much with this area of the hotel. Unless you want to be in the company of pike heads jutting out of the wall as décor I would maybe go out for your drinks. Nothing more off putting.

All in all there isn't anything positive I would like to say about this hotel and it's management but the group of people we holidayed with were a splendid bunch and along with our very efficient and friendly guide we had a happy time on our excursions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank loz l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duepalme, Direttore at Hotel Due Palme, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Sometimes, it is not even worth giving an answer to such accusations, especially when they are infamous like those written above.
First, you can not teach us the etiquette, the hotel decor nor what kinds of menus we should offer as we have been using the same for more than two years with the Newmarket groups, which have always accepted and praised them so far.
The etiquette also advise not writing lies like you did.
The gentlemen (a single case) wanted to go out to eat on the last night as they did not find anything they liked, and they should have felt completely free to do so, however more polite customers simply asked for other dishes, which were not planned that night, and we did anything to meet their requests. The bar prices are competitive with all the other activities in the area, but certainly if you are not used to going out, you will find anything too expensive. All of our employees are usually very nice to everyone, but of course they would make an exception with rude, disrespectful customers, which you proved to be. If you have prejudices, you live really bad and you see everything negative. Good luck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemunden, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

It's very interesting to read mostly complaints from British hotel guests, when I come from over 2000 miles away, the US west coast and find this a nice hotel.

We had a very nice reception, and appropriately were informed about the "blue" parking areas to the side of the hotel. There is a well light parking area for all hotels in this village only a block or two away. Worked perfectly.

Our room was in the remodeled building that is behind the main hotel building. The two are connected by an enclosed bridge. Although our room did not have any sort of a view, except the small street below, we didn't come to "live" in the room, but to sleep there, and for that purpose it was very well outfitted. Obviously the remodel of the building brought all new furnishing, carpets, lighting, etc, as it was like being in a brand new hotel. The room was very nice, bed slept perfectly, everything was very clean and new, the bathroom almost too large. The room was very attractively decorated, and had seating other than the bed, which many small hotels seem to forget. Surprisingly the TV was a tube type 12", but then we never had it on either, but a small flat screen would go well with all of the other new furniture. Our only complaint about the room was that the radiators did not get very warm at night. Extra blankets were available.

The hotel provided a very good breakfast. Coffee, tea, and bread was served, the rest was on a buffet table, and there was more than enough food for everyone. Our half board also included dinner, and the dinner was 3 course, served by waiters. The hotel had a good wine list and bottles were reasonably priced. When one bottle was not completed, it was on the table the next evening again. The bar was also a pleasant place to sit in the evenings and enjoy an after dinner drink.

One day we also ate on the "dock" as it appears, across the street from the hotel, above the water. This was a nice experience, and the waiters serve from the hotel kitchen, there is a special menu for that dining area.

This hotel has a wonderful location for scouting around the area.
Yes we would definitely return!

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view also have a street view and the associated noise. Keep that in mind if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoelY55490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were probably on the same package as anonymous007england and pretty much agree with everything they said. We've stayed in a number of Italian hotels and this was the first time that we were given no choice of evening meal and no option of a carafe of house wine. During our meal on the first night however we were given the option of buying something from a man who came into the dining room and, ignored by the staff, proceeded to offer us a rose or a set of furry dice! We were also expected to wait after each meal to pay for any wine or water we'd bought. No adding it to the bill. The manager's response to anonymous007england's review says it all, package or private guest are looked on as different by this hotel. We certainly felt like we weren't the type of guest they would like. Shame because the lake and village were a good base.

Room Tip: Ask for one without any stairs in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mergozzo
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Quartina
Hotel La Quartina
#1 of 1 in Mergozzo
113 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Carillon
Hotel Carillon
#10 of 15 in Baveno
118 reviews
5.9 mi away
Il Chiostro
Il Chiostro
#7 of 14 in Verbania
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
480 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#4 of 15 in Baveno
439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bed and Breakfast La Casa nel Bosco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Due Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Due Palme

Property: Hotel Due Palme
Address: Via Pallanza 1, 28802 Mergozzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Verbano-Cusio-Ossola > Mergozzo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mergozzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Due Palme 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Due Palme is situated 2 Km from lake Maggiore on the banks of lake Mergozzo, an oasis of peace and tranquility. The hotel has a bar, breakfast room, and rooms with a view of the lake. All rooms are provided with private bathroom, direct telephone and colour TV Sat. Private well-equipped beachMore than Hotel Due Palme , we also have the "Residenza Bettina" with very comfortable rooms and quiet at 50 meters from the lake. Beach access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Due Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing