We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent and very traditional 110%”
Review of Park Broom Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Broom Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Thanks to Kath and her husband we were made exceptionally welcome upon our arrival. we were greeted with a nice big pot of tea and some banana and walnut cake mmm very nice indeed so the wife said lol . the place was spotless the service was outstanding. There is a very warm and homely feeling in this place . Next morning we came down for breakfast and after reading some of the reveiws on here all i can say is o.m.g excellent the food was outstanding. if you want a bit of tradition this is certainly at its best. Kath i wish you and your husband all the very best for the future and we will definatley be seeing you both again very soon once again thanks again for looking after us xx steve & donna henderson

Room Tip: this is just how staying at a lodge should be
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamie0292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Park Broom Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for taking he time to write this review of your stay.We are still chuckling from your story about your stay in Bradford!
Hope to see you again soon
Kath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 306 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

I spent 3 nights at Park Broom Lodge, while working away from home in Carlisle. I will not hesitate to return when work brings me back to North Cumbria. The rooms have been tastefully refurbished and are impeccably clean with wonderfully comfortable beds. During a particularly cold, wet and windy January week, the hotel was always warm and cosy with the roaring log fire in the lounge a particular attraction! The Cumbrian cooked breakfast is magnificent: fresh ingredients, cooked to order, piping hot: never had better! Charming and accomodating hosts who allowed me to extend my booking at short notice without difficulty. And most importantly, fabulous value for money!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Park Broom Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thanks very much for taking the time to write such a glowing review! We are looking forward to your return when work brings you back to Carlisle

Kath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

After a very busy time over Xmas we were looking forward to our short break at Park Broom Lodge. We were not disappointed. Our stay was both comfortable and relaxing. Our son and our mad Collie Rigby were made very welcome too! Our ensuite rooms were fabulous with our own corridor for Rigby to sleep in.
We were made to feel at home by the owners and had use of their comfortable bar, restaurant and lounge with log burning stove. Rigby enjoyed running around the large enclosed garden.
We had an evening meal and breakfasts that were of a very high standard. I can honestly say the breakfast was the best we have ever had in any hotel we have stayed in!
This hotel is in an excellent location for visiting Carlisle and Hadrian's wall. I hope we can return again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millicent1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Park Broom Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

It was a pleasure to meet you ,your husband and your son,Rigby was lovely too,we hope you will come back soon and see some more of this beautiful area

Kath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Thanks to Kath and her husband we had the best stay after a rather unpredictable journey over on Stena line on january 3! We arrived late that Night and Kath was still up to greet us and help out with the small details. V kid and dog friendly too. Fantastic breakfast; Michelin quality and choice. We'll definitely be back again next Christmas and this coming summer!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lissara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Park Broom Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay,I expect that was one of your more memorable journeys from Ireland !
Hope your next visit will be a little less exciting!

Kath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was an excellent stopover when travelling up to Scotland this Christmas and not far from M6. We had a lovely welcome with tea and biscuits by the fire. Room very comfortable and clean crisp sheets - wonderful. Left the next morning to continue our journey to Inverness knowing that we would have a very comfortable stopover here on our way back. Dinner and breakfast was excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommend this guest house and will definitely use it again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Park Broom Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you so much for you lovely compliments ,it was lovely to meet you and we hope you come back to visit on you next trip to Scotland
Happy new Year

Kath and Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Extremely welcoming, on arrival greeted with tea and biscuits. Newly refurbished room was warm and very comfortable; wall mounted flat screen TV, tea/coffee and biscuits provided. We met up with friends so didn't have the evening meal but breakfast was excellent with a wide choice and all local produce.

Hotel taken over 3 months ago and new owners are obviously making every effort to negate the previous negative feedback. Overall all credit to them and we would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IKW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Park Broom Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review,its nice to know how much you appreciated all the hard work we have put in to making the accommodation comfortable and we are both glad you felt so welcome ---you were all a pleasure to look after!
Hope to see you again

Kath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just back home after an overnight stay.My partner and I arrived to early for check in,Cath the owner was still doing the rooms but put them on hold to welcome us and let us check in.After showing us to our room which was the four poster room,she made us some tea,we had this in the lounge by the cosy fire.Although she had lots to do she gave up her time to give us valuable information about carlise.On morning of departure we were greeted with a great breakfast,the eggs benadict are to die for.Nothing was a problem for cath,she is a genuine warm and friendly person.check out was 10.00 am but cath was in no hurry for us to leave,will be returning there again.good luck with the work in progress hope it all goes to plan.Once again thank you for you hospitality.Ian & Alvin

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Park Broom Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely compliments.You were both a pleasure to meet and look after.I am glad you enjoyed your stay and Brad and I hope you will both come back to see us soon
All the best
Kath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosby on Eden
2.3 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#9 of 20 in Carlisle
684 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#6 of 20 in Carlisle
1,086 reviews
3.6 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,187 reviews
5.1 mi away
Heads Nook Hall
Heads Nook Hall
#1 of 61 in Carlisle
279 reviews
2.9 mi away
Abbey Court Guest House
Abbey Court Guest House
#5 of 61 in Carlisle
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Broom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Broom Lodge

Address: Park Broom | Park Broom, Crosby on Eden, Carlisle CA6 4QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Crosby on Eden
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crosby on Eden
Price Range: $70 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Broom Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Park Broom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wallfoot Hotel And Restaurant
Park Broom Lodge Crosby On Eden, Cumbria - Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing