We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Amparo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Seguiriya(Alhama de Granada)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Ventorro(Alhama de Granada)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Paraiso(Moraleda de Zafayona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
148
5
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
5
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bsanta cruzrecommend elrolling hillsolive grovesbeautiful locationair conditioningalhambra palacegreat hostsshort drivegreat spotspent nightsstayed longeryogurtsmall childrenmalaga airporttea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 155 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We spent a wonderful 3 nights at El Amparo and although January can be unpredictable we had amazing blue skies and sunshine whilst the rest of Europe very unsettled. The sunrise and sunsets were spectacular and The B&B is well placed to take advantage of both. The views are 360 degrees and at night, when the temperature dropped it was wonderful waking to a warm floor. We travel a lot in the winter and we can say, without hesitation, the heating at El Amparo was excellent! The fire in the dining room was always ablaze and was very welcoming either at breakfast time or in the evening after a day out exploring. We flew into Granada airport and the journey time was about 20 minutes and although the property is very rural, the road connections are excellent and we were able to visit all the major cities easily.
The rooms were spacious, luxurious and well thought out-plenty of power points and a beautiful tiled bathroom with large walk-in shower. Breakfast was enticing and it was always difficult to drag ourselves away from the dining room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We arrived quite late and it wasn´t until the following morning we were treated to the location of El Amparo. Unbelievably breathtaking! The views are 360 and the peace and tranquility were a welcome treat after our tour of Madrid and Barcelona. Although this is a truly rural setting, the drive from Granada took less than 30 minutes, which meant we had the best of both worlds-a city on our doorstep but a peaceful nights sleep. The bedrooms are really spacious with comfortable beds,deluxe bathrooms, and everywhere was spotlessly clean.At breakfast we were welcomed by our hosts Jeff and Sally and sat down to a scrumptious and vast array of fresh fruits,cereals, toast, yogurt..... -more like brunch than breakfast! The grounds around the house are thoughtfully laid out with many areas for chilling and reading a good book. One of our real highs was a decent size pool. We have stayed in many places that advertise a pool but it is nothing more than somewhere to cool off. Here you can really swim your lengths without feeling you are constantly having to stop-or manoeuvre yourself around other bathers.
This was the high point of our trip and we wished we could have stayed longer-enjoying the pool and hot tub!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roguesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The place is in the middle of no where. The hosts are like old friends... You know like those ones we didn't see for a long time but it is like yesterday when you're talking with?! El Amparo a quiet place build with passion by «tow sweet crasy one» in a peacefull place surrouded by olives threes. Jeff took a good gage of our wishes and gave us so many good tips and places to go!!!! The food was perfect for breakfast and don't be shy to ask for the dinner at El Amparo : simple and tastsy! Nous avons adorés notre séjour. Je l'ai découverts grâce à ma conjointe qui y avait séjourné il y a 6 ans et elle avait raison : C'est un petit paradis de quiétude et de bonheur!

Room Tip: I just think that all the rooms should be great! View all around is great!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Yves68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Even when you happen to stay in Andalucía during an unusual rainy period, El Amparo still makes your stay perfect! Jeff's advice on all things andalucían - food, visits, trips, hikes - is precious. El Amparo is superbly located: super quiet and remote for those who want to stay away from the buzzing cities and coastline and just hang by the pool or read on the terrace (or inside near the fireplace), near by different mountain ranges and natural parks for hikes outside in the nature, and a short drive away from the cultural attractions of stunning Granada and other cities. We'll sure be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erualwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We've just spent a week at El Amparo B&B. We were absolutely delighted with our stay. For the first four nights my son and I stayed on the ground floor in a comfortable triple and when my husband arrived we moved upstairs to the "family suite" which had a double room and twin room connected, sharing a bathroom. Both rooms were immaculately clean, comfortable beds, fantastic high-volume showers, warm under-floor heating, and big closets and bureaus to store our clothes. The upstairs suite had a lovely view over the hills covered with olive trees. It was too cool to swim but we did sit in the hot tub one night after a hike. We also ate four out of eight dinners at the B&B, which were absolutely delicious and we enjoyed talking with the other guests who were visiting from all over Europe. Breakfast - served buffet style - was the same every day but offered enough variety that we didn't tire of the fare.

But the real selling point of El Amparo is the host, Jeff. Jeff made our week in Andalusia so much easier because he gave us easy directions on the logistics that can make you crazy - where to park, which bus to take, where to get tickets, driving times and recommendations for restaurants. He was also extremely accommodating in terms of packing us a "breakfast pack" one morning when we had to leave early and offering a dinner alternative for my son. Already an organized traveler, I had the destinations of the week pretty well planned, but Jeff's information made all the last details slip easily in to place. This made a huge difference as it removed any stress and allowed us to really enjoy our vacation and capitalize on our time in Andalusia. We hiked in the Sierra Nevada, went to the caves at Nerja, and spent a day each in Antequerra, Granada and Cordoba. As Jeff likes to point out, El Amparo is "in the middle of nowhere" which meant a little bit of extra driving, but we found it to be centrally located in the midst of the destinations described above and a welcome respite each evening and morning that was well worth the drive. We highly recommend El Amparo - have a great stay!

Room Tip: The downstairs triple right next to the dining area/lobby can be a bit noisy if you like to go to bed before 11 p.m. Otherwise any room is fantastic.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jabula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews