We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not ask for a better experience”
Review of El Amparo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Amparo
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Could not ask for a better experience”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We've just spent a week at El Amparo B&B. We were absolutely delighted with our stay. For the first four nights my son and I stayed on the ground floor in a comfortable triple and when my husband arrived we moved upstairs to the "family suite" which had a double room and twin room connected, sharing a bathroom. Both rooms were immaculately clean, comfortable beds, fantastic high-volume showers, warm under-floor heating, and big closets and bureaus to store our clothes. The upstairs suite had a lovely view over the hills covered with olive trees. It was too cool to swim but we did sit in the hot tub one night after a hike. We also ate four out of eight dinners at the B&B, which were absolutely delicious and we enjoyed talking with the other guests who were visiting from all over Europe. Breakfast - served buffet style - was the same every day but offered enough variety that we didn't tire of the fare.

But the real selling point of El Amparo is the host, Jeff. Jeff made our week in Andalusia so much easier because he gave us easy directions on the logistics that can make you crazy - where to park, which bus to take, where to get tickets, driving times and recommendations for restaurants. He was also extremely accommodating in terms of packing us a "breakfast pack" one morning when we had to leave early and offering a dinner alternative for my son. Already an organized traveler, I had the destinations of the week pretty well planned, but Jeff's information made all the last details slip easily in to place. This made a huge difference as it removed any stress and allowed us to really enjoy our vacation and capitalize on our time in Andalusia. We hiked in the Sierra Nevada, went to the caves at Nerja, and spent a day each in Antequerra, Granada and Cordoba. As Jeff likes to point out, El Amparo is "in the middle of nowhere" which meant a little bit of extra driving, but we found it to be centrally located in the midst of the destinations described above and a welcome respite each evening and morning that was well worth the drive. We highly recommend El Amparo - have a great stay!

Room Tip: The downstairs triple right next to the dining area/lobby can be a bit noisy if you like to go to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jabula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
64
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We recently stayed here and found it to be a great place for visiting historical and natural places of interest. Jeff was an excellent host, very knowledgeable and helpful in suggesting places to visit. We felt very much at home here. Our room was large and comfortable with lovely views. Although, we were not brave enough to use the pool, we thoroughly enjoyed resting weary limbs in the outdoor jacuzzi at the end of each day. El Amparo is definitely a wonderful place to stay for those who relish the tranquility and beauty of Andalucian countryside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at El Amparo on the recommendation of friends. We were not disappointed. Jeff, who owns and runs the hotel with his wife, Sally, is clearly a man who loves what he does. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt that we were staying with friends rather than in an hotel. Our bedroom was large, well-appointed and scrupulously clean as were all the common areas and the pool. Attention to detail was evident everywhere and style permeated every inch of the property.

If none of this is enough to tempt you, then the whole package is provided in the most majestic of locations from which the surrounding landscapes of Andalucia can be viewed from every point. "Stunning" does not do them justice!

We have already booked a return visit.

Room Tip: Stay longer and take a few good books and plenty of sun protection because you will not want to move...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellandtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was not my first visit to El Amparo yet the setting of this B & B still takes my breath away as if I were laying eyes on it for the first time. Rarely I have I stayed anywhere that has such a spectacular vista; watching the eagles soar above my head as I sipped a cold beer in the courtyard is an experience I shall not forget in a hurry. The service was exceptional as ever with Jeff playing the role of host to a tee, brimming with local knowledge and handy tips and his cooking has gone from strength to strength, meaning you rarely have to leave the comfort of the hotel to enjoy superb cuisine in the evening. .

The rooms as ever were spotless and the addition of a mini fridge was much appreciated. I took a bike out for the day and Jeff was more than happy to suggest routes suitable for someone who would consider themselves more in the mold of Boris Johnson than Bradley Wiggins.

This was a truly memorable trip and one can't help appreciate what a labour of love this B & B is for the owners you will be hard pressed to find anywhere as idyllic and a hotelier as accommodating as you will find at El Amparo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and two teen girls travelled around Spain this August and stayed in many different kinds of inns. We are very glad we chose to stay with Jeff and Sally at El Amparo. From the moment we arrived, Jeff went out of his way to see that we were equipped with all the information we needed to explore the region. In addition, he and Sally both were warm and pleasant to talk with, and seemed to really enjoy meeting new people. The surrounding countryside is gorgeous, and we spent a lot of time exploring nearby villages, as well as hiking the gorge in the nearby town (Jeff can direct travelers to this trail). We ate at the inn two nights and both times it was very delicious. My only "complaints," and these are quite minor compared with the strengths this inn offers, are that bringing food on the property to picnic or such is not permitted, and there is a fee for bringing one's own wine. With teens to feed, the inn's meals are a bit pricey, considering they don't eat but half of it, and the nearest place to eat out is about half an hour away, and typically a very long wait given that the food is cooked fresh in small villages. We spent more time going out than we would have liked just to keep within our budget. Also, it is not indicated clearly the price for extras like dessert and drinks, but i did find out later by reading the information in the room. I think it should be more up front, especially when the kids are offered ice cream and parents assume it's part of their menu. Again, these are minor gripes, and I would recommend this inn highly with children and teens in spite of them. The kids will be safe to roam around the property and parents can relax and not have to worry about their whereabouts. Also, the rooms are impeccably clean, so I can understand that the owners might worry about food being left out, and possible pests that it might attract. One last tip, is that if you like to horse ride, there are folks nearby who do excursions. My advise would be to bring hard hats and good shoes, and make sure you are very comfortable on spirited horses. We had a fantastic experience on a day ride but the horses had much more gusto than trail horses in the US and it was quite "rigorous." That said, it may have been the best day of our trip, and the kids got to see all sorts of animals they would not have seen at home, as well as ride some of the most beautiful trails in Andalusia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, VA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Beautiful remote location but well positioned for day trips to Granada, Cordoba, Seville, Malaga, and the Sierra Nevada range. Dinner available if you so choose. Jeff was an amazing host -- friendly, knowledgeable, accommodating. He went out of his way to serve tapas and drinks on Sunday night (his usual night off) for one of the Euro Cup games. Beautiful views of the surrounding countryside from the large patio, our room, or poolside. Clean, large pool with plenty of seating (sun and shade). El Amparo means "the shelter", and we truly felt it was embodied in every aspect of this lovely B&B. Unfortunately, our room had one double bed and one twin bed, which were difficult sleeping accommodations as we're used to a king bed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here in May 2012. We traveled all over Spain, but when we stayed here we did not want to leave! We agree with all the reviews here....nothing bad, nothing mediocre, nothing just OK, but everything, down to the last little detail was excellent! The surrounding countryside was stunning, the El Amparo was perfect in every detail. The breakfast was varied and delicious every day. The proprietor Jeff was most gracious and helpful in every way. He provided important traveling instructions, tips and information that truly made our trip efficient and delightful. The service and the staff were impeccable in every way. Out of all the B & Bs we have stayed at around the world, this place ranks now #1. You cannot go wrong staying here. Its obvious Jeff and Sally love what they do and they make you feel comfortable and welcome every day of your stay. You lack for nothing and they are most professional. 5 stars!

Room Tip: Every room has a great view...you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megaworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Amparo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Amparo

Property: El Amparo
Address: El Amparo | Calle Jose Milena, 18129 Santa Cruz del Comercio, Alhama de Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Alhama de Granada > Santa Cruz del Comercio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz del Comercio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Amparo 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Amparo is a relaxed Luxury Bed and Breakfast run by Nick and Jody Day, set in rolling countryside close to Granada and the Spa town of Alhama de Granada it offers lovely rooms, a large pool area and great food. It's a great place to stay to enjoy local activities such as Mountain Biking, Hiking, Horse Riding or swimming in the local lake at Los Bermejales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your El Amparo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Amparo Santa Cruz Del Comercio, Spain - Province Of Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing